freshpopcorn wrote: » All the Christenings in my area people seem to go all out.(Full mass) If your any bit religious and both parties are Catholic. I can't see them leaving out the mass.
Boggy Turf wrote: » Most people do not love a wedding be it over 1 or 2 days. Good weddings are few and far between. Most people pretend to enjoy weddings.
Ann_Landers wrote: » If the couple want a full Mass, they should go for it. I'm just saying that literally all that is required for a ceremony are the vows and the register-signing. Anything else is elective.
Spanish Eyes wrote: » YES to this. Costs a bomb, sitting around having to talk to people you have nothing in common with and all the rest of it. Wouldn't you just love if they fecked off somewhere, and you could bring your OH out for a nice meal somewhere instead. OK I am a Bah Humbug. But at this stage of my life I could write the script for weddings, none of which I enjoyed immensely. Just got on with it because that is expected. I have declined every wedding in the last few years unless family. I love my family we have great craic together. But after that NO. sorry..... But I will be called some names for this post I reckon. Still it is reality. There is a lot of false happiness on behalf of guests, when they wish they were a million miles away from the schedule of starvation, waiting, boredom, loud music and all the rest of it. As you can gather, I dislike formula weddings. I really do. Think Stepford Wives.
Spanish Eyes wrote: » You sound delightful. Not everyone is religious. Some are mixed religions/no religion. You have to have a bit of give and take. Please don't ask me to marry you. You sound controlling nox. But you are no doubt gorgeous and tolerant and a lovely person. I know you are.
Bobby Massive Drill wrote: » Way off topic but no idea what I said to make me sound controlling. It couldn't be further from the truth. I'll leave it at that as I don't want to derail the thread.
freshpopcorn wrote: » Best wedding I was at their was at their was no seating plan. The top few tables were reserved for close family and everybody else could sit where they want. They had no hassle of doing a seating plan and nobody got landed with people they didn't like.
Ann_Landers wrote: » My sister had no seating plan for her wedding, it was grand. I don't know people are so resistant to the idea of no seating plan.
Bobby Massive Drill wrote: » I've never heard of a wedding with open seating, sounds like a recipe for disaster!
Ann_Landers wrote: » Why so?
Bobby Massive Drill wrote: » Yes of course. Maybe people don't want a shorter ceremony, I don't really know why some are falling over themselves to shorten and cut corners on one of the most important things in their lives. Surely its worth an hour or so.
Bobby Massive Drill wrote: » I don't think many would disagree with me either.
Bobby Massive Drill wrote: » When you have 200 people+ at an event organisation is the name of the game. You also want to ensure people are sitting with people they know, there will be groups you want at certain tables etc and there will always be people that have to be kept far apart (family members who don't get on etc). It's also hassle for the hotel. The table plan is such a fundamental part of wedding planning it just stood out as something I hadn't heard of (the not having one). I don't think many would disagree with me either.
Bobby Massive Drill wrote: » I've been to a lot of weddings, 95% were catholic and every singe one had a full mass.
meeeeh wrote: » No seating plan is grand for small weddings but completely impractical for bigger weddings. Or you can enjoy watching you guests trying to play musical chairs moving around to accommodate people who came alone and the couples that might need to split because there is only one seat available at couple of tables. I've been to some wedding without seating plan. They were in restaurants and tables were pushed together so that was fine. But for bigger weddings with round tables you are just causing unnecessary stress or hassle for guests.
Ann_Landers wrote: » My sister's had the big, round tables. Seriously, no issues.
Ann_Landers wrote: » My sister's had the big, round tables. Seriously, no issues. It was so relaxed, no hours of sitting as the speeches were before dinner. It didn't really matter if someone took your seat as the crowd was much more fluid than an assigned seating affair. It was great. People really knock this without trying it.