GARDAI are investigating a string of stabbing attacks this morning that has left one man dead and two others injured. The incidents took place in Dundalk, Co Louth. One man has died after he was attacked and stabbed on Avenue Road. He is understood to be of Asian descent. His age is as yet unknown. The man was pronounced dead at the scene. It is understood that two other men - both understood to be Irish - were subsequently injured in separate attacks. Gardaí who were called to the scene confronted and disarmed the attacker. He has been arrested on suspicion of murder and is being detained at Dundalk Garda Station. He can be questioned for up to 24 hours. It is understood that the attacker is originally from Syria.
Joeytheparrot wrote: » And yet the hate is actually coming from such people.
ohnonotgmail wrote: » so if the problem is not illegals what difference will a hard border make? You need to make your mind up as to what you think the problem is.
Irishmale0399 wrote: » The problem is very simple, the member states of the EU do not know who has entered and where exactly they are. Over three quarters of all refugees have no documents and major mistakes were made processing them on entering the EU. These mistakes are not to be reversed. All Ireland can do is either: 1. Hope England after Brexit closes its borders and starts correctly documenting/controlling the movement of asylum seekers within the UK. 2. Control the borders ourselves and put holding/clearing centers in place to hold asylum seekers until identity etc. is comfirmed. Likewise the government has to accept that the Islamic extremist problem is already in Ireland and it is stupid to try and deny it. There is an awful habit of Irish people thinking we will be grand or it was a once off. That of course suits the government/cops....because they Gardai are streched to their limits as it stands without further stress on the system. One question that still has to be answered: How did Morei know that the house he was squatting in was empty and he would be undisturbed there?? There was a light which went on at night in the house and it was not exactly in a state of disrepair. Also what did the gardai take out of the house once they had raided it and how did they know to raid it within an hour of the attacks. There are a lot holes in the list of events and the reasoning for those events.
ohnonotgmail wrote: » if you think the problem is simple then you dont understand it.
via4 wrote: » There was nobody outside the courthouse were a polish man stabbed another polish man a few days ago.
Irishmale0399 wrote: » The problem is very simple.....Merkels open door policy for all asylum seekers from Syria and Afganistan was the fcuk up. Then the EU made it worse by allowing these people to start moving within the EU before they were registered correctly or identified. This resulted in the case that a lot of young lads from Morocco, Egypt and Tunisia entered the EU claiming to be Syrian and have gone off the radar since or their fake identities have never been exposed.The solution for the problem.....that aint so simple and that is the real problem we face today And before you start making statements like you made....I suggest you leave the wee island you call home and come out to mainland Europe and try working with these people to integrat and educate them. The reality and what you read in the newspapers, CNN or the Discovery channel is very different and something us westerners will never really understand.
Irishmale0399 wrote: » And before you start making statements like you made....I suggest you leave the wee island you call home and come out to mainland Europe and try working with these people to integrat and educate them. The reality and what you read in the newspapers, CNN or the Discovery channel is very different and something us westerners will never really understand.
Kivaro wrote: » Fair play to the people of Dundalk when more than 1,000 people attended a candlelight vigil for Yosuke Sasaki in the town last night.
MonkeyTennis wrote: » That guy wouldnt know a fact if it hit him in his stupid face.
Hector Savage wrote: » Some awkward info leftists won't want to knowhttps://twitter.com/markhumphrys/status/950701342904999936
10000maniacs wrote: » It is truly annoying that the Irish media certainly swept this incident under the carpet. There was a report on Morning Ireland a day after it happened. Basically they were reporting that there was no evidence of terrorism. If it wasn't terrorism, what was it? A migrant nervous breakdown incident. I am cracking up here in Dundalk so I need to go on a stabbing spree targeting random people.
MonkeyTennis wrote: » Is there any particular reason you dont accept the Gardai summation on this, you know, the people who interviewed him?
10000maniacs wrote: » I used to believe that. I also used to believe that they carried out 1,458,221 more breathalyzer tests than they actually did. So no MonkeyTennis, I would be reluctant to accept that.
Billy86 wrote: » If they said it was terrorism, would you be reluctant to believe that also?
Professor Moriarty wrote: » This is where moderate Islam in Ireland should step up to the plate by not inviting extremists.
Odhinn wrote: » And we in turn will exile mark humphrys. No, no need to thank us, the pleasure is ours.
silverharp wrote: » Why would you have a problem with Humphrys unless you are pro IRA and anti semitic?
Odhinn wrote: » I take it thats humour.
10000maniacs wrote: » Frankly yes. but there was very little probing from the media with the Dundalk case which is the infuriating part. When they have the Shinners on Morning Ireland they are probed with rubber gloves. Every second sentence is "Will you let me finish my point, you asked the question", but with this case, there was no probing whatsoever. Nobody asked why did he carry out this act? What was his background? Did his family have a history of violence? Was he on Interpol's watch list? What was his web browsing history? RTE's crime correspondents should have been pestering the Gardaí looking for answers. Still none the wiser.
silverharp wrote: » I follow his twitter account, my memory is if people attack him its because of those 2 positions, so which is it :pac:
Odhinn wrote: » Well according to him, if you think about it, people only attack him because hes right and they're wrong. He's right, all right, if not nessecarily in the way he thinks.
silverharp wrote: » whats his worst position then? he is anti Trump, anti SF/IRA , pro Israel and anti Islamic extremism.