ReeReeG wrote: » Unless you are the wheelchair entrants' winner and only get €750 for your (frankly incredible) efforts
Chivito550 wrote: » There were 4 wheelchair athletes competing from memory. €750 is generous. How are their efforts any more incredible than that in of able bodied athletes? Wheelchair athletes recover faster. You see the top guys doing London a week after Boston.
Chivito550 wrote: » ReeReeG wrote: » Unless you are the wheelchair entrants' winner and only get €750 for your (frankly incredible) efforts There were 4 wheelchair athletes competing from memory. €750 is generous. How are their efforts any more incredible than that in of able bodied athletes? Wheelchair athletes recover faster. You see the top guys doing London a week after Boston.
Chivito550 wrote: » Absolutely milking it. Far superior athletes never get 10% of the coverage he is getting right now.
S.L.F. wrote: » Curious as to how someone who trains and races so much and runs classes can also provide an adequate coaching service.
RayCun wrote: » thinking about it some more yesterday, a big part of the problem is the relaxed attitude to championship entry. Athletes and teams are supposed to be declared in advance, but teams aren't, and Freddie was only declared the day before. They should publish a provisional list two weeks before, so clubs can check for omissions and other problems, and a final list one week before. If you're not on the final list, you're not in the championship.
youngrun wrote: » This was provided and updated regularly. Including teams . http://www.athleticsireland.ie/downloads/other/Marathon_Entry_List_261017.pdf
Ultraman100 wrote: » so he should tell them no he wont appear on tv because far superior athletes do t get 10% of the coverage he gets.....actually on reflection i find it quite ironic that an athletics journalist is giving out about coverage of an athlete and the promotion of athletics ....
Chivito550 wrote: » Yeh on reflection I’d agree with you. Can’t blame him for taking advantage of the opportunity. But I don’t believe this whole episode paints Irish athletics in a good light, so yes I would rather no coverage than this kind of coverage.
average_runner wrote: » Sometimes this kind of coverage can cause an association to react and correct their problems.
RuMan wrote: » Some bitter people on here. GOH makes his living from coaching and running why shouldn't he make use of the publicity? Only the most begrudging could have a problem with that, he's had some horrendous luck ,delighted for him and wish him all the best.
RuMan wrote: » :rolleyes: Given we dont have any marathoners under 2:15 you could say no Irish marathoner should get any coverage as they don't rate internationally. He's national marathon champion and he's got a pretty compelling life story, dont see the problem with the coverage, best of luck to him. Cork City are sh*te compared to Barcelona why are the media covering them ?
Chivito550 wrote: » Because the coverage wasn’t gained on merit. It was gained off pure incompetence and lack of proper communication from the governing body. That’s the only reason this has made the news. Scullion would have comfortably won this title if he didn’t go chasing after Freddy, who he thought was eligible to win. Like the 4x400 London 2012 fiasco, this is not a good news story for Irish athletics. Gary O’Hanlon ran brilliantly, but so have many others over the years in the marathon, and on the track, and nothing was said about them. This is an unfortunate set of events, which has turned into a positive for Gary. I don’t believe he’d get this coverage for winning a marathon in 2:18 in any ordinary instance.
ooter wrote: » What way did the prize money work, could Freddy not claim the 4th place money if he was national champion, did he end up gaining financially having the national title taken from him?
S.L.F. wrote: » p.s. I may not have all my facts right there but that's what I got from the Krusty's post.
Krusty_Clown wrote: » All set out pretty clearly in the rules.
S.L.F. wrote: » Nice I take back Dublin marathon being greedy when I see a prize for first 10 and even money for women and the price of the t-shirts *if they did actually pay that. Still think they should allow transfers or postponement though under certain conditions like injury or unfortunate events around family sickness etc.
Djoucer wrote: » Come on Chivito, you're better than what ifs. GOH beat Scullion on the day. You can only beat those who show up on the day and GOH beat every single of one of them that was eligible for Nats. You're actually criticising the lack of coverage of previous marathons to justify your view that GOH doesn't merit this time around. Bizarre.
Chivito550 wrote: » Appreciate other people’s take on it. Just think the whole thing was a bit of a farce personally, and is best forgotten. If everybody knew clearly that Freddy wasn’t eligible before the race started, then it’s fairly obvious that Scullion would have won that race. The whole thing was a shambles.
RuMan wrote: » Bit OTT, some real negativity around athletics. Don't think anyone is claiming any Irish marathoner is world class but winning a National Championship still has some merit. Lots of other sports here where winning a national title is celebrated. Giving a Kenyan the title in the 1st place was a shambles but it's been sorted out and we'll done GOH, 1st Irishman home and consequently National Marathon Champion.
Chivito550 wrote: » Winning a national title is a big deal, you’re right. It could be argued though it’s clearly not a massive deal for some in the marathon when the likes of Pollock, Seaward, Hehir opted not to run it. It’s the nature of the event though, and the big city marathons will take precedence for many. But it certainly wasn’t a particularly deep field. But fair play to Gary for running such a great PB. He got the best out of himself, but I do believe Scullion was very hard done by. It was a shambles. No two ways about it.
kit3 wrote: » Scullion certainly knew GOH was in the race. GOH beat him fairly. As has been said before, you can only race those who are there - why the begrudgery ?