fryup wrote: » it has made us more open to other cultures, races and religions and therefore made us us more broadminded and accepting its made us come out of our insular bubble that we use to reseide in and discover not everyone is white & catholic in this world
Deleted User wrote: » ...today I brought my daughter to the playground to meet Slovakian friends with their kids. Also met my cousin and his African partner and their little daughter. After that, I went to my Turkish Muslim barber and to her delight he produced a lollipop. And I thought, she'll grow up experiencing diversity and cultures that I could only dream of when I was a child in white Catholic Ireland in the late '70s and '80s. And it felt good.
AlekSmart wrote: » Perhaps,however... ........Just as Bear Baiting is grand,as long as the Bear does'nt manage to slip it's restraints :eek: Meanwhile,Life's Good...even in "Ordinary" Ireland
AlekSmart wrote: » Perhaps,however the structure of Conor74's OP,appears to suggest it was posted with somewhat more of a specific intent than merely announcing his Had a Nice Day experience to the rest of the World ? I laud Conor74's thoroughness in vetting his friends,accquaintences and service providers,as it ensures that,for him,he will have many more such "Feel Good" experiences,without having them corrupted by the Irish lower orders,with their mind numbing narrow focus on the Real World,football,beer & crisps and the likes. However,to an initial read,it appears that Conor74 goes to some pains to exclude "native"Irish folks from his Nice Day,or at least,to only include them as a negatively connotated White Catholic Irish postscript. Why on earth bother with the "Isn't multiculturalism great" header if his main focus is on his young daughter's enjoyment? How,for example will Conor74 react if his young daughter fails to embrace her parent(s) imposed stereopypical preferences on her,and instead opts for building & maintaining friendships from within a White South Kerry Irish Catholic background ? Why focus on one's own White,South Kerry Catholic Irish background,as if the child Conor74 was battling it's system from his earliest days ? Ireland,and the World in the 1970's & 80's did'nt have instant communication,it's populations were,in the main self contained and distributed accoring to norms dating back to pre biblical times. No Internet or Mobile Phones,nor an appreciation of them,unless Conor74 is now saying that he was being denied access to them by his White South Kerry,Irish Catholic oppressors in their quest to stifle his dreams ? As other posters point out,few irish chizzlers in the 1970's & 80's were dreaming of the delights of Turkey (apart from that manufactured by Fry's) or diversity in anything. Maybe the youthful Conor74 was indeed a child prodigy,who distributed leaflets outside Mass of a Sunday or refused to join the Scouts...or maybe young Conor74 was...normal...just like the rest of us,something which he now regrets in the fullness of retrospection and mature reflection ? I too have had my (fast disappearing) hair cut by a Turkish barber,however I failed to enquire as to his religious beliefs,and in so doing,lost my opportunity to post a "Felt good" experience. (Actually the Turk was waay overpriced and no better than my usual barbers,who are an exotic mixture of Bangladeshi and Pakistani...still don't know their religion though...should I ask them next visit ?) The more one reads Conor74's OP,the more one can appreciate it being based on a premise that may indeed reveal a tad more fixation on Race,Religion and Ethnicity than might be considered healthy in a modern,liberal multi whetever State...but that's the danger of these things....Just as Bear Baiting is grand,as long as the Bear does'nt manage to slip it's restraints :eek: Meanwhile,Life's Good...even in "Ordinary" Ireland
WinnyThePoo wrote: » Who shat in your cornflakes?
Benjamin Buttons wrote: » My point is homophobia isn't confined to adherents of Islam. Conor74 had a lovely day, don't be such a spoilsport.
