Past30Now wrote: Good to see Shane Carthy get a run out for DCU. Niall Walsh from Plunketts looked very comfortable. Kinda reminded me of Mark Vaughan in his running style. Reddin at centre back was interesting. I thought Scully played well at half back. Throw in at 2:05. 38 minutes in the first half. 17 minutes for half time. 36 minutes in the second half.
MayoAreMagic wrote: » So you wouldn't do it because the culchies would be giving out? Never seemed to feature much in Dublin's thinking up to now to be fair... Also, do you genuinely see yourself as different to everyone else in the 31 counties, i.e. the whole culchie thing? It is something I never really got..
Stoner wrote: » Like the "genuine" question about how Dublin will be remembered in a few years a so that he could get his bit in about financial advantages again . I was thinking of going into Mayo GAA forum and asking "Genuine question, how do ye think this Mayo team will be remembered ?" I'll let the genuine posters answer and pop back in with an answer that won't sit well there. Not worth it for one though.
gormdubhgorm wrote: » Just go to your post history then you might get it.
MayoAreMagic wrote: » Why cant you give a straight answer? I repeat - if Im so biased or unfair, then you should be able to counter my points pretty easily. So by all means, do that. It is a bit rich trying to pretend you have the moral high ground, when you duck and dive from fair points and observations.
MayoAreMagic wrote: » Do people think that Dublin could maybe enter a second team into the league and championship? It would be interesting to see how that team that togged out yesterday would get on for example. With that many players in the county there must be a lot of guys who could make it but don't get the same chance they might get elsewhere.
Slattsy wrote: » But sure its a Dublin club and clowns like McKenna love to blow things up...
Slattsy wrote: » What do you think of the St Brigids player contract thing that was leaked? I actually didnt think it was all that bad myself, all fairly standard stuff.
Godge wrote: » Except this isn't a fair point or observation. It is trying to wind up a discussion on two Dublin teams again.
Billy Mays wrote: » Apparently he also believes every single person living in Dublin plays gaelic football
Stoner wrote: » Did you think Reddin was good there ? You'd have to wonder about lads like himself and Whelan, they put in a decent showing in this competition and fade out as league gets harder. It must be difficult for them to give it a lash every year. The someone like Fenton comes along and slots straight in, it might add substance to the saying that you either have it or you don't. Maybe something can be said for second keepers they rarely hold the number one spot having played as a number two for so long. The lad yesterday would make you think that Savage won't ever have a decent run if Cluxton called it a day.
MayoAreMagic wrote: » No I don't. But then every single person in any county, doesn't play football. There are more in Dublin but there is more of everything in Dublin. That is simply an increase in scale... To be honest the above is completely undermined by the fact that they actually togged out a team over the weekend and that team was quite good. You cant attempt to argue that the players aren't really there, when we just seen them playing a game... Surely it is an experiment worth exploring at the very least.
Billy Mays wrote: » Why?
Past30Now wrote: My wording was "interesting". He looked very comfortable, but given the opposition and the fact that he was the senior player available, it wasn't really a test for him. JG isn't sitting at home watching the video thinking that he could be the difference, or the second coming of Kevin Moran, but he did a job for the team, and they may have needed some experience if the opposition had been slightly stronger.
Slattsy wrote: What do you think of the St Brigids player contract thing that was leaked? I actually didnt think it was all that bad myself, all fairly standard stuff.
MayoAreMagic wrote: » To develop our national game? The give more people, who already have the ability to do so, a chance to showcase and develop their skills at the top level? To help reinvigorate leinster? Can you give any reasons as to why not?
Past30Now wrote: » ............... I agree completely on how tough it must be for those lads to be serving their apprenticeship for years, and then to see someone like Fenton come out of nowhere, but as a fan I want to see the best, not those who have served their time, in the team. One day he may prove vital to the team, and I hope he continues the slog for the next few years. As for Comerford, he looks good from the little I've seen of him. Nice save on the penalty, generally good quick accurate distribution. Savage seems to have been around forever. Hopefully Cluxton will keep going for another year or two.
Billy Mays wrote: » Yeah, Dublin already have a team.
MayoAreMagic wrote: » Nobody said they didn't. That isn't a reason not to do it either. If every club team took that approach, imagine all the lads who wouldn't have gotten any game-time. Furthermore, plenty guys got up and running in the second team of a club, and went on to be a mainstay in the first team. You attitude is completely backward. In reality, Dublin themselves have stated that county Dublin is more like a province as regards population and required funding etc. With that in mind, a second selection from the area wouldn't be beyond the realm of possibility... In fact it is probably a pretty obvious step for any objective observer.
Jaden wrote: » * Drain on resources on our current senior team.
Jaden wrote: » * * Could very well end up as a nearly was/has been Dublin team. Who'd want to be part of that.
Jaden wrote: » *Conversely, fringe players from other counties might declare for Dublin, thinking they can make this team and be more compeditive.
Jaden wrote: » * A little pointless, unless this team can compete in League and Sam too. Then, Dublin Vs Dublin Provincial final would literally be the end of life as we know it, according to the ABDs.
Jaden wrote: » These aside, there is merit to it, but then there is merit to amalgamating some counties into two and threes to make a competitive setup too. Roscommon/Sligo/Leitrim, or Wexford/Waterford for example. The issue here is that this is as unpalatable to those counties, as multiple Dublin teams are to Dubs.
Jaden wrote: » As a starter for 10 though, having every county work on getting to a point where they can field a senior team in both codes would do far more to develop our national games then anything else suggested.
Billy Mays wrote: » Embarassing
MayoAreMagic wrote: » Nonsense
Billy Mays wrote: » You can't actually be trying to use that club analogy up there as an argument? Lads, I'm gonna head down to Parnell Park after work to join Dublin. Anyone fancy coming along?
Gael85 wrote: » I think Reddin was been quite unlucky not to have played championship. Was going well in league around 2014(I think) and never used for championship that year. Still only 25/26, a perfect half forward with Flynn going to midfield.
Jaden wrote: » Putting a second team into the frame, by definition weakens the prospects of both teams. This is probably the deal-breaker to this ever happening. Mayo are probably revenue generator #2 in the country, and you'd be shot for even suggesting that they should field two senior teams, even though this may help with the perceived lack of depth in the current panel. Kerry could probably field 4 senior teams, and come 1st 2nd, and 4th in Munster. But other than hiking costs to the CB, it's not going to help them one iota. More teams do not for a better competition make, *better* teams are needed. This is the crux of my point.
Jaden wrote: » The framework needed to support and manage a second team won't simply come about because there is a framework for a single team there already, it would have to be built from scratch, and would have to be paid for. Again, it is arguable (but not definitively provable), that taking three current senior county setups, and creating one using the best each has to offer, is both more cost effective, and logistically faster.
Jaden wrote: » We already have Dublin fringe players heading up to Meath to potentially get first team football. If a Dublin B team do well, it's reasonable to conclude the inverse could happen, with a good player for a 4th division county team, jumping ship to play with a team that has prospects.
Jaden wrote: » But for me, the deal breaker is with the idea of a second team, from a sense of identity perspective. We identify with our County Team, it's a tribal thing that is endemic to every county. Diluting that simply because you can, is counter to why most people follow GAA at inter-county to begin with. How many dual Manchester City/United fans do you think there are? (I despise the use of soccer comparisons, but forgive me this one time).