cavan shooter wrote: » I Think you need to look at where the HCAP came from...I think it was in and around 2001 when Coilte were looking for proof of competency when you applied for a letting. A bit like you can only come in to this disco wearing black shoes?? It wasnt legislation it was their requirement for the let. Linking it to the actual license...im not sure that can be done without a change in the legislation.
Cass wrote: » Thi I remember reading somewhere about some EU directive against monopolies.
Cass wrote: » Not really directing this at you just quoting it as it brings up a point i am seeking clarification on. This "or equivalent". I've asked a few times, as i'm curious to know, where does this come from. It's not in legislation that i can find and if it's in the proposals that are to be implemented then it's best guide/practice and not a legal requirement. If it is in the legislation i'd really like i if someone can link to the appropriate act/section so i can take a read. Thanks
Grizzly 45 wrote: » Now, a different story arises if you are RESIDENT in different EU countries... I move to Poland, I obviously have to change my license and abide by whatever their gun laws are, and likewise over here. However, if I can provide proof that I have X years of shooting big calibre pistols for example and I want to shoot them in Germany in a club for a certain discipline, it is at the clubs discretion to boost me past the 12-month probie period because I have experience with that firearm.So the next problem is for HCAP anyway,is what to do in a situation where anyone has a 100% superior qualification to this,and what do you do with people who have over 10 years worth of practical knowledge in a native situation?
cavan shooter wrote: » I would suggest that eventually it will be HCAP or a equivalent. Now we have a problem? NPWS have to sit down and say what they deem is an equivalent, its not hard its a course that meets the same aims and objectives or exceeds the aims and objectives of the HCAP.
Cass wrote: » Again, yup. A range would make a much better alternative. With on site facilities they could offer the HCAP, Trained hunter course, comptence/safety courses, etc. they can even arrange butchery courses/displays. As they're already on site they can do this much more frequently and thus reduce the numbers per course. So the course can be that bit longer. IOW get 30 lads each weekend and run them through the whole thing. Instead of paying €150 for the hcap and €250 for the trained hunter course they could charge say €300 for both courses and throw in the butchery/safety/competency. You spend a full 8 hours on site and walk away with everything. Heh, heh. Wonder if the Deer Alliance or any of the other deer groups that pushed for this have thought this through? As i said if Coilte or the D.o.A.H.R.GA., or the NPWS refuse to acknowledge or recognise anyone other than the Deer Alliance then it's clear that it's not about safety and competence.
Cass wrote: » This raises a couple more points about tourist shooters. How do they get hcap certification if only the hcap is going to be accepted. Grizzly_45 has gone in to detail, as i believe has Juice1304, about the German exam and it seems more than adequate to show competence. A tourist would have to come over on two separate occasions to do the MCQ and then the range test, then come back in the season to get their shooting done. If a tourist is coming over then they need their rifle because of the laws and range rules surrounding using other people's firearms. Shouldn't be a huge problem as they'll need a visitors pass regardless, but it means traveling with a firearm three times to bag a deer in Ireland. Also raises questions about showing competence. If you have experience in firearms for over 15, 20, 25 years and go for a license you're previous experience shows your competence. If those that have shot deer for the last 10, 15 or 20+ years have to do a hcap to show competence then at what level is competence set. Does the last "X" number of years count for nothing? This goes back to the "or equivalent" bit. Surely this many years would account for competence and experience, but if its not accepted then it's back to "HCAP or nothing at all" which is forced tuition and creates a monopoly. I remember reading somewhere about some EU directive against monopolies.
wexfordman2 wrote: » Not only that Cass, but the ranges could actually offer proficiency training, range practice etc in some firm of bulk package as part if an overall bundled package.
solarwinds wrote: » No matter what level of qualification you have from elsewhere, it will not be entertained in ireland because no group here got their pound of flesh out of you. Some reason will always be found to make you have to do at least a one day course here to have it recognised. And as will usually be the case the course will be a mirror copy of a uk ine you have probably already done.
wexfordman2 wrote: » With regards point 10, if I owned a range I would be right now looking to get a hcap equivelant and offer a bulk deal for training on range, and doing the test etc. A perfect opportunity for them.
.243 wrote: » Or flip that the other way around, Does your hcap cover you not to need a dsc level one if I want to go hunting in the uk or Europe
cavan shooter wrote: » If I have a DSC level 1 do I still need a HCAP.
