Outlaw Pete wrote: » Wait, didn't you say at the start of the thread: Why the huge swing in opinion?
Joeseph Balls wrote: » Great stance and right guard....
wonderfullife wrote: » What do you want him to do? Re-invent himself as a traditional southpaw boxer? He's going to do what he knows best (for better or worse) - wide karate stance and carrying his hands low. We'll see how far that takes him.
Joeseph Balls wrote: » What I want him to do is show up and do well. Will you settle a bit, you're that wrapped up in fanboism, that you take offense to anyone saying a bad word about him.
StringerBell wrote: » Just because it is unusual doesn't mean it is of any use.
wonderfullife wrote: » You don't have to scream "fanboy" anytime someone challenges you on your snarky posts. I asked what do you want him to do in all seriousness. If you were his head coach here what would your plan be? Carrying a high guard has never been his thing and he very rarely shells up either. Nearly all of his KO's and TKO's have been punches thrown from the hip or counters after slipping punches with no guard. Do you think Conor has enough time to practice fighting with a high guard? To this day, Floyd maintains Emanuel Augustus was one of his toughest opponents. He was very similar to Conor in the sense he didn't move like a pro boxer, he didn't defend like a pro boxer and he gave zero fooks.
CatFromHue wrote: » I agree. An example put forth on this thread was how Italy played against England in this years 6 Nations, they didn't contest the ruck which is pretty strange but makes no offside line. They still lost by 21 points!
Burial. wrote: » Floyd doesn't get pissed off. There's rarely a more calm fighter in the ring than Floyd. Conor isn't a unique snowflake that'll change that. Floyd's very calculated, there's no reason for him to end the show in round 1. A prolonged beating where he lands every punch he throws over a few rounds before stopping him would be far more impressive. If he landed a beaut in the first that ended the fight you'd have clowns saying it's a fluke punch and calling for a rematch.
AlmightyCushion wrote: » The strategy still worked for them and it was useful. England wanted to absolutely batter Italy and build up a huge try/points difference. Everyone expected England to absolutely batter the shít out of Italy. We bet Italy by over 50 points. There was people saying that England would trounce them by more than that. If I remember correctly, the England game ended up being Italy's closest game of the tournament points wise and Italy were winning the game at half time. Italy made a game that should have been a one sided slaughtering into a somewhat competitive game at least for the first half or so. It was an embarrassment for England and Italy surprised a lot of people. There are a lot of similarities here to the Mayweather McGregor fight i.e. everyone expects Mayweather to make a fool of McGregor and for it to be a completely one sided fight where McGregor hasn't a chance. Imagine if the same happens in this fight as happened when Italy played England. If Conor loses but still manages to win a few early rounds, lands some big shots and makes it look competitive if even only for a while then he will surprise and impress a lot of people. Sure, it's still a loss but he would have done far better than most people ever expected him to. This is why there are the comparisons with Italy. Their unusual tactics didn't get them the win but it made them do far better than everyone expected and they surprised and impressed a lot of people. If Conor can do the same (and I'm not saying he can) then I think it'll be a good result for him.
CatFromHue wrote: » I agree. An example put forth on this thread was how Italy played against England in this years 6 Nations, they didn't contest the ruck which is pretty strange but makes no offside line.They still lost by 21 points!
wonderfullife wrote: » . This thread will be some craic if Conor lands a left hand counter and Floyd does the chicken dance before being TKO'd.
Too Tough To Die wrote: » But one key difference between Conor and Augustus is that Augustus had a tonne of boxing ability.
walshb wrote: » Sure will Let's say that happens. What exactly does it prove? He landed a KO shot on Floyd... I'd still back so many boxers to obliterate Conor in a boxing match.... He won't suddenly become a respected boxer...
wonderfullife wrote: » How do you know that Conor doesn't? You've zero idea how much boxing ability Conor has and neither do I. Until we see him in a boxing ring in an actual match, we can only speculate. All his sparring partners are saying he's an extremely good boxer. They're all getting paid so I'll take their reviews with a pinch of salt but the one guy not being paid is Conor Wallace because he's not in the camp and he is saying the same thing. I suppose even with him, he might be hoping for future call-ups to the camp for Diaz 3. For all we know he turns up on fight night with an improved jab, crisp counters, good footwork, precise combinations and makes a fight of it.
wonderfullife wrote: » There's nothing Conor can do in the ring to earn the respect of old-school boxing fans. He could piece Floyd up for 12 rounds and win a 118-110 decision and people still wouldn't show him respect.
Sweet Science wrote: » This isnt make belief . This is the real world . There is no tooth fairy or Santa Claus . Its perfectly logical to assume an amateur boxers ability is very poor in relation to an all time great pro boxer.
Sweet Science wrote: » Yes i do
walshb wrote: » What? So, Conor steps in the ring and beats Floyd 118-110 and no respect? That would be far more far fetched than the KO, but surely it would garner respect....
wonderfullife wrote: » Ok so to get your respect as a boxer he needs to beat Floyd on points?
wonderfullife wrote: » No you don't. All you have are assumptions, no evidence. Ok so to get your respect as a boxer he needs to beat Floyd on points?
Burial. wrote: » Why are ye even wasting your time lads...spare your sanity.
maximoose wrote: » How many times across how many threads are you two going to have the same argument. Over and over and over again, it's getting painful.
walshb wrote: » If he KOs or beats Floyd in any legal manner he would get respect. Same if Floyd stepped into the Octagon and beat Conor.