99nsr125 wrote: » Irish people are not pleasant Never have been Think of a classic Irish stereotype It's a stereotype for a reason
Isn't multiculturalism great... ...today I brought my daughter to the playground to meet Slovakian friends with their kids. Also met my cousin and his African partner and their little daughter. After that, I went to my Turkish Muslim barber and to her delight he produced a lollipop. And I thought, she'll grow up experiencing diversity and cultures that I could only dream of when I was a child in white Catholic Ireland in the late '70s and '80s. And it felt good.
fryup wrote: » no need to poo poo on the OP's thread, the OP was making a valid observation on how mush irish society has changed for the better thanks in no small part to multiculturalism now i don't know what age you are but those of us of a certain generation (40+ ) can really appreciate how much ireland has changed from the dark negative dismal kip it use to be and multiculturalism has played a significant part in that..as well as the celtic tiger, and i applaud it
Widdershins wrote: » Does it end up in court in Erdogan's Islamic Turkey? No. It doesn't. It's far worse than refusing to cut their hair in Turkey, as it is in Islamic places generally. This is common knowledge. If Conor74 wants multiculturalism to encompass Turkish Muslims maybe he should familiarise himself with the prevailing culture of Turkey as it is today for a better idea of what is predominant there. He's not talking about individuals here but of cultures. Lollipops for children are almost customary in barbershops here and fair play to his barber for picking up the custom.
jackofalltrades wrote: » Can you demonstrate how multiculturalism has played a significant part in societal change in this country?
fryup wrote: » you obviously didn't grow up in the midlands
marcus001 wrote: » Nah, there were too many Irish people around. Ireland is now better because you meet fewer and fewer Irish people in daily life.
FTA69 wrote: » They're not a minority. At all. In some parts of the major cities you will find areas where people are predominantly migrants or the children of migrants - that's not the same as "being a minority in your own country". I'm not even saying that there aren't any social costs to migration, there often are, but this lark of 'multiculturalism has failed' is often trotted out as some sort of commonsense statement of fact when the reality is that if it didn't broadly work people would be killing each other every two minutes in places like London, in fact most people generally get on and interact with each other multiple times daily.
Malayalam wrote: » ..I don't think it was entirely such a 'dark negative dismal kip' before, there was lots of ordinary good things going on.
Irish (including dual-Irish/other): 86.9%, UK: 2.5%, Other EU 27: 6.1%, Other Europe: 0.7%, Asia: 1.5%, Africa: 0.9%, USA: 0.2%, Other countries: 0.5%, Multiple nationality: 0.1%, Not stated: 1.2% (2011) - Wikipedia
Wibbs wrote: » I've rarely seen a more smug self satisfied expression of right on progressive piety on Boards. And that can be a high enough bar at times. I liked the self doubt around being "white", "Catholic" and "Irish" too. As if all three or one is somehow lesser(white gets the lower case for effect). Well done. *slow handclap(trap)* Bonus points. To her delight he produced a lollipop eh? Seem to have covered all the bases there. Though for future efforts, maybe throw in some Gay folks? Though ask them first. And rainbows. Rainbows are good.
bananabread12 wrote: » Culture is not just a cross-border concept, it's a cross class issue too.... There are groups within Ireland that have absolutely no understanding or appreciation of private property, nor do they share your values on anything else. Respecting the property of others is something that comes from a thorough education and family values. I couldn't care less whether someone was black, blue, pink or yellow, gay, straight or anything in-between, male, female, or anything in-between, so long as they're not an uneducated, unsophisticated, thieving little dragged-up Irish scrote. I'd favour shipping out of the lower classes and replacing them with foreign people that actually have something to offer our society as opposed to being a net drain on our resources.
Charles Babbage wrote: » Diversity within culture is a good thing. Different cultures existing separately largely independent of each other is not a good thing. The OP mention people from quite different places and these will interact with him and with each other through the medium of a common Irish culture. If immigrant groups reach a critical mass where they no longer have to interact in an "Irish" way but rather according to the customs of another place then there is a problem.
Benjamin Buttons wrote: » Even in the most far-flung corners of the world gay people are discriminated against, and not just by Muslims either.http://www.thejournal.ie/gay-cake-supreme-3383363-May2017/