Malcolm Tucker wrote: » What I find most shocking is the attitude of the Top Table towards the club delegates. The GAA prides itself on being a grass roots, bottom up organisation but the reality in Cork seems to be very different. What is even the point of County Board meetings if anyone who asks difficult questions just gets told to sit down and shut up. The clubs in Cork should really consider whether they should bother sending anyone to them at all at this stage, as they're just rubber stamping decisions that have already been made elsewhere. The mileage must be good, that's all I can think of.
Boom__Boom wrote: » I think if the strikes hadn't happened there would be some appetite for a fight but a lot of folks in Cork GAA have either walked away entirely or have adopted a head in the sand attitude to the county board and just focused on their own club.
blue note wrote: » That's absolutely incredible. This stadium must be costing thousands extra per GAA club in Cork. This clearly concerns the clubs and you'd think they'd want clarity and understanding of the situation and how it arose. But they seem happy to bury their heads in the sand in relation to the whole thing. I wonder long term how much use the whole thing will get. I saw Padriag Duffy basically admitted that it's not a suitable venue for this weekends matches, but it's being used because it's just finished. I wonder long term how much it will get used. I think the fans would like it to be used as much as the old one was i.e. for neutral matches with Waterford vs Tipp and for home and away arrangements with Cork. But I'd just worry that they'd decide that it's Cork and they should use it, regardless of what the people want. I could see the last round of the qualifiers / quarter finals rotating between Thurles and Cork, evevn though Thurles is the better venue for practically all the pairings.
munchkin_utd wrote: » with the 2nd pitch at PUC for smaller attendances, and no chance of any intercounty league or championship being held at Pairc Ui Rinn to give the 10 year ticket holders their hard bought games, there's little need for it, or at least its an asset which could be lived without given the shiny stadium down the road which still needs to be paid for.
Boom__Boom wrote: » I think money is the major issue - the county board is trying to keep the hole in the finances quiet as long as possible in the hope something will turn up - someone I know is convinced that Pairc Ui Rinn will be sold for houses in the not too distant future - I have heard some other stuff about scrimping on underage teams, mentors being forced to pay for basic essentials out of their own pocket, long long delays in players getting reimbursed for expenses.<snip>
namloc1980 wrote: » Assuming the Hurling championship gets a shakeup for next season all the stadiums will get more use. Each Munster team will get 2 home and 2 away games at least in Munster alone. I do think Thurles could do with a facelift. The old stand in particular is badly in need of a serious renovation. It'll compare poorly to the new Páirc facilities wise and as a result more games will go to Cork which will have the much more modern stadium.
Boom__Boom wrote: » Ger Lane said the matter would be dealt with at the end of the meeting. At the end of the meeting, said Freemount were a disgrace for bringing this up in what was a successful week for Cork GAA and that the board weren't beholden to anyone. The Freemount delegate tried to speak twice but Lane wouldn't let him/said contracts were a confidential matter. There was applause for Ger Lane (not 100% unanimous but still a majority of the room) This is 3rd hand - was talking to someone who was talking to someone at the meeting - so may be not 100% but the general gist. Tinpot dictator stuff which is S.O.P for Frank and friends. I think money is the major issue - the county board is trying to keep the hole in the finances quiet as long as possible in the hope something will turn up - someone I know is convinced that Pairc Ui Rinn will be sold for houses in the not too distant future - I have heard some other stuff about scrimping on underage teams, mentors being forced to pay for basic essentials out of their own pocket, long long delays in players getting reimbursed for expenses. The whole Hawkeye thing where they will be a "score detection system" in place for the opening games now but it won't be Hawkeye sounds very dodge and I can't help but think it's related to the finance issue. Some of the Cork football crowd are not pleased about the fact that the opening day of new stadium the Cork footballers are playing away in Limerick, saying that there's no way the County Board would have let it pass with the hurlers. The Cork local media are failing miserably in their job - there's barely been any mention whatsoever about the Freemount email. The overall general vibe I get from the new stadium is that it sounds an awful lot like a failing business - keeping as much info hidden as possible, pretending everything is great, being ultra-sensitive to any criticism/questions, scrambling around desperately hoping for a miracle. Long-term I just can't see the house of cards staying upright because you can only dodge paying the bills so long. At some point it's going to come out how much Cork GAA are in hole for and then there will be fireworks.
blue note wrote: » Any word on how they dealt with those questions last night?
Boom__Boom wrote: Got sent on a copy of an email Freemount GAA sent to all the officers of the Cork County Board.
Boom__Boom wrote: The next county board meeting on the 11th should be great craic.
Boom__Boom wrote: » Got sent on a copy of an email Freemount GAA sent to all the officers of the Cork County Board. The next county board meeting on the 11th should be great craic.
dboync wrote: » The elephant in the room is why they did not let Sisk appoint the electrical contractors? Is anyone surprised that there were delays with signing off on the safety certificate? Join the dots people! Fair play to Freemount for raising these issues. Let's see if there is progress on any of them.
