Permabear wrote: » This post had been deleted.
midlandsmissus wrote: » Oh f*CK off. I hate this 'oblivious' ****. I'm just reading an article from an Irish woman on why she used #metoo. She said in her primary school, the principal would call them up one at a time to the desk to recite something, and that each of the students spent the time trying to dodge his fingers under the desk. This has happened to all of us, touching, not looking, not talking. I refuse to live in a world where this happens anymore or to listen to entitled men who dismiss it out of hand. The time has come where women will no longer be treated the way they were.
__..__ wrote: » Please treat us all with respect here if you don't mind. Nobody swore at you please don't swear at me.
midlandsmissus wrote: » Oh f*CK off. I hate this 'oblivious' ****. I'm just reading an article from an Irish woman on why she used #metoo. She said in her primary school, the principal would call them up one at a time to the desk to recite something, and that each of the students spent the time trying to dodge his fingers under the desk.
This has happened to all of us, touching, not looking, not talking. I refuse to live in a world where this happens anymore or to listen to entitled men who dismiss it out of hand.
The time has come where women will no longer be treated the way they were.
givyjoe wrote: » Em, sorry.. what?! In the cases the lads gave, I'm sure they were thinking before starting their interaction.. 'this girl is quite nice looking'. If you seriously think a guy, seeing a beautiful woman in an everyday situation and saying hello (or something else to start a conversation) is creepy.. you've got some issues. Does it occur to you that said woman, may find the guy attractive and welcome the starting up of conversation? As long as the guy picks up whatever cues are being given, i.e. keep talking or go away, then what's the problem?
B0jangles wrote: » The poster you quoted was suggesting that if in any doubt whatsoever, leave people alone, don't assume they want to interact with you. Frankly, they owe you (or any other randomer on the street) nothing, not even a scrap of attention.No-one, no matter what their state of mind* or how good their intentions are, is entitled to be listened to, or have attention paid to them by random people who catch their eye. A polite brush-off is a bonus, but again, it's not something to be expected. If you force someone to pay attention to you, you don't get to act all aggrieved when they tell you to piss off. *except for the obvious, hardly-need-to-be-stated exception of persons in deep distress like for example if they are experiencing suicidal thoughts.
kylith wrote: » Have you not been paying attention? We get whistled and shouted at in the street. We get groped in pubs. We get cornered by men who will not take no for an answer, or who get aggressive when rejected. We have it drummed into us from the time we hit puberty: 'don't be alone with a man'Every man on a quiet street is a potential threat Every man walking behind us could be a rapist Men we don't know are threats Men we do know are even bigger threats The single biggest threat to women is men
One eyed Jack wrote: » I agree with what you're saying here, that nobody is entitled to be listened to, I don't agree that there should be any exclusions made though. This is why nobody, no matter what their state of mind or how good their intentions, should expect to be listened to, much less taken seriously, let alone believed, when they come out with stuff like this - As you said, when you force people to pay attention, you don't get to act all aggrieved when they tell you to piss off. I'm not going to tell Kylith to piss off though, and the reason I do listen to her is because she doesn't normally come out with that kind of crap. If a complete stranger were to come out with that sort of crap, I'd have no qualms about telling them to piss off. It's not that men aren't listening or that they don't believe. It's what they're expected to listen to and believe, is the problem. Why should anyone have to listen to that?
Sofiztikated wrote: » Mrs Sofiztikated was away with the girls this past weekend, for her sisters hen party. She was feeling good in her skin, and as women do, she wore a nice dress. She said it was one of the worst nights she had in a long time, for unwanted attention. Tits were groped repeatedly, and not just passing glances, but full on squeezing, often from behind meaning someone had to get close enough behind her and reaching around her. Her arse was grabbed virtually every time she was on the dance floor. A guy was annoying her so much that she had to escape to the toilet. When she came out, he was outside it waiting for her. She went back in, and had to ring the girls to come and get her. She's well to handle herself, and is well fit to throw a dig that would hurt most men, but she was worried enough to call for help. And this was all concentrated into a 5 hour span. Say what you want, there's far too many people that think **** like that is acceptable, or pass it off as harmless or not threatening.
[Deleted User] wrote: » And that's an important difference. It's creepy when someone speaks about sex from the beginning, and obviously, expects a relationship to be a sexual relationship...
Body language is a marketing gimmick. Does it work? Sure. Sometimes. For some people. In some cultures. In some circumstances. Is it a reliable guide to someone's thoughts? Nope.
If he had complimented her honestly, and withdrawn when she refused, it probably wouldn't have been creepy.
These things come down to both individuals perceptions, how they're feeling at that given time and the manner in which an approach is made. If the guy is seeking sex, the vast majority of women will pick that up from his manner and tone. If he's being honest and confident without drawing an agenda, there's a good chance that the woman will take it as the compliment it was intended to be. Some women won't. You can't cater to everyone.
Five years ago, I worked in a school where I asked my boss out for dating. She initially refused, I stepped back without acting hurt or stupid, and a week later she asked me out. We spent three years together.
