Hooks Golf Handicap wrote: » Jaysus, the outcry was bad enough when Deirdre Barlow was behind bars & she was a fictional character. Were a woman convicted of procuring an illegal abortion in this state: (1) The world's media would be encamped laughing at the little religious state which tries to pretend it's progressive. We'd become a laughing stock & be compared to Iran. (2) We would have created a martyr instantly & handed victory to the repeal side. (3) Tourism & our attractiveness for FDI would take a major whack. (4) World leaders would actively question our attitude to women's human rights. (5) The reputation damage would take decades to recover from. The DPP is in a difficult spot, if they bring a case forward they know the likelihood of prosecution, there is no political will for the backlash. Back of the radiator, the Irish solution to the Irish problem.
pilly wrote: » Coming from a very strong pro-choice view even I would have to agree that abortion figures probably will go up. It's not logical to me to presume otherwise.
eviltwin wrote: » Well it's happened twice in northern Ireland One woman had an abortion herself, the other ordered pills for her daughter. Although they didn't go to prison there was a conviction which they will have on their records.
The woman at the centre of the Belfast case was 19 when she decided to purchase the abortion pills over the internet. She could not afford to travel to England, Scotland or Wales for an abortion, which she would have been legally entitled to there, and indeed would have been entitled to for free on the NHS if she had been a resident of the UK “mainland”. Her actions were uncovered when her flat mates found the bloodstained materials she had likely used to clean herself while she miscarried alone, and a 10-12- week-old foetus, in the bin. They reported their discovery to the police.
The number of seizures of abortion pills arriving into this State in the post by the Health Regulatory Authority, working with customs officials, indicates that increasing numbers of women and girls are turning to the internet when facing a crisis pregnancy. While 635 tablets, in 28 packages, were seized in 2011, the numbers had almost doubled, to 1,017 tablets, in 60 importations, in 2014. The majority are coming through Netherlands-based sites and cost about €90. This compares with a cost of €600-€1,000 for an abortion, not including travel and accommodation costs. Should a concerned citizen in this State know of a woman or girl inducing her own abortion, they too might report her to An Garda Síochána, though how gardaí would respond to a woman in this situation remains to be seen.
pleas advice wrote: » this was said, with nothing to back it up.
nozzferrahhtoo wrote: then, as it might explain some of the logic involved.
pilly wrote: » Yeah I'll read it in a couple of years when we have actual figures.
nozzferrahhtoo wrote: I will leave the personal insults out of the reply, as there is no need for them. Insults demean only the insulter, never the target.
pilly wrote: » You're patronising tone insults every day but do carry on.
....... wrote: » This post has been deleted.
Captain Obvious wrote: » Well she did raise an important issue in regards to legal liability. What happens if a woman simply lies and a GP ends up prescribing the pills for a 14 week old fetus? Will the GP be criminally or civilly liable?
ohnonotgmail wrote: » well we dont know what the criminal law will say on the matter so we can only speculate. As for civil liability who do you think they would be liable to?
Captain Obvious wrote: » Primarily the woman if she had regret afterwards. Maybe the father also.
ohnonotgmail wrote: » liable to the woman because they believed a lie she told him?
Captain Obvious wrote: » Yes.
ohnonotgmail wrote: » Not sure how you think that would work.
Captain Obvious wrote: » Medical negligence. Prescribed a medication they shouldn't have. Much like if they prescribed pain medication based on a lie.
ohnonotgmail wrote: » do you have any examples of doctors sued for negligence by a patient due the patient lying to them? I'm struggling to think of one.
bubblypop wrote: » is there any word of dates for the referendum yet? i am overseas and will be coming home to vote hopefully
nozzferrahhtoo wrote: » it actually does have little to no effect.
thee glitz wrote: » I don't think so. Just make sure you were ordinarily resident in the State on 1st September last year.
Edward M wrote: » She raises some valid questions though, especially the one re the affirming that the fetus is no more than 12 weeks. I can see GPs referring a lot of cases on to gynecology to deal with the issue if its passed. Perhaps that would be best all round as she pointed out that a GP surgery is an unsafe place for emergency treatment if necessary. I think the implementation of an abortion policy has to be done right, the basic premise of how it will be handled has to be included in any pre vote material on the issue. Some, and maybe even a large percentage of GPs don't want to take the responsibility of the repercussions of bad side affects possible from an abortion? There is a difference in being in favour of abortion and having to administer it!
david75 wrote: » And the pope visiting before the referendum? Happy accident? Hardly.
erica74 wrote: » I don't see why there would be any problem with GPs carrying out abortions and I think, if the 8th is repealed, it's in everybody's interest to keep this service out of our already massively overstretched hospitals. Now, obviously there may be some more complex individual cases but, for the most part, this procedure is something that can be looked after by a GP. What "bad side effects" are you talking about?