From: Secretary Freemount Cork Sent: 01 July 2017 18:18:04 To: Chairperson Cork; ViceChairperson Cork; administrator cork; senior administrator cork; Treasurer Cork; PRO Cork; Childrensofficer Cork; DevelopmentOfficer Cork; IrishCulturalOfficer Cork; Coaching Officer Cork; chairperson imokilly.cork; A Chara, As you are aware, all decisions being made by the Executive and the Steering Committee in relation to Pairc Ui Chaoimh are under the jurisdiction of the County Committee. However, the County Committee has received minimal information in relation to Pairc Ui Chaoimh since the development commenced. Consequently, we would appreciate if you would respond to the queries set out below in advance of the next county board meeting and circulate it to the County Committee. If this is not possible, we will expect a verbal response to the queries at the next county board meeting. The following are our queries in relation to Pairc Ui Chaoimh : - Did the Steering Committee receive assurances from the main contractor and electrical contractor that Pairc Ui Chaoimh would be completed on time for the Munster football final ? If so, is there a penalty payable now for late completion and for how much? If a penalty is not payable, why not ? - Is the Steering Committee fully satisfied that Pairc Ui Chaoimh will be ready on time for the All Ireland hurling quarter finals ? - Has Sisk lodged any claims for contra charges due to delays outside their control ? If so, for how much ? - Why did the Steering Committee take responsibility for appointing the electrical contractors instead of Sisk being responsible for it ? - What is the expected cost of the overall development ? If as reported, it is significantly in excess of the amount of €78m presented to the County Committee as being the final cost, how did the additional costs arise ? - If there have been cost overruns, why have the County Committee not been updated on these overruns over the past eighteen months. - Is there any part of the proposed development project not being done because of financial constraints ? - How many Premium Level Seats have been sold ? - Is there any risk of promised grant funding not being received ? - What is the position with the Stadium naming rights contract ? - What is the anticipated shortfall on the development of the stadium and how will this shortfall be financed ? - Why is the appointment of a stadium manager not on the agenda at present? - It has been reported in the Media that Bob Ryan will be employed on a 12 month contract. Is this correct and if so, what was the process for making this appointment ? If the position was not advertised, why not ? - How many people will be employed in Pairc Ui Chaoimh going forward and what will be the role of each employee ? - When does the Executive take over from the Steering Committee in managing Pairc Ui Chaoimh? - Will all income and expenditure of Pairc Ui Chaoimh be accounted for through the accounts of County Board or is it going to be through a separate entity ? - Can the Executive confirm that those responsible for running Pairc Ui Chaoimh in the future report to the County Executive ? - We would appreciate your confirmation that proposals in relation to the management of Pairc Ui Chaoimh will be ratified by the County Committee before they can proceed. On a separate note, we brought forward a motion to the last annual Convention seeking that the appointment of the next county secretary should be managed by Croke Park so that an annual contribution of €30000 could be received from Croke Park towards the cost of the secretary. It was ruled out of order on the basis that this was a decision for the Management Committee and the County Committee. Croke Park have indicated that they will need to start the process of appointing the County Secretary by the first week in September if they are requested to do so. Consequently, we consider that the process for appointing the next county secretary will now need to be ratified by the August County Board meeting at the latest. We would therefore suggest that the proposed process for appointing the next county secretary is circulated in advance of the July or August County Board meetings to give clubs an opportunity to consider it in advance of the meeting and then agree on the process at the County Board meeting. Mise le Meas, Liam Ó Múrchú Cnoc an Teampaill
threeball wrote: Shoe is on the other foot this time. Doesn't seem to bother them when their footballers are getting the benefit.
Dr. Kenneth Noisewater wrote: » Try telling that to the Dubs, who now have to play Tipperary in their own back yard, when it should be in a neutral venue!
blue note wrote: » The most likely quarter finalists are KK, Clare, Tipp and Wexford. And Thurles is probably the handiest venue for them anyway, so I'd say the're all glad of the change. And of the alternates, Waterford and Dublin would be glad of Thurles too. The only ones potentially going to be upset are Cork.
munchkin_utd wrote: » em, and what about Salthill ? I cannot imagine a worse place to plonk a large stadium and in comparison, PUC is grand to get to.
Bonniedog wrote: » Cork is worst ground in country to get to, other than maybe Letterkenny! Not only is Cork geographically far removed from most places, but the pitch itself is in terrible location. Like the middle of an industrial estate. They'd gave been better expanding and improving PUR in my humble opinion.
shmeee wrote: » I was told by someone involved below that they will be hard pushed to have it ready for any match this year. The All Ireland 1/4 finals may be moved yet.