awaywithyou wrote: » Prob too late tbh.... 12 hrs prior to calving is what's recommended...
degetme wrote: » ya I see that. only heard of them after talking to vet this morning. I have them got for others.
darragh_haven wrote: » What would ye value 10 to 11 month old bulling heifers at. And what should target weight at bulling be?
freedominacup wrote: » Target weight 300-350kg. For the first question that's a how long is a piece of string one tbh. It depends on what you are after. There years ago we paid 750 for a batch without picking iykwim.
darragh_haven wrote: » I was looking at a batch of 30 mostly friesian type heifers with a friend of mine. They're being out wintered on kale and bales of silage (altho the kale ran out 10 days ago) they looked fairly miserable tbf. I asked could he weigh 5 ir 6 of them as they were close to the yard... told no as it was to much hassle. (Iwas the devil's advocate, my friend was the buyer)
Timmaay wrote: » Business as usual again, after 4days back inside. My end of Feb 30% target not looking great ha, only 1calved yet. 1st due around the 10th, I would of expected a dozen or so to have popped early. Anyone wanna loan me 40 milking cows for Feb ha?
Mooooo wrote: » Let a cow in to tank this morning. Tank is too big to reach down and take a sample from the hatch so took a few buckets out of the outlet and then took a sample from there, do ye think it will do to test that?
Buford T. Justice V wrote: » Make sure it's well agitated.
Buford T. Justice V wrote: » Leave out a few heifers and graze lower covers and you should hit the 30% target. That's my plan anyway.
whelan2 wrote: » How are you getting on with your liquid quota will you fill it? What are your cows in calf to?
Buford T. Justice V wrote: » Spent the last few hours ripping the parlour feeders. I powerhosed them before Christmas and thought no more about them but apparently they're NOT waterproof and the ration bridged in the augers. I'll end up having to get Dairymaster out to rip the feckers:(
Buford T. Justice V wrote: » All bar 2 sorted on one side and should manage to keep ahead of the other side as they calve. I had to crowbar the auger out of them, the plastic is surprisingly strong.
Fixture wrote: » Where would we be without crowbars and sledges!
cjpm wrote: » Maiden heifers are in calf to AA stock bull. About 50% calved and the calves are very big. Diet is as lib silage, good quality. Should I feed some straw to the ones left to calve? Any tips appreciated
Mooooo wrote: » Have a cow here I was due to dry off this week supposed to be calving the end of April. I swear she's springing up, whether the date is wrong or she's going to pass the calf I dunno. Any suggestions with what to do. ? Would stop milking her run the risk of mastitis?. Shortest tube is still 30 days
whelan2 wrote: » I would put her out in a paddock and see what she's like in a day or 2. When did she calve last year, could she be full time now? She should just dry up herself