whelan2 wrote: » Fook it. Was the bull bought in?
orm0nd wrote: » Sorry to hear MJ & Moooo. on a slightly sadder note I'm sure most of you will have heard by now that Donal Murphy has died. He done great work while in ICMSA
"If a farmer had a herd of 18 cows he was regarded as a substantial dairyman. Yields were about 700-800 gallons but it was all mixed farming with the young stock kept on at least to yearlings or year and half old and most farmers kept anything from two to twelve sows" he added recalling the state of Irish farming the early seventies. "A farmer was lucky to be making £100 a year per cow. If he had an income of £1,400 from a herd of 14 cows he was regarded as being very well off. He was looked upon as a top farmer" said Donal with a smile at how times have changed for the better.
pedigree 6 wrote: » So it was about 3.5 times the profit from a cow could buy an acre of land. If you don't want to be depressed don't look at this.http://www.ipav.ie/sites/default/files/land_prices_1901_-_2007_1.pdf Even I can remember land being sold around here for £1000/acre in 88 and everyone said it was dear. Last bit of land came up for sale around here a few weeks ago made e25,000/acre bought by a cattle farmer for farming.
Username John wrote: » You'd wonder how lads can justify paying, but they obviously can and do...
pedigree 6 wrote: » Reasons used for justification are... It's money in the bank. Land won't fall in value. God is not making anymore land in the parish. This sfp needs to be spent on something. Herself/himself has a good civil service job so I can afford this. I'm buying this land because that fecker Murphy outbid me the last time and it ain't happening again. I've two sons and they both wear wellies. Those Kerry shares have done well for me. The motorway has just took 5 acres off me. The price of milk, beef, tillage will never drop again. Even if it does the sfp will save me. I'd go mad and think wicked thoughts if I was idle and shur it's a nice fixer upper.;)
kowtow wrote: » The one I hear most often is "we never lost money on land" Which, more often than not, is true in most of the Western world over the last few generations - but those also happen to have been generations where the impact of fractional reserve banking together with industrialization has seen pretty sustained inflation in the nominal value of money. On top of which the last few years in particular have seen very fast inflation in the value of agricultural land, to levels which I think cannot possibly tolerate the more normal interest rates which will surely return sometime in the next decade or two. I wonder what rents would have been in 1971? given the interest rates at the time I'm guessing around £20 an acre on a land value of £150 - someone might well know better than me. If I'm right in my guess then the profitable cow of 1971 paid 5 acres rent, which is not a million miles away from the profitable cow of 2017. Which means? 1. A massive amount of the assumed prosperity since joining the EU in 1973 has simply been the nominal effect of inflation (industrial wages bear this out too) and - maybe more importantly - that 2. The economics of dairying haven't changed as much as we think, provided that we leave the (possibly anomalous) capital price of land out of it.
kowtow wrote: » My inflation figure was the CPI/ RPI equivalent, general cost of living rather than agriculture. Half a tonne of barley rented an acre then... Or the profit from 200 odd gallons of milk (A quarter of a cow?)
mf240 wrote: » Farmers buying land are a bit like squirrels collecting nuts. We're not sure why exactly but we're going to do it anyway.
freedominacup wrote: » Roughly yes. Hard working early adopters of new tech who pushed output really cleaned up. They had to be stopped.
K.G. wrote: » From my experience the biggest advantage to buying is the pressure to preform
cute geoge wrote: » I think the atrocious weather in 85/86 accounted for it dropping in value those years .I can remember the best land around here sold for £2000-2500/acre in some of those years yet the cso value would be less then half that ,tells alot about stats. I know good land hit 20 k in 06/07 but f.j. figure at 26k is mad does this include building land and forestry land
rangler1 wrote: » Land hit 3000/acre in the early eighties but could be bought at 1000/acre by '86 when interes rates hit 20% Land near here that made over 33000/acre in 07 was sold 2 years ago for 8000/acre,lots of land made over 30000/acre round here.....none of it building land There's also land beside me here that made 50000/acre......just a neglected field now
fepper wrote: » What's so special about that land around you making that kind of money.... Do they all want to be your neighbour.
The part time boy wrote: » Time to sell Land I say !! Can these prices last ? !
rangler1 wrote: » Kinda in a quandary here as to whether to lease or sell the rest of my place...I'll never farm it again any way, but money yields nothing
K.G. wrote: » None of business but i have oftenthought of guy in limerick that featured in the journal could be 15 years ago.the jist of the story was he onky had 50k quota and 100 acres so he sold 50 acres and mulked his 50 cows on it and invested in shares etc.often wondered how he got on
rangler1 wrote: Kinda in a quandary here as to whether to lease or sell the rest of my place...I'll never farm it again any way, but money yields nothing
kowtow wrote: » Is there a new entrant you could lease it to long term? Apart from the tax incentives, which are good, I would have thought there is great satisfaction in getting someone started on a career in farming.
awaywithyou wrote: » What s Ye're protein and butterfat like this year when compared with the same period last year...?? Is it up or down...? Don't care bout figures just wonðering is it higher or lower.... Protein has been higher than butterfat on a couple of occasions here over past 2 months.... Never happened before..... Butterfat in general isn't great.... Don't think it's ever been so low.... I'm sure it has nothin to do with butter being worth over 6000 a ton...