mdwexford wrote: » I fear for the future of the interwebs if Conor somehow ko's Floyd. It will genuinely explode and we will all have to go outside and talk to real life people again like the good old days. I hope it happens at this stage for the spectacle of it all. I imagine Floyd will demand 10 billion and a pink unicorn to sign though.
Rekop dog wrote: » I wonder when the exchanges put this up and there's decent liquidity how short Floyd will go. Pros will surely back him into ~ 1.05
wonderfullife wrote: » Question - if by some miracle or divine intervention Conor wins, what will you say?
weldoninhio wrote: » It's laughable. The only time i can see McGregor laying a glove on Mayweather is when the ref tells them to touch gloves before the first round starts.
bmcc10 wrote: » There is people who genuinely believe though that Conor will win, These are the casuals who tune into Ufc when he's fighting and these are the people who tend to go to Vegas and the likes
Subcomandante Marcos wrote: » A more apt comparison is if Bayern Munich tried to play the All Blacks in a game of rugby.
wonderfullife wrote: » A very rare disagreement but read what I wrote again: I said if a drunk Irish fan was asked who would win the entire TOURNAMENT, and had a drunk crowd behind him, he'd say "Ireland!!" for the cheers. Same in Vegas. It'll be "McGregor!!" followed by cheering and drinks flying. That's not what they actually genuinely believe! Anyway Conor has a punchers chance, just like Ireland had last summer.
Gamebred wrote: » No, you have it wrong! Ireland were guaranteed at least 3 group games and the potential to win any of the 3, so actually if you asked people outside the 3 matches you'd of got normal people predicting wins over Italy Belguim or Sweden, and sure enough they beat Italy, In this case there is zero chance of him winning a single round probably a single exchange in the fight so theres no comparison, of course you might get event fans there who show up to anything if Ireland are represented an have a drink, There is no sane person that thinks he can win bar himself and I use the word sane loosely about him.
Stick a camera in front of a drunk Irish fella in Bordeaux last summer and ask him who'll win the Euros
evil_seed wrote: » Very cute announcing the McGregor side is a done deal. They'll never get Mayweather's side done, and then McGregor can go on and on about how Mayweather ducked him. That's all I see in this
wonderfullife wrote: » Completely missed the point of my reply. Stick a camera in front of a drunk Irish fella in Bordeaux last summer and ask him who'll win the Euros and he'd be like "ireland of course" with a dozen lads cheering behind him. He knows well Ireland weren't going to win it. Stick a camera in front of a drunk Irish fella in Vegas and ask who wins they'll be like "McGregor of course" with lads cheering behind him. Too Tough to Die's point was it's going to be cringey all the boys on the lash being interviewed saying McGregor will win. My point was they don't actually believe it It's not comparing the sports, it could be cross-country skiing for all it matters, if the "lads are on tour" and a camera in their face, they're going to say stupid sh1t they don't actually believe.
Sweet Science wrote: » Hun is it ok if I head to Vegas to watch McGregor fight Floyd Mayweather is a boxing match ? Her response - Why would you want to go to that sure didn't your cousin beat him before boxing ? The average ticket price for Floyd v Manny was $6,260 and it's projected to be $8,000 for this, are you dealing drugs on the side?! :pac: I also feel the best comparison is asking someone who competes in a Heptathlon to face Usain Bolt in a 200m race. Even though they both do it their gift is totally different.
Gamebred wrote: » Ireland team at the euros is a stupid comparison, they arent playing an unbeatable team at another sport, there really is no comparison.
Sweet Science wrote: » I also feel the best comparison is asking someone who competes in a Heptathlon to face Usain Bolt in a 200m race. Even though they both do it their gift is totally different.
wonderfullife wrote: » I've never really understood why people are bothered by this. It's the same mentality people used against the soccer fans in France and Poland 2016 and 2012. Most people know Floyd is going to win just like most people knew Ireland wouldn't win the Euros but may as well enjoy it and hope for the best. Only live once. The contest will likely be Conor swinging at air for 12 or less rounds but I'd love to see him land a couple of body shots, as that's the biggest target he can aim for. He has a tidy left hook to the body. For Conor to exceed all expectations, he would need to win 1 round and lose something like 119-107. I'm not saying it's likely but winning 1 round would be a pretty big achievement.