whelan2 wrote: » We were locked up for a long time years ago. Blooded . Still had reactors. Sent a cow to the factory as a cull and she was riddled with lesions. Apparently she,was immune to the both blood and tb testing.
freedominacup wrote: » I was talking to a near neighbour last week. He had been wiped out with TB already this decade and was down to 19 milkers again before he lost another 3 in his 6 month test to go clear on Friday. He knows he has a cow like your one in his herd but she won't be found until she's killed. He said this to me back in the spring as well. He wasn't taking no for an answer when talking to the dept this morning. Everything he has left had to go. The kicker is he hasn't had a single animal grazing since he was cleaned out the last time. Everything indoors all year around.
pedigree 6 wrote: » Is there not physical symptoms that can be spotted on an animal if it gets that bad? Coughing? Short of breath? etc? I don't know just guessing here.
freedominacup wrote: » Sometimes. We had a major breakdown here 25 yrs ago. Lost over 40% if the milking herd in one test. Dept rep asked my father had he any other cows he was suspicious of. He picked out another 6. None had reacted, all had lesions. We had 3 reactors in the next test and went clear after that. Only been locked up twice since. Once for around a half dozen around 10 yrs later and a doubtful two years ago. A lot of it in the area though.
awaywithyou wrote: » Bad outbreak here 6 yrs ago... Locked for 2 yrs.... Grand now thank God... We will have our 3rd herd test in 9 months next Monday... Even tho we're not locked up.... Apparently the new man running DVO in Kerry says he's going clear the county of TB.... On the lesions... Just because they show up with lesions after being killed doesn't mean the animal has TB.... The glands/lesions must be cultured or grown (something like that) over a 12 wk period to identify for sure what lesions are.... We had a few calves go down... They had lesions... We were told it was TB for sure.... They cultured em and 12 wks later I got a phone call that none of the calves had TB... What had they I asked.... 'We don't know' was the knowledgeable response....
blackdog1 wrote: » I've a question.. just clear of tb. Vet says I'm down to pay. But I have another test between Sept and December under new system and he says I'm down to pay that aswell....he's looking into it because before you only paid for 1 test in the year.
Mooooo wrote: » He's wrong id say. You pay for your yearly test anything else required is by the dept as it's under the scheme it's required. if there is a breakdown in an area it think all neighbouring farmers must do a 6 month "check test. For arguments sake if I go clear in Dec I must to another test in may
Buford T. Justice V wrote: » And every 6 months for 3 years after the last reactor is cleared. And there is something about being able to buy and sell for 2 or 3 months after the clear test and then you're restricted again until you have another clear test and the cleared to sell again for 2 or 3 months before another clear test needed to buy/sell again.
Mooooo wrote: » Basically a load of bollix
atlantic mist wrote: » tb is a funny one, all farms adjoining us have went down the past ten years, touch wood we dont, couple of suspects but on killing were perfect and from our experience the tb test shows positive directly after a stressful calving or if the animal is already sick, certain areas seem to get tb and a lot of the time its around new roads or developments, think dublin has the highest rate but they seem to attribute that to the deer instead of developmentold vet used to tell us its in the soil and birds are destroyed with it but you cant control birds, he told us to never graze to tight....we always have residuals left in fields and would probable be considered worse grass based farm in area for wasted grass.... have a heap of badgers here, never an issue with them beside the sods turned upside down in the odd area each morning grandmother used to work in tb hospital where cure for humans was to leave them outside in the fresh air
K.G. wrote: » Well what did ye think of mike magans piece
Keepgrowing wrote: » What publication?
jaymla627 wrote: » Pure b.s to be fair, when the largest dairy processor in the country is the worst payer and hides behind share spinouts to massage the milk price payed how in the name of god could you get them to actually pay a transparent and fair price, its not in the likes of Kerry group our glanbia plc to pay a cent extra then they need too
freedominacup wrote: » Not as much BS as I thought there would be. I'm not sure about all of the amalgamation delivering as much as he thinks but we need to knock the development of any more driers on the head now. They are nothing more than a very simple way of paying everybody downstream from the farm what they believe they're worth with the balance left over when everybody else is well looked after available for the farmer. Whether that's 13c per litre or 33c per litre is of no consequence to the rest of them. Glanbia have a big pot of cash available this minute and planning permission in belview but we won't see any increase in margins if this money is wasted on this project. If we had to spend half of it on market development and the balance on upgrading the better value added sections of the processing business to take the short term increase in milk production it would seem to me to be a better long term investment.
jaymla627 wrote: » Glanbias pot is swelled by 100 odd million of the GAP money though which if took away shrinks the pot fairly sustainally, it will be interesting to see if they do in-fact use this money to invest in processing what happens with the shares used as security
K.G. wrote: » Is that glanbia plc has 100mill or coop
jaymla627 wrote: » Coop has access to 100m, originally 50 million was meant for farmers in the guise of gap scheme but after next month all this money will have been repaid, and the other 50 million was for "co-op funding purposes that only the top guys know exactly what for, they wont devuldge the particulars to the common folk