Little CuChulainn wrote: » It isn't. Neither is Europol. He probably watched too many Bond movies.
CalamariFritti wrote: » Am I missing something? Cos there isn't a single word on what those guys supposedly did.
Discodog wrote: » Or the UK told the Guards, maybe asked for surveillance & they decided to arrest against advice.
Discodog wrote: » A huge amount of anti terrorism data comes from the UK. Europe has nothing like GCHQ. The attacks in France & the total inability to see the threat from Belgium shows how the intelligence is ineffectual. The Guards would of been given the names & addresses. GCHQ have probably been monitoring them for quite a while & only asked for arrests because they thought that something was imminent. Or the UK told the Guards, maybe asked for surveillance & they decided to arrest against advice. So now they are out on bail & can flee.
Phoebas wrote: » The Terrorism Offence Act 2015 created three new offences of:Public provocation to commit a terrorist offence Recruitment for terrorism Training for terrorism These offences can carry sentences of up to 10 years imprisonment. (the journal.ie)
LexieOnRale wrote: » end of the road wrote: » can't be done as it's against due process. the special criminal court deprives them of a proper jury trial, and it's our job to interrogate them in a fair and just manner to insure any information is accurate. can't be done, it's against their human rights and it's asalt and breaks international law. Fair and just manner? Human rights? What about everyone else's human rights not to be killed by terrorists, or the reasonable expectation of safety? Those ****ets should be shot on sight
end of the road wrote: » can't be done as it's against due process. the special criminal court deprives them of a proper jury trial, and it's our job to interrogate them in a fair and just manner to insure any information is accurate. can't be done, it's against their human rights and it's asalt and breaks international law.
Roger Hassenforder wrote: » They've been realised without charge and a file is being sent to the DPP...
Little CuChulainn wrote: » What are you basing this on?
511 wrote: » Under UN law, it's illegal to make someone stateless. Citizenship, for me, is very straight forward. You commit a serious offence, you're gone, even if you have kids and your wife was born here. Stop them from further contaminating the gene pool.
AudreyHepburn wrote: » Well done to the Gardai and they should pay no attention to the naysayers. None of them would be able to do the job, they'd fall at the first hurdle.
Samara Hissing Pocketknife wrote: » Tip of the Iceberg
cisk wrote: » 1 of them has been released without charge alreadyhttps://www.rte.ie/news/ireland/2017/0509/873641-dublin-arrests/
Billy86 wrote: » Good thing they didn't shoot him on sight, then!
CoolHandBandit wrote: » Step forward Ruth Coppinger.
Phoebas wrote: » You want to let them go if they're not originally Irish, with what basically amounts to a slap on the wrist.
Joeseph Balls wrote: » We all critisize the Gardai, sometimes justified and I'm probably one of the first to do it, but they deserve credit where it's due. Fair play to them for it today.
The_Kew_Tour wrote: » Eh? This is not the USA
AudreyHepburn wrote: » That's hardly the fault of the Gardai. That's the fault of a judicial system seriously in need of an overhaul.
hatrickpatrick wrote: » I don't want to, but if they're in the country illegally then what's the legal / constitutional position on sending them to jail here? Is it allowed?
Odelay wrote: » "Up to ten years in prison" wow, that will deter them...