Cass wrote: » Soem thoughts on the points raised, but the first one is notice at the very start how they say "misinformation" and "confusion". The same wording the so called coalition used when it was found out they put forward a proposal (with these groups) to ban night time hunting. IOW we're all to stupid or ignorant to understand.Point 1 - "Non profit". Where does the money go then? If its for Coilte then why is it necessary for shooting outside of Coilte lands?Point 2 - "Stakeholders". So it' made up of lads that came together to form an association. As i said earlier that does not qualify them as experts and there is no mention of accredited certificates/qualifications to show they're are competent other than "time served" in the sport.Point 3 - They say they have been pushing for hcap style training for decades. No wonder when you get €150 per head. As for the amount of people that have completed it. I don't doubt some have done it just to have it, but the number they quote (2,600) does not account for those that done the hcap but no longer shoot or no longer shoot coilte lands.Point 4 - Basically the FCP for deer stalkers/hunting.Point 5 - A lot to cover here. These "stakeholders" decided to propose a mandatory hcap for everyone that wanted a DHL. They talk about marksmanship and safe storage handling of firearms. Marksmanship is proficiency, not competency. We discussed this at length and how making proficiency a prerequisite for a firearms license is a dangerous precedence and something that cannot be judged on a single act. It is also something that can increase or decrease over time. So it'll be a constant process of evaluation. Safe handling and storage of a firearm is done when you apply for a firearm and has nothing to do with hcap or the "stakeholders" that run it. It's a matter for An Gardaí and cannot be given to private groups. Lastly the proposal for a mandatory hcap was accepted by the Minister. Well then where is the legislation, amendment to the existing act or SI?Point 6 - Where were the proposals, decisions, recommendations and acceptance published? Was every effort made to let people know this was happening and being implemented?Point 7 - In short we're going to make approx €600,000 over the next five years. For a non profit that is good money. So again where does it go?Point 8 - Now we're getting there. So a single hcap test of say 100 lads brings in €15,000. Each Deer alliance person gets a fee for their day. The range gets a fee for the test, and the location of the MCQ gets a fee. The rest goes to administration of the website, internet service provider costs, and "indirect costs". So break it down. Range costs about €1,500 (100 x €15 per head). Each deer alliance man getting say €300 for their day is 5 x €300 so another €1,500. The hotel/location for the MCQ is most likely about €300 (i've hired function rooms and they are about this). Website domain names, and admin hosting costs are something i'm not sure on but can we agree on €50 per month. Allowing for a couple of tests er year it's hard to figure the cost per test but we'll half the yearly cost and say €300 for 6 months. So we're up to €3,600. Soem things do't make sense. ISP (internet srvice provider). This is the monthly internet fee. Usually between €15 to €50 per month. I'd assume it's done by the website management crowd so would be part of the fee above? Also travel costs. If each man is paid for his day does that not include travel costs too? Say they are separate costs. Allow another €600 for both. That makes €4,200. The hcap manual costs €35 so that more than covers printing fees so that doesn't count. So rounding up for any unknown or shortfall i expenses and we can call it €5,000 in expenses per test. So they take in €15,000 and spend €5,000. Where is the other €10,000 gone?Point 9 - Brilliant. We're accredited, but actually we're not because, as i said before, NO group, association, person, etc. has official recognition from any state body. Yes Coilte accept the hcap, but they called for it, and acceptance is not the same as being officially recognized.Point 10 - This one is a pot shot at anyone thinking of setting up. In shrot what they are saying is because we've been doing it for 12 years why would the NPWS allow anyone else to come along and provide a course that could challenge our monopoly. Fecking priceless. Well it'll happen. You find either fly by nights or proper set ups. In fact i'd love to see a few other gorups or ranges starting this. See how much they support mandatory hcap when others are dipping into the cash flow, because according this point the only reason someone would dare to set up an alternative is for monetary reasons. Well as with point 8, where does the money they get go?Point 11 - This will make us all better is what they are saying here and anyone who opposes it (probably us they;re speaking about) is wrong. Well the MCQ is a joke according to those i've spoken to about and it and the range test is just as bad. Failing multiple times only to be allowed to repeat it until you pass is not a test. So jog on with that.Point 12 - Won't someone think of the children, basically. IOW only genuine stalkers will support this and if you don't then you're not a stalker. Bullsh*t. We are not opposed to education, we are opposed to a consortium of private groups making a sh*t ton of money out of a proposal they set forward. Deer are free in this country. No one owns them. Yet they seek to privatize the sport under the guise of education.Point 13 - As cookimonster mentioned above this was the fear, that it'd be introduced as a condition. Right so, as with the competence, the act does not specify hcap. It says "or equivalent". So if i put forward 10, 15, 25, 30 years of shooting experience does that not show the necessary experience? If so how do they test me to see i have it. Like with the competence courses the cert from a course is only one of four ways to prove competence so surely there must be other ways than the hcap to prove competence? These proposals were, to the best of my knowledge, not well known about if at all. Opposition when they were proposed would have given us two years to counter them. Instead we get this at the last minute. While some will say they are opposed you'll be surprised at the amount of people that will do the course rather than not go for the license. When it turns to other forms of hunting i wonder if they'll be as magnanimous.
cookimonster wrote: » I have already posted this in a previous thread dealing with deer licences.....it does not specify HCAP but does talk about requirement of evidence of comptency....tell me I'm wrong and I'll go back to my pots and pans.
Walter Mittys Brother wrote: » Speaking of boycotts. If no range allowed them the use of their facilities they'd be in a fix ............... just a thought