freshpopcorn wrote: » I don't understand how abortion is legalised just in cases of rape to be honest. I take it the woman just goes to the doctor and say they were raped and he'll send her to the relevant services. To me this is basically legalised abortion/abortion on demand/abortion by choice/what ever term you want to call it.
hatrickpatrick wrote: » I must say the reported size of it certainly worries me a little - I never thought it would be a walk in the park for repeal but I did expect there to be an enthusiasm gap, which there doesn't seem to be if the reported attendance of this is anything to go by. Having said that, I really don't think holding simultaneous and co-located counter rallies is ever a good idea. Let them have their moment and then try and have an even bigger repeal rally the following week would have been a better strategy IMO.
Rebekah Strong Archivist wrote: » How does abortion in the case of rape work on a practical level?
....... wrote: » This post has been deleted.
Syphonax wrote: » Im in favour or women aborting a child in the instance of rape, so your quick witted remark has nothing to do with abortion-on-demand, sorry.
....... wrote: » The Garda figure was reported in the Irish Times, it was RTE who published the 70k figure. Perhaps RTE simply didnt fact check?
Ben Gadot wrote: » Sometimes social media can trick one into thinking something is a foregone conclusion but I don't think there is one here now. I'd be concerned now, especially as how one poster pointed out earlier, that there doesn't to be one coherent voice or message in the choice lobby.
ohnonotgmail wrote: » [Dougal] I'm no good at estimating the size of crowds but i reckon there is about 17 million of them. [/Dougal]
hatrickpatrick wrote: » That's pretty bizarre if you compare it to water charge protests, anti war protests etc - the media are usually either in line with or actually more conservative than the Garda statistics. Wonder why the discrepancy?
....... wrote: » RTE reported 70,000 but Gardai estimated between 10,000 and 20,000. The size wouldnt worry me at all tbh, the prolifers tend to be a vocal minority.
Lollipops23 wrote: » How come it's murder if I feel unable to feed and raise a child, but not murder if the child's father forces himself on me? What's the line for you?
RobertKK wrote: » But you brought happiness to your parents, so you did make the world a better place for others who love you.
RobertKK wrote: » Just look at your own reply, you have not even debated the point. It is an uncomfortable truth that I posted.
zedhead wrote: » It always comes down to punishing a women for daring to have sex and not be prepared for the consequences, regardless of the fact that there are always 2 people involved.
zedhead wrote: » I don't think the world would be any better or worse had I been aborted. I am sure it would have been the right choice for my parents if they had chosen that path. To be honest I think my life is wholly irrelevant in the grand scheme of things. What I am grateful for is that I had parents who were in a position to raise me in a home filled with love and where all my requirements were met.
Syphonax wrote: » Dont jump down my throat about rape cases when you clearly have no idea of my opinion on the matter. I am for abortion in very limited circumstances, such as rape.
super_furry wrote: » Sounds awfully like 'she deserves it' to me.