irishbucsfan wrote: » As our saying, that we invented, goes. Irish by birth, Leinster by the grace of god.
awec wrote: » I am opposed to the concept of borders and political carveups of our beautiful planet, so I identy as earthling and earthling alone.
Bazzo wrote: » "Earthling" is such a restrictive term. I identify as a Milky Wayan.
irishbucsfan wrote: » Awec is notoriously intolerant of extra-terrestrials.
mfceiling wrote: » I go to Italy on my holidays and nothing really feels like there is much in common with Ireland, yet we're all European, all lumped in together by what is essentially a giant land mass.
mfceiling wrote: » Yeah but I might as well be American as European. I like burgers and pizza like my Atlantic cousins. It's all a bit forced I think - you're European...am I? Why? I don't really associate being British or Irish (joys of growing up in the troubles!!). I certainly have never thought "wow I'm so pleased to be European. I go to Italy on my holidays and nothing really feels like there is much in common with Ireland, yet we're all European, all lumped in together by what is essentially a giant land mass. Ah I'm waffling away to myself here!! It feels like telling the average irish person "ah sure you may as well be a Brit...you follow the same soccer team, drink the same beer, watch the same tv programmes and read the same papers"..."bollocks I am....I'm European". "You never struck me as having the slightest bit in common with that handsome italian lad there sipping his cappuccino"
irishbucsfan wrote: » Bazzo wrote: » "Earthling" is such a restrictive term. I identify as a Milky Wayan. Awec is notoriously intolerant of extra-terrestrials.
irishbucsfan wrote: » https://twitter.com/auld__stock/status/821083748456398851 Jaysus
mfceiling wrote: » A farmer from Tyrone proposed to his girlfriend by spray-painting 'MARRY ME?' on a cowhttp://www.dailyedge.ie/farmer-proposes-with-cow-3191918-Jan2017/ Yep, that's how we roll in tyrone.
Zzippy wrote: » A lad from home, who happens to be a vet, was going out with a girl from the poshest part of south county Dublin (he's a north county man). He decided to propose but did the traditional thing of asking her father first. The oul' lad, a very wealthy man, thinks he's hilarious and plays the old "well if I'm going to let my daughter marry a farmer I'd better demand a dowry" joke. Yer man proposes, gets the nod, they have a party, everyone heads to bed. Sunday morning, 8am, leafy Blackrock, the pompous father-in-law is awoken by the sound of a cattle trailer unloading 6 Charolais calves onto his manicured lawn...
swiwi_ wrote: » Reckon it's time the Irish govt took gang crime more seriously. It's basically tit for tat vigilantism in Dublin at the moment and the Garda seem out of their depth.
Zzippy wrote: » It's not a voter issue though - most people don't care as long as they're killing each other.
swiwi_ wrote: » I agree. But aside from setting a bad precedent by letting the gangs dish out their own justice, you risk cases of mistaken identity etc, like the innocent man gunned down in Spain.
Buer wrote: » Precisely. This isn't an issue for 95% of the population. It has zero impact on their lives. You'll see far more coverage in the media in relation to Apollo House or water charges these days. It will take something really shocking to get the public focus on the gangland killings. It will need for the killings to spill over into the middle class areas for it to really generate the sort of outrage we haven't seen since the death of Shane Geoghegan. I may sound completely callous and dismissive but, in terms of public perception, gang crime is old hat.
thomond2006 wrote: » Would it be fair to say it took the Veronica Guerin murder to focus minds on the gangland problems of the time?
Buer wrote: » Definitely moved it onto another level but gangland crime was extremely publicised at the time already due to the likes of Guerin and her work. Her murder was one that was very easily used as a focal point for the campaign against the gangland crimes by the authorities to gain additional powers and public support though. She was young, female and popular which made it a complete departure from other murders prior to that such as Martin Cahill. That made it much more easy for the authorities to establish entities like the CAB on the back of her death.
thomond2006 wrote: » Anti-Trump protests...in Dublin?