Wibbs wrote: » It is, my point being the victim narrative is so engrained in society it's hard to avoid.
(though he says he doesn't feel like a father, or that he has a child).
However as I said earlier: You see, again this boils down to choices and he made them. Total stranger comes on strong looking for sex. Doesn't want kids? He made the choice to have sex with a complete stranger. Doesn't want kids? He made the choice to not wear a condom. Doesn't want kids? He made the choice to believe a total stranger he just met and go in bareback. She's a wagon. No debate there. However he made a mistake. Fine, we all do, but rather than ignore that and dump that on others - which seems to be the go to option of late - we should acknowledge that mistake and own that mistake and I'm seeing no evidence of that from this guy. It's all poor me, I was so betrayed, wah wah. Again this illustrates this victim narrative. Forget choice and personal responsibility, it's never my fault, it's somebody else's*. This is not a case of a trusted girlfriend taking a needle to condoms and "forgetting" to take the pill and it's not as if she fell on his mickey unannounced.
Actually he doesn't. Unless he's one of triplets or whatever. And if we consider at the base level of the "selfish gene" angle, having offspring with little investment isn't so much a negative.
Ryann Bald Wage wrote: » I manage, even though The Guardian is my main source of news, which is overtly liberal.
[I'm assuming you're not applying the victim narrative to Syrian refugees and rape victims and the like.]
You definitely interpret that differently to me.
He made a bad decision.
Judgmental to dismiss the whole thing as his fault.
Me. Earlier. wrote: I would still see the perps as being utter ****. No debate there./She's a wagon. No debate there./ The woman was majorly in the wrong, but he bears some responsibility
He's not even trying to dodge responsibility. He's upset that he cannot take it.
Your genes are not unique to you or your family. His particular combination is sure, but every generation of descendants will halve how much they share with him on average. So the combination is fleeting anyway.
The actual being there as a father is more significant than the physical act of conception.
You're measuring his wheat with your own bushel when you apply the selfish gene angle. He clearly does not see things that way himself.
Wibbs wrote: » Not overly surprised TBH. If you take the Guardian of all papers the victimhood narrative is extremely strong in the editorials pieces, so one might not be avoiding it as much as one thinks, or tacitly accepts it as a viewpoint. *aside* Speaking as a more old style Liberal, I get a bit irked that outlets like the Guardian and certain groups have IMHO hijacked the term "liberal" as a coverall for much more left wing and so called "progressive" thought, sometimes to the point of farce. The Guardian a bastion of the latter at times. Eh that's one helluva leap you made there. Bloke makes stupid decision on the fly compared to rape victims. Yeah, like they're the same. Oh, just in case of any further confusion, no I'm not. That's the way of things I suppose. Yep. Man you do have selective reading mode engaged, don't you? Please show me where I dismissed "the whole thing as his fault"? Hopefully clearer now? This oul responsibility as a notion seems to be a confusing movable feast. responsibility can be personal and entire, or more usually shared to some degree or other. Though one can only look to one's own to deal with. Have a read of the article again. At no point does he take any responsibility for having unprotected sexual intercourse with a compete stranger. Y'know, the act that got him into this mess. Instead he diverts all blame and responsibility onto the woman. He was the victim *insert wailing and gnashing of teeth here*. He's upset because he has a kid he doesn't/didn't want because he feels he was "tricked". That's his entire internal narrative. As I said she didn't trip onto his organ of generation by mistake. Eh. Not quite. I've got Neandertal DNA and the last time I looked those folks haven't been around for over 25,000 years. Researchers can pin down populations to familial groups, female and male lines and with every month that passes they can get ever more precise. Yes. And IMHO kinda no. If you choose to take on and raise and support a child that is not related to you I say more power and fair play to any man(or woman) who does. And parenthood of course involves more than the conception or pregnancy for that matter. Would I walk away from a kid I thought was mine only to later find out he/she wasn't? In a hummingbird's heartbeat. That's me though. The selfish gene angle is the down at the basic level the objective one, beyond that things get very subjective.
Ryann Bald Wage wrote: » Try looking at The Guardian yourself instead of generalising from a few articles picked out to cast it in a particular light.
They main thing Is that they are very good for giving the facts plainly.
Most people except Africans have Neanderthal DNA. Not sure why you think yours is unique to you and your family.
Weirdly they seem to be allowed do this without FDA approval, when the actual DNA testing companies were greatly restricted with what info they could provide by the FDA.
Calhoun wrote: » I don't know how anyone can take the likes of the Guardian seriously, considering some of the editorials they do have. Nothing more than a social justice rag, which generally means muh feelings trump everything else. Even the whole original statement in this line of conversation was about some guys feelings. What most are arguing here is that he is partially to blame and is irresponsible, placing a sacred value on a first born child but then having unprotected sex is ridiculous.
