Johnson_76 wrote: » I had no other choice but to use it today, and low and behold there was a checkpoint, I had a story ready to blurt out and the psg documents and was just waved on..
Johnson_76 wrote: » And to answer someones question yes it was the serial at the dashboard which was glued over and noticed by the NCT.
Notch000 wrote: » Break it for parts like a real criminal , or stick it on done deal, as a slaaaab car with no log book
Johnson_76 wrote: » Can someone please explain why the chassis number is changed and has anyone experienced it.
Johnson_76 wrote: » I now have forms I need to take to a psg Garda to get him to check and sign off. This will be difficult as it is not NCT'ed and I may get 3 points for going to get him to fill out the form.
Johnson_76 wrote: » I need to speak to a certain guard who deals with these queries.
Xpro wrote: » We were in a similar situation 3 years ago. Purchased a BMW from UK, all paperwork matching,etc only after car went for a service the diagnostic machine read out a different vin. All went downhill afterwards.. Gardai notified, car taken back to compound, blah blah blah, never heard a word after, nor any money was ever recovered. Insurance was void as the car was cloned, they refused to pay. We chased it for a while but no joy. It was a very good job done, I never seen anything like it, window, chassis plate, stickers, all re-done to a OE standard. The only thing they left out was the ecu vin, and thats how we discovered the theft.
A NEWCASTLE West man charged with the unauthorised taking of a vehicle that he had bought on Done Deal was found not guilty at Kilmallock Court.
Harcrid wrote: » Any chance you can put up a picture of the modified number? Curious to see how it was done and if it should have been easily spotted. You can blank out part of the actual chassis number in the pic if you dont want to share it.
Brian? wrote: » You could bring it to a different NCT centre and hope to get someone less observant.
TallGlass wrote: » I'd inform the Gardaí, (why the NCT center, didn't just seize the car, not saying your a bad person, but your not insured now at this stage.), count your losses and get a new car, this ain't worth the hassle!
Johnson_76 wrote: » . . This will be difficult as it is not NCT'ed and I may get 3 points for going to get him to fill out the form.
Voodoomelon wrote: » Fair play to the NCT centre for spotting it.
Johnson_76 wrote: » Thank you. Do you think the car will be taken from me ? . My mother in law still uses this mechanic in Crumlin, I may let her know wtf just happened. Or maybe not...
Eric Cartman wrote: » I don't know if theres going to be a way to redeem this, the only saving grace is that you could replace that car now with the slightly newer e46 model for under 1000 euro. It's still a kick in the face but it's not mental money to change for a legitimate car. Would be far worse if you were stuck with a car you paid 15+ grand for a few months ago, your father got 10 years out of it so whoever owned it originally has been long compensated by insurance and your dad got a fair time out of the car.