cryptocurrency wrote: » From what I seen tonight I will celebrate some pubs demise. They deserve it.
hurler32 wrote: » I would think it's more the Rural pub that's finished rather than the urban pub ....the rural pub will be gone like creamerys , Garda stations , post offices etc in rural Ireland ... Fine Gael will pi55 themselves laughing at the rural folk that still vote for them
El Weirdo wrote: » Do you expect the Gardai to clean the jacks?
Mister Vain wrote: » The fact that so many people are now into health and fitness has something to do with it too I reckon. Young lads nowadays are more interested in drinking protein shakes than pints of larger. I remember when I was in my late teens and early 20's, people consumed a colossal amount of alcohol. The attendance in work was dreadful as a lot of staff didn't show up on Monday because they were too hungover. That's not the case now.
JupiterKid wrote: » Don’t get me wrong, I myself may be an alcoholic in early recovery after 8 years of hell but nearly all my alcoholic drinking was done at home, a bottle of voddie with orange consumed before I’d head out to meet mates in a pub for a pint or 2 or dinner with a few glasses of wine in a restaurant. I concealed my heavy drinking - most of the time. Rinse and repeat when I got back home later. A lot of alcoholics don’t go anywhere near pubs. I think a nice clean, cozy pub with a roaring fire, clean toilets and good food and a bit of live music on certain nights can be an asset to an area. But let’s face it, most Irish pubs were not like this - they were often filthy kips full of morose extremely heavy drinkers propping up the bar, third world latrines, a severely limited offering of grossly overpriced beers. Those days are coming to a swift close. The early house also seems to be on the way out.
Zebra3 wrote: » Why? They won’t accept Bitcoin?
Tell me how wrote: » In the town where I live, the population has increased significantly over last 20 years, there's plenty living within easy walking distance from town centre, there's no shortage of taxis, there are quiet pubs where you could easily have a chat and yet, at 11:00 on a Friday or Saturday night it could just as easily be a Monday or Tuesday. I'd love to have go-pro footage from walking through the streets from the late 90's because the image in my head is that they were teeming with people most weekends. Maybe I'm not remembering it correctly.
facehugger99 wrote: » I was shocked at how much my local charged me for a G&T recently. Apparently if they serve it to you in a fishbowl and stick a few slices of cucumber in it they are perfectly entitled to give your wallet a right doing over. It's madness.
dubstepper wrote: » My parent's local in a Dublin suburb had two floors in the 80s (with a couple of pool tables). I was too young to get in but my dad said it was always busy. By the late nineties upstairs was closed down. Now it can really only fill the bar (about 1/3 on the downstairs floor space).
Swanner wrote: » Everyone's just medicating at home now instead. The rise in addiction and mental health issues is disturbing. At least the pub was a social outlet for many, talking to real people instead of strangers on a laptop.
BuilderPlumber wrote: » I find there is a lot of hypocrisy here, and young lads will always love a drink no matter what they say. A lot of people want to show off an image of so-called 'health and fitness' and still drink a lot but are afraid to admit it. I know there are people I would not admit I drink alcohol to. They may well feel the same with regard to me and assume I don't drink when in fact I do. Others hide their drinking when they aspire to play sports and may refrain from alcohol prior to matches but will go for a lot of drinking afterwards. Because of the nature of 'hidden drinking' and not admitting one drinks, a lot of this is done at home and not in pubs especially local pubs. I have never and would never drink on a night before work: cannot enjoy the drink, won't work properly so 2 wrongs will only make a wrong!!
BuilderPlumber wrote: » I find there is a lot of hypocrisy here, and young lads will always love a drink no matter what they say. A lot of people want to show off an image of so-called 'health and fitness' and still drink a lot but are afraid to admit it.
DEFTLEFTHAND wrote: » I spent Saturday afternoon in a pub and nearly lost all faith in humanity. Big smelly yokels shouting and buckleaping around the place. squaring up to each other and having to be separated, the baraman ignoring the behaviour and not showing the smellies the door.
whisky_galore wrote: » The 'fitness' scene is very much in your face now, before it was all behind the closed doors of a gym, now every second bastard is jogging in place at lights or in lycra on a bike punishing themselves. It's public flagellation 21st century style. On the other hand the country has a massive obesity problem, so it's extremes really.
ANDREWMUFC wrote: » Can beat a few bets and pints
JupiterKid wrote: » Isn’t it interesting that bookies are almost always located very close to, if not just right next door, to pubs?
CrankyHaus wrote: » I used to work in bookies. At the time I wondered how so many of the regulars could always afford to be on the lash and betting.