Deleted User wrote: » "Women are unrivaled agents of change" Men are unrivaled agents of change :pac::pac::pac: Would love to see this kind of statement being made more often. Curious to see if it would actually get negative feedback, or are we past that yet. (just seems to be the "fear" of saying it rather than actual criticism)
iptba wrote: The word "unrivalled" suggests they are better than another group at whatever is being claimed. So I reckon saying it about men would get push-back.
El_Duderino 09 wrote: » Judging by your Twitter analysis, women pushing for change are unrivalled at the moment.
iptba wrote: This doesn't prove that women are unrivaled agents of change. Men interested in sustainability issues (and many other issues) most likely are doing their work through mixed rather than single sex networks.
El_Duderino 09 wrote: » Maybe so. Since it was brought up in the men's right thread, I'm assuming you're talking about rights rather than those other issues
El_Duderino 09 wrote: » I think its fair to say that if your analysis shows anything that women are unrivalled in that area at the moment.
iptba wrote: I don't follow your logic. The claim that women are unrivalled agents of change doesn't seem to be necessarily about improving issues for women specifically but a more general claim.
iptba wrote: Even regarding gender issues, it doesn't prove that an individual woman is better on average at achieving things than an individual man. More women it seems are working to promote women's issues than there are men working on men's issues. And there are quite a lot of men who work in some way to help improve things for women, probably more than the number of women working to improve things for men. And there is also a cumulative effect from people who are no longer working to promote women's issues but have done in the past.
iptba wrote: But I agree that there may be things people working to improve matters for men on various issues can learn from what people working to improve matters for women are doing and have done. Though there might be less tolerance for some things if men started aping things some women's advocates have done/said such as "men are unrivalled in such and such an area".
[Deleted User] wrote: » "Women are unrivaled agents of change" Men are unrivaled agents of change :pac::pac::pac: Would love to see this kind of statement being made more often. Curious to see if it would actually get negative feedback, or are we past that yet. (just seems to be the "fear" of saying it rather than actual criticism)
Eleven years, 18 witnesses and 100 exhibits later, court concludes boy needs both parents Neither parent is perfect. Both have 'parenting deficits.' In the modern lexicon, the judge saw them as they really are
drunkmonkey wrote: » For anyone who hasn't seen it, Ruth Coppinger getting a lesson in women's rights https://www.rte.ie/player/ie/show/claire-byrne-live-extras-30003215/10835984/ Jeeezzz she really doesn't like men, good to see she's in a minority.
RUTH COPPINGER BELIEVES Tánaiste Joan Burton has “brought animosity upon herself” because of her actions in government. The Socialist/Anti-Austerity Alliance TD has again defended the controversial anti-water charge protest against Burton in Jobstown last November, insisting that people had a right to be angry at the Labour leader and that it was ”generally peaceful”.http://www.thejournal.ie/ruth-coppinger-joan-burton-c-word-2038695-Apr2015/
mzungu wrote: » Personally, I have never seen the appeal of using scantily clad women for these things, however, as long as all are there of their own free will and are happy with it then each to their own.
iptba wrote: » I've no strong opinions on the issue. I could understand why people may complain about it, I do find such scantily clad women a bit odd in sports. I will find it a bit interesting if it moves on to cheerleaders. From what I can surmise, quite a lot of females like watching cheerleaders. I think it's a bit like dancing versus sports: on average, females are a bit more interested in dancing and males are a bit more interested in sports.
DEFTLEFTHAND wrote: » iptba wrote: I've no strong opinions on the issue. I could understand why people may complain about it, I do find such scantily clad women a bit odd in sports. I will find it a bit interesting if it moves on to cheerleaders. From what I can surmise, quite a lot of females like watching cheerleaders. I think it's a bit like dancing versus sports: on average, females are a bit more interested in dancing and males are a bit more interested in sports. In the States competitive cheerleading is a thing, for instance High Schools compete against each other in organised competitions, performing routines in front of judges. To make the cheerleading squad is a big deal for many girls, just as making the football team is for the boys.
iptba wrote: I've no strong opinions on the issue. I could understand why people may complain about it, I do find such scantily clad women a bit odd in sports. I will find it a bit interesting if it moves on to cheerleaders. From what I can surmise, quite a lot of females like watching cheerleaders. I think it's a bit like dancing versus sports: on average, females are a bit more interested in dancing and males are a bit more interested in sports.
drunkmonkey wrote: » From a spectators point of view the LFL is the best sport out there
Pawwed Rig wrote: » seriously?