user2011 wrote: » I didn't argue it was miss match, Conor put on more of a fight then seasoned boxer's against arguably TBE. I think he deserves credit for that. You don't want too give it, fcuk it i don't give a fcuk. I've just enjoyed one of the best nights watching Conor fighting I got my money's worth.
Schwiiing wrote: » These seasoned boxers didn't fight a 40 yr old ring rusty Mayweather who hadn't thrown a punch in anger in 2 years.
Deedsie wrote: » Fair play to Floyd, his experience and ability shone through from round 3 -10... He pressed McGregor constantly from then, credit to McGregor for staying on his feet for 6 rounds under pressure against one of the greatest boxers ever.
Depp wrote: » funny how a week ago floyd was the goat who wasn't going to have a hand landed on him but now hes some decrepit old man! look no denying it he was better tonight and fair play to him but why the rush to move the goalposts now and flip the narrative?
user2011 wrote: » "he isn't a boxer"
Subcomandante Marcos wrote: » Floyd looked as good tonight as he has in the last 5 years. He delivered an absolute clinic and didn't break a sweat. And he got his first stoppage in a long time.
Depp wrote: » Exactly, floyd came correct and he gameplanned very well like he always has, all the rot about his age this and could have finished it earlier if he wanted to that from lads is a bit sad
section4 wrote: » no but he got paid a hell of a lot more than a proper boxer would thats the sad part about it if he had a warm up fight and had lost and fought like he had here and got a million for it i would say fair play to him but he promised the earth and produced nothing for a around a 100m
user2011 wrote: » "produced nothing" subjective. I got my money's worth so I don't give a hoop. I'm happy out. MMA wins on this, boxing can go crawl into the tar pit with the rest of the dinsours.
Schwiiing wrote: » What happens to MMA when McGregor quits? Let's not forget your biggest star is best known for KO'ing from his striking ability. I can't see Damian Maia becoming a mega star trying to cuddle guys to death.
Corholio wrote: » Was wondering how soon the whole 'wonder how long Floyd would last in MMA' nonsense would begin.
bajer101 wrote: » The yank commentators made a lot of Conor not knowing when to cling and play the game when he was obviously tired. He could easily learn that and make it in pro boxing, but why bother. He's already a much better MMA fighter and that's where the money is.
Lt Dan wrote: » Considering that Conor is mostly a boxer in MMA,Mayweather would only have to work on the leg kicks, or how to avoid them (no easy feat in a few month) and try and avoid the take downs. Conor's "power" has little affect on boxers, and he struggles to do 5 rounds in MMA as it is. His boxing "skills" were exposed in Diaz (very poor bench mark, not like he bothered to move) and here tonight
darced wrote: » This post has been deleted.
kippy wrote: » Why bother? The money and the less riskier sport. While he wouldn't be able match that purse in any other fights he could line up one or two boxing matches with much higher purses than the relative pennies they get from UFC.
user2011 wrote: » :pac: Can you teach how to take front kicks to the body?
gitzy16v wrote: » CmcG was a joke.....i genuinely thought hed be better....but a joke thats all he was a joke...the boxing lads called it early and fair play to them...Conor lasted 10...the way Floyd played with him...I could of lasted 5 at least...never even boxed....Conor looked like the amateur he is
gitzy16v wrote: » ...the boxing lads called it early and fair play to them..
Outlaw Pete wrote: » Would these be the 'boxing lads' that said McGregor wouldn't land a punch?
Lt Dan wrote: » No , and I doubt you can teach giving them either , within 6 months It would be the only major problem for Mayweather, he does enough running to avoid being taken down Punch like tonight, Conor would get no where with serious punching , and sure, he struggles to make 5 Rounds in UFC I hope he learns how to pace himself, even if the UFC competitors are offering zero defence. Some day he is going to need to go to war against someone who and deal with his boxing better than Diaz did (he was like Bambi on ice slipping over his own blood, I really hope that fight does not happens again, he offers nothing, he looks good because Conor gets tired )