torqtorq wrote: » That solicitor of PJ is a rottweiler with a bone. He is not for letting go.
torqtorq wrote: » A mealy mouth apology will not prevent more high profile people coming out spouting nonsense. It will do exactly the opposite.
Mokuba wrote: » Wrong on all 3 counts. Spectacularly so.
Laois_Man wrote: » I disagree completely Because i) O'Riordain's is not elected to the Dail for him to be "re-elected" to it ii) Saying someone got off because they are well connected and not because they are innocent is by no means shaky ground. iii) May also be bring lots of coin onto himself.....which he may very well need now!
super_furry wrote: » Maybe so and I'd imagine he's doing very well out of the whole thing financially, but I don't believe his case against O'Riordan would stand up in court at all.
Laois_Man wrote: » I see the foreperson of the jury has been threatened with arrest because of comments she made on broadsheet.ie and advised to get a lawyer. I also see there are arguments between the judge and the media ongoing whereby the media were forbidden from reporting matters discussed in the absence of the jury for fear of influencing the jury. The media now arguing this is no longer valid and saying they should now be able to report on the exchanges. This story might have a long way to run yet.
Franz Von Peppercorn wrote: » I said previously that some of the twitter posters using #ibelieveher were verging on defamatory. I noticed some of the top tweets have disappeared recently.
hill16bhoy wrote: » I think you'll find I'm not wrong. If somebody who has previously had a seat loses it, but then regains it, that is re-election. Jackson will have a very hard time trying to prove anything defamatory against O'Riordain. The main people who have been criticised in the tweet are in fact the jury, not Jackson. Calling somebody smug, entitled and middle class is not a defamation. O'Riordain will attract widespread support if he has to defend himself. The more Jackson digs in and pursues spurious legal actions, the more he'll set himself up as public enemy number one. Sooner or later, he'll have to play a rugby match on this island, either for Ulster or for an English or French team. Let's just say the atmosphere at that match, when it comes, is unlikely to be pleasant for him, particularly if he still pursuing spurious legal actions, and if he keeps digging in, he shouldn't expect much silence if he has to take a place kick.
hill16bhoy wrote: » Let's just say the atmosphere at that match, when it comes, is unlikely to be pleasant for him, particularly if he still pursuing spurious legal actions, and if he keeps digging in, he shouldn't expect much silence if he has to take a place kick.
hill16bhoy wrote: » The #ibelieveher hashtag is in no way defamatory.
Phoebas wrote: » I think some people are delighted with this because they don't like AOR or they are emotionally invested in this particular case, not on the actual merits of the possible defamation itself.
Mrs Shuttleworth wrote: » Correct. I despise AOR but see no reason why he can't express a public opinion in a different jurisdiction on this verdict. He is saying what a lot of us are thinking.
Sidebaro wrote: » Was it not about privilege? The guy was a white male but the privilege that was being referred to didn't mention that, you seemed to add it.
Stonedpilot wrote: » Oh please these eejits protesting a case they know nothing about and willingly ignoring THE FACT THESE MEN WERE FOUND NOT GUILTY. I was using humour to show how irrational and biased these people are.
Heres Johnny wrote: » People of ireland making a bit of a tit of themselves over this with their stupid protests and petitions going around social media. Stop all 4 playing for Ireland, seriously? Remove Rory Best as captain? Cop on. Is this an attack on all men? One woman took a case, lost due to lack of any credible evidence and mainly due to another sober woman's testimony that it didn't look like she was in any way being subjected to anything she didn't want to be. 3 female jurors acquitted too. She has to be grilled in court. Of course she does. Feminists are coming out of this looking very stupid indeed.
professore wrote: » I'll ask again ... what sort of penis makes lacerations inside the vagina? I've been having all sorts of vigourous sex for 20 years or more and I've never once caused lacerations or bleeding. There aren't any sharp surfaces on a penis.
hill16bhoy wrote: » Mokuba wrote: » Wrong on all 3 counts. Spectacularly so. Laois_Man wrote: » I disagree completely Because i) O'Riordain's is not elected to the Dail for him to be "re-elected" to it ii) Saying someone got off because they are well connected and not because they are innocent is by no means shaky ground. iii) May also be bring lots of coin onto himself.....which he may very well need now! I think you'll find I'm not wrong. If somebody who has previously had a seat loses it, but then regains it, that is re-election. Jackson will have a very hard time trying to prove anything defamatory against O'Riordain. The main people who have been criticised in the tweet are in fact the jury, not Jackson. Calling somebody smug, entitled and middle class is not a defamation. O'Riordain will attract widespread support if he has to defend himself. The more Jackson digs in and pursues spurious legal actions, the more he'll set himself up as public enemy number one. Sooner or later, he'll have to play a rugby match on this island, either for Ulster or for an English or French team. Let's just say the atmosphere at that match, when it comes, is unlikely to be pleasant for him, particularly if he still pursuing spurious legal actions, and if he keeps digging in, he shouldn't expect much silence if he has to take a place kick.
Heres Johnny wrote: » People of ireland making a bit of a tit of themselves over this with their stupid protests and petitions going around social media. Stop all 4 playing for Ireland, seriously? Remove Rory Best as captain? Cop on.
Amalgam wrote: » Yes, count me as one of those people. I wish more politicians got a good slap over their social media use..
Sofiztikated wrote: » That you know of. Have you had a medical professional check your partner after every sexual encounter?
Mrs Shuttleworth wrote: » Correct. I despise AOR but see no reason why he can't express an opinion publicly in a different jurisdiction on this verdict. The fact they were found not guilty does not imply the woman is a liar. Re the term "well connected" he is saying what a lot of us are privately thinking. Particularly as the head juror then came out after the verdict with some utterly daft and defensive social media posts of her own.