One eyed Jack wrote: » I'm not going to tell Kylith to piss off though, and the reason I do listen to her is because she doesn't normally come out with that kind of crap. If a complete stranger were to come out with that sort of crap, I'd have no qualms about telling them to piss off. It's not that men aren't listening or that they don't believe. It's what they're expected to listen to and believe, is the problem. Why should anyone have to listen to that?
LLMMLL wrote: » It goes beyond that. I'm not talking about some extreme weirdo who starts talking about sex straight away. I'm also talking about someone who starts chatting to you while you're scanning your shopping at the supermarket or other situations where you wouldn't expect to be approached by anyone male or female.
Lol seriously? You go up to a woman and say hi. She grimaces and says carefully "hello". You continue talking to her. She never smiles and gives one word answers. You continue talking to her, she looks angry and looks away while continuing to give one word answers. You're saying you don't have a pretty good idea she's not interested ? No wonder women get harassed if men can't read those glaringly obvious signs to feck off
Nah that's still creepy.
But these guys rarely withdraw. They've already broken the social norm of approaching a stranger with no good reason and they usually don't mind breaking more.
I think there are some guides you can use. If you wouldn't approach a man then don't do it to a woman. For instance, waiting for a bus, bus is late, you make a comment to the woman next to you about late buses, she laughs, you get chatting. Can completely see that happening between two straight men. But a straight man wouldn't go up to a random good looking man on the street and start chatting. So don't do it to women.
Had you any prior reason to believe she was into you? Flirting? Multiple conversation ? If not then I consider that creepy. Just because it worked out for.you doesn't make it any less creepy. Many arranged marriages end with good matches. Doesn't mean it's something to aspire to
dudara wrote: » ..... For me, I just want the men in my life to be aware that this cr*p happens. Call it out when you see it. I can deal with it, but not everyone can.
silverharp wrote: » what does that mean? white knighting like that can leave our white knight ending up in hospital or worse.
Greta Uneven Termite wrote: » The kind of man who ... that man is going to listen to another man over twenty women.
LLMMLL wrote: » I think you're pretending you don't know the difference between a normal approach and a creepy one. Say this guy arrives at his work picnic. There are 30 people there spread out maybe in little subgroups. He marches straight over to the best looking woman who he's never met before and introduces himself and starts flirting. Creepy. And I'm betting that's not the way it happened. Other possible situation: they're both standing near each other alone and get chatting about how they hate work parties or something. Not creepy. You can pretend all situations are the same and ignore nuance all you want. But we're not talking about the same thing. As for whether the woman welcomes it, well that's the question isn't it. Why are so many women posting about how these things bother them if they welcome it? Why was brie Larson annoyed at being asked out by airport security?Basically women can't win with you. You claim they like being asked out and faced with many examples that they don't like being approached in certain contexts then what? Something wrong with brie Larson and co? Too sensitive?
Zulu wrote: » Therein lies the fallacy. That type of ignorance will not listen to another man, anymore than they would woman. I get that you see their sexism as valuing mens opinions over womens, but you are wrong to think that that means they'll heed a conflicting opinion from a man because of that. You are dealing with an ignorant fu(ker, and there's little talking to that type of person regardless of gender.
givyjoe wrote: » You seem to be pointing towards this #metoo as some kind of definitive list of how all women do like to be approached. Maybe we should set up a #yesplease hashtag as an experiment to see how women (and men) DO like to be approached, so we can avoid all this nastiness in the future.
Press_Start wrote: » Get fukt.
givyjoe wrote: » You know sarcasm when you see it right
Greta Uneven Termite wrote: » Presumably meaning among your friends, colleagues, family etc. If they'd deck you for saying "ah that's not on" then you've got problems. The kind of man who cat calls, pinches arse, passes loud comments on the appearance of women, that man is going to listen to another man over twenty women.
midlandsmissus wrote: » I'm just reading an article from an Irish woman on why she used #metoo. She said in her primary school, the principal would call them up one at a time to the desk to recite something, and that each of the students spent the time trying to dodge his fingers under the desk. This has happened to all of us, touching, not looking, not talking. I refuse to live in a world where this happens anymore or to listen to entitled men who dismiss it out of hand. The time has come where women will no longer be treated the way they were.
Outlaw Pete wrote: » Are you honestly trying to make child abuse in Ireland a gender issue? https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=FtxOePGgXPs
Press_Start wrote: » Men: If you see something, call it out, and say something, be outraged. Be outraged together. If there's a few of you in the pub and you see something. Just say something. If it starts a fight, then thats what the guy wanted and then just handle it whatever way you see fit. Not just the pub. Anywhere you see it, in the workplace. If you see a friend doing it, say something to them. If you see a coworker doing it, either report them or say something to them.Women: You're part of this too. If you're being harrassed and someone stands to help, they're not just standing up for them, they're standing up with you. Don't refuse them and say it's fine, there's no shame in getting help. Ask for help in a public place and it's likely to come. Call them out.
LLMMLL wrote: » I think you're pretending you don't know the difference between a normal approach and a creepy one. Say this guy arrives at his work picnic. There are 30 people there spread out maybe in little subgroups. He marches straight over to the best looking woman who he's never met before and introduces himself and starts flirting. Creepy. And I'm betting that's not the way it happened.
Other possible situation: they're both standing near each other alone and get chatting about how they hate work parties or something. Not creepy.