martyos121 wrote: » David Clarke, what more can you say about him. Best keeper in the country by miles.
happyoutscan wrote: » Further proof how stupid dropping him was.
Fowler87 wrote: We've had some good days up there but the bad days are aplenty. That was up there with the worst of them. Where too now..? Keep treading water or unleash these promising U21s from now on. So disheartening that
Fowler87 wrote: » We've had some good days up there but the bad days are aplenty. That was up there with the worst of them. Where too now..? Keep treading water or unleash these promising U21s from now on. So disheartening that
Stoner wrote: TBH imo if you get 3/4 decent players from that U21 team you'll be doing well. Few slot in straight away too, they need 2 or 3 years to bulk up too. Seasoned intercounty lads would make bits of most of them at this stage IMO
Stoner wrote: » TBH imo if you get 3/4 decent players from that U21 team you'll be doing well. Few slot in straight away too, they need 2 or 3 years to bulk up too. Seasoned intercounty lads would make bits of most of them at this stage IMO
km79 wrote: » Agree with all of what parlance said above very good analysis sir ! I know I mentioned it earlier but I've been thinking about it all the way down and also discicces it after the drawn game Clarkes kick outs are going to be a potential problem if we are in the mix next autumn He looked very very harried tonight They were going backwards sideways hanging in the air bit ALWAYS putting the receiver under pressure A problem
PARlance wrote: Fair play to ye tonight. (Jesus, O'Gara has the finesse of an elephant.)
Stoner wrote: » He softens things up alright.
PARlance wrote: » A massive problem. He's a fantastic shot stopper and superb under the high ball bit you just can't ingnore those kickouts. Many Mayo supporters like to ignore it and prefer instead to keep harking back to Hennelly being selected for the replay... a bad call but with good logic... Clarke nearly lost us the first game when he had an almighty wobble towards the end. All this best keeper in the Country stuff is crap. If you haven't an excellent kick out, you're not in the running for that title. I hope it's something that can be addressed because he has everything else.
PARlance wrote: » That shot on goal in the first half.... 10 yards out and he managed to kick it 50 yards wide and 10 yards behind him.... he has Mayo blood? Well done. Some team. Some panel. I've been saying it for a while but I can't see any relent in your League record. When you've 30 odd players pushing for Championship spots then there'll never be any slacking in the League. Even though our squad has improved, I don’t think any County can meet that intensity in the League. We'll get ye in the Championship though
Bambi wrote: » Wat was your full back at for the first ball into O'Gara, standing miles off him ..you'd swear he was afraid of him You'd want to tell some of your lads to stay out of the fridge from here on, Keegan and a few others look like they've wintered well :eek:
PARlance wrote: Keegan's arse is being discussed on 2 threads now.
PARlance wrote: » Keegan's arse is being discussed on 2 threads now There'll be plenty of room in his back pocket for Connolly when the Championship comes around.
Bambi wrote: » Sure Lee has tons of space in his arse pocket..theres no celtic crosses in there. And while Lee is on the excercise bike yiz may stick that young lad wearing 10 on the weights..he looks fierce light.
PARlance wrote: » Coen & Boland have begun that process. Loftus to a lesser extent. Diarmuid there too obviously. That's 3 who have already shown enough to say they've come through. Outside of that, Loftus is showing good signs. The likes of Ruane will need a few more years. I'd be happy with those 5 and wouldn't expect more than that. Fair play to ye tonight. (Jesus, O'Gara has the finesse of an elephant.) As for ourselves: Clarke's kickouts show no sign of improving. This is an absolutely critical aspect of the modern game. I had hoped that this would be addressed this year. He should be spending 80% of his time getting this right. I was eager to see who swept tonight for us. McLoughlin wasn't the man last year and he's needed as a playmaker. Not playing one at all against ye is just suicidal. Clarke shouldn't have to be saving the day for us in terms of shot stopping if this was in place. Wide open. Despite being to a Club Final, Keegan needs another month to get up to speed. Proven by the fact that he was put in the FB line. There's a real worry about DO'C. He hasn't been himself for some time now. Still very good but not his best. My only guess is that he's either been run ragged or mentally tired. Despite what the Galway men / Conspiracy Theorists / Begrudgers say, Aidan & Seamus are much needed. Aidan needs to be made a Full Forward of if it takes 6 months. Transition into attack, which killed us last year, is still dire. This is why I would shake it up with testing (a fit) Keegan in the HF line. Pressure on opposition goal kicks is way too slack. You just can't give Dublin free ball all day long from kick outs. The 2 former points were highlighted in the 39th minute. We managed a laboured point from Coen but Dublin has tagged one back within 20 seconds of the ball going over the bar. That included a mark. I timed it Same again a few minutes later after Regans free. McMahon popping up at the other end for an easy score. Some positives: Coen and Durcan are fine players who will keep improving. Keegan will be a different player come championship. Higgins looks like he's settling in ok at FB. A sweeper to help would be nice. Boland didn't do much but he rarely does anything wrong, an excellent foot passer which could be utilised to some good effect with AO'S in the FF line. The main negative: I was expecting Rochford to have some plan for tonight. There was none. It was more or less the same team and tactics as the previous 3 games.
PressRun wrote: » He's an excellent shot stopper and a great big tall man to have under the high ball, but his kickouts need major work and I don't know if that will be remedied in time for the championship. People keep saying that his shot stopping abilities some how proves that Rochford should never have dropped him, but his kickouts tonight prove the logic in what Rochford was thinking.
Audioslaven wrote: » Rochford's decision was wrong for the replay. The kick outs last year were not really a problem with Clarke. He had a few bad ones at around the 65 -70 minutes at the drawn game but the showing by the players at that point was missing as well. I think you are using last nights display to justify a decision that Rochford did last year which makes no sense. Clarke irrespective of any issues with his kicks out from last night's game is the best keeper for Mayo
km79 wrote: as NOBODY was capable of winning their own ball