FrancieBrady wrote: » Personally I never understood how Irish men and women could join a foreign army that could be deployed to Irish streets to quell or kill Irish men and women. But they was always a cohort of Irish who had no problem with this. Glad to see the numbers so low currently.
seamus wrote: » Why not? :rolleyes: :rolleyes: :rolleyes: :rolleyes: :rolleyes: You can be loyal to multiple agents at the same time unless two of them are in conflict. Even then you're not betraying a loyalty unless you're directly acting against one of those agents. If the UK and Ireland were at war, but an Irishman was a member of the British Army and serving on the other side of the planet, completely disconnected from any Anglo-Irish conflict, then there's no issue. You'll also note the use of the word "could be" in that paragraph from the US. Even in the ultra-nationalist United States, you don't automatically lose citizenship for fighting in a foreign army against your own country. Like I say, there is no logical nor established argument that a country can assume or demand to have the loyalty of its citizens. In fact, one could argue that the crime of treachery is inherently anti-democratic because it doesn't allow for citizens to defend their nation against a corrupt government.
Chaos Black wrote: » Iirc, they were far more likely to be deployed throughout the dominion of the British Empire, which they at the time, were part of. Regardless of political stance on Irish nationalism or religious creed, it was a job that many Irish worked historically, as it fed the family.
seamus wrote: » Nobody had to swear allegiance to Ireland to get their Irish passport. So I don't see why swearing it to another country should cause you to lose it.
riffmongous wrote: » Swear away to anything that doesn't mean you could be ordered to fight against your state. It's not that unusual a position, it is the law in Austria
Maximus Alexander wrote: » Even had Labour failed to take a single seat in Scotland, he'd still have been PM. I really didn't think it was so controversial to suggest that England exerts control over the UK. Bear in mind this stems from a one poster calling another a 'clown' for having the temerity to casually refer the the British Armed Forces as the "English Army". Seriously like.
Jayop wrote: » I see a few of the usual t**lls are here to try to get bites so I'm outa here.
Del.Monte wrote: » Pot and kettle...
Fratton Fred wrote: » it is factually not true though. The British Armed forced come from all walks of British life. You try telling these lads they are in the English army http://www.army.mod.uk/infantry/regiments/33379.aspx (hint: it might be worth doing this from a great distance)
A Little Pony wrote: » Many Irish joined the Army as they hated the IRA as much as the next man. Good luck to them, everyone has to pay bills and put food on the table. I don't judge any man for doing what he can to provide for his family and himself.
Maximus Alexander wrote: » I'm sure those lads are well aware that their nation is not sovereign and that the lion's share of the power lies in England. The nationality of the individual soldiers is not really relevant to that. Is this actually an offensive thing I'm saying? I genuinely wouldn't have thought so.
FrancieBrady wrote: » A Little Pony wrote: » Many Irish joined the Army as they hated the IRA as much as the next man. Good luck to them, everyone has to pay bills and put food on the table. I don't judge any man for doing what he can to provide for his family and himself. There were not too many IRA killed on Bloody Sunday or in Ballymurphy or in numerous other incidents of only the most recent conflict were children and civilians were killed. And it now is emerging/or worthy of inquiry many of these may not have been an accident, with collusion with an indigenous faction, loyal to British rule seems likely. Benign force alright!
A Little Pony wrote: » Many didn't like them. It seems perfectly reasonable to me to join the Garda or British Army.
Professor Moriarty wrote: » Yes, of course. Because joining the BA is the same as becoming a Garda. Life is simple, isn't it?
Professor Moriarty wrote: » A Little Pony wrote: » Many didn't like them. It seems perfectly reasonable to me to join the Garda or British Army. Yes, of course. Because joining the BA is the same as becoming a Garda. Life is simple, isn't it?
A Little Pony wrote: » Why not? Irish people join both in large enough numbers. Remember the UK are allies with Ireland now.
Professor Moriarty wrote: » A Little Pony wrote: » Why not? Irish people join both in large enough numbers. Remember the UK are allies with Ireland now. Cop yourself on.
Lt Dan wrote: » Like Belfast? Or Derry?
votecounts wrote: » The majority will only advance to a body bag all for a foreign army, do anything else to advance like a course,work placement, etc
A Little Pony wrote: » Many Irish joined the Army
Faith+1 wrote: » They have a policy of sending the Irish in the first wave.... think it's called Operation Human Shield
FrancieBrady wrote: » It would be a great defence for joining the UVF or any other loyalist paramilitary group too.
Junkyard Tom wrote: » WUMs aside, I think there should be consequences for any Irish citizen who joins a foreign army (especially the one that caused so much misery on this island). They should be excluded from working in the civil service for a start.
Junkyard Tom wrote: » Before the troubles a lot of young Catholics from the six counties joined the BA because they couldn't get work in the once sectarian shithole you call home. They were a valuable asset to the PIRA when they got out. WUMs aside, I think there should be consequences for any Irish citizen who joins a foreign army (especially the one that caused so much misery on this island). They should be excluded from working in the civil service for a start.
Falthyron wrote: » Are you serious? Irish men/women who work in a highly-regarded, well-trained, service should be denied the opportunity to bring back their knowledge and help to improve our own service? This is what is wrong with this country. Everything is parochial and we are unwilling to think outside the box. Should we do the same to Irish men/women who go and work for the U.K. government or their civil service? The same system 'that caused so much misery on this island'? Are you aware of the fact that Irish men led European and British armies long before the First World War? At a time when ability, experience, and merit mattered more than the geographical location of their birth. We should be hiring the brightest and best to help this country move forward, not rejecting them for their 'transgressions' based on parocial, myopic, and ignorant criteria.