seligehgit wrote: » What age is he?
Shaungoater wrote: » 2011 was amazing. I wouldn't say we were half as good then as we are now though. Gavin has brought them to another level, the personnel and the way we plan
Nidgeweasel wrote: » There's a lack of serious competition I think which actually may prove detrimental to Dublins legacy you know. Not Dublins fault at all, there's nobody close to them at the minute and it's up for everyone else to close the gap. But because they're so far ahead I actually think it becomes a bit 'meh' for the outsiders. But for example, if there was another team around which could lead to a rivalry of the quality of the Kerry/Tyrone Tyrone/Armagh games of the noughties I think it would bump them up a notch. You can only beat what's in front of you though and Dublin have done that. 4/6 speaks for itself.
Godge wrote: » I disagree about the lack of serious competition. Mayo, Donegal and Kerry are more serious competition than any other "great" team have faced over the decades. The Kerry team of 75-81, commonly regarded as the best ever, only really faced one team that could compete with it - Dublin. That team, as with others from the last century, was significantly helped by the absence of the back-door.
MayoAreMagic wrote: » Genuine question for Dublin fans. In 20 years time, how do you think your current team will be remembered?
gormdubhgorm wrote: » I would say definitely the best Dublin team of all time. Nationwide there will still be question marks by others about the team finances, competition etc. But on the other side of the coin people will remember the way Dublin played leading up to All-Ireland finals (at the moment) For Dublin to go down as a definite great of football they have to give a nearest rival a walloping in an All-Ireland final (with style). That will mean the doubters will have less of a gripe. 2011 - Dublin were not the better team and only won sam with a smash and grab 2013 - Dublin only won by a point when all was said and done 2015 - a hard fought win in poor weather conditions (that some said suited Dublin ) 2016 - Mayo did thier best to hand the Sam to Dublin etc. So I would say for Dublin to go down as a definite great team they need to really perform in an all-Ireland final and win convincingly and with style. If that is not done non-Dubs will always put question marks over this Dublin era.
gormdubhgorm wrote: 2011 - Dublin were not the better team and only won sam with a smash and grab
Stoner wrote: » Don't agree with that as discussed many times. Kerry pulled the game back to level terms and couldn't then and still can't finish on their strongest team. It was the opinion that Kerry were better as they had achieved so much in the game up to that but since then the same players delivered similar "smash and grab" beatings to Kerry many times since. In the future the balanced view will look back on that day as the start of a dominance over this Kerry team, Keven McMacs first of many championship substitute goal scoring appearances. The only difference in 2011 was that we hadn't seen it happen before. As bullish as the above sounds there is some truth in it rehashing that old "Kerry were robbed" lark has served Dublin well. The sooner Kerry clear out players with that similar attitude like Sheehan , lads who don't know they are not good enough and think they were robbed and don't have to improve their game , the sooner they will beat Dublin.
ProudDUB wrote: » This notion that 2011 was a smash and grab job & that we were not fully deserving of our win, is one of the greatest media campaigns by the Kerry Media Mafia. Ever. It makes this summers Lee Keegan malarkey look like amateur hour. They bitched and whinge and moaned, all winter long, so much so that they brain washed the whole country into believing that their brand of propaganda was the God's honest truth, the whole truth and nothing but the truth. Let's examine the facts for a minute: Dublin were leading at half time. Yes, that's right. Dublin, the team in blue and navy did NOT go in trailing at half time. We did NOT spend the previous 35 minutes being put in our place by the Kerry aristocrats. We went toe to toe with them, showed them zero respect and, went in at half time WITH THE LEAD ! I think that mattters in discussion about teams throwing games away. The game was tied at the 40 minute mark. Kerry were one point up at the 50 minute mark. Excuse me for NOT being exactly bowled away, at how Kerry stamped their authority on the game, for the preceeding 50 minutes. Kerry then went on a 13 minute good patch, that saw their lead go up to 4 points. And fair play to them for it. They were the better team, during that part of the game. Minutes 63 to 73: Dublin outscored Kerry 1-4 to 0-2....and the rest is history. When Kev Mc got his goal in the 63rd minute, we were still behind and there were still nearly 10 minutes left to play. A lot can happen in 10 minutes. We pushed on and got more big scores from Kevin Nolan, Berno and Cluxton. Other than a belter of a point from Donaghy, Kerry did sweet fcuk all in the last 10 minutes. Kerry go on a good run during a pivotal point in a game and it's Kerry being Kerry, stamping their authority on the game, putting the game to bed and what have you. We do it & it's because we got lucky, or the ref was rubbish, or whatever. Well hello there Double Standards, won't you have a seat ! In the grand scheme of things, when you remove the whole Kerry v Dublin bull$hit from everything, what it boils down to is two very evenly matched teams. The better team and, the one with the better bench ultimately won. With three more championship wins over Kerry, history has indeed proven that this Dublin team was/is a better team than that Kerry one. It irriates the crap out of me, that this nonsense about the 2011 win being an undeserved, smash and grab job, has not been sufficiently challenged and, has passed in to the history books as fact. Five years on, three more All Ireland wins, three more wins over Kerry and those involved in the 2011 AI win, STILL aren't getting the credit they deserve. That ain't right. My sore feelings don't matter a damm, but it is very unfair on the players and Pat Gilroy in particular imo. If we trailed by substantial amounts during the entire game, or we never had the lead, AT ALL, or we drew level or went ahead for the first time all day, in the dying minutes, then yes, 2011 could be deemed a lucky win. It was was not. We were equals for most of the day and the better team down the stretch. End of story. And no amount of Kerry bellyachin' in the meeja ,or plamais from lads with 9486 All Ireland medals in their back pockets, (especially from the O'Se's,) or one of them dredging it all up again, whenever they have a book to peddle, is going to change my mind on that. Ath Cliath Abu !
MayoAreMagic wrote: » Ah come on proudDub. Be a bit more objective. If dublin had been 4 up on mayo with 10 to go this year. Only for us to get a goal where the ball is clearly fouled to get back into it, then a very soft free to win it, you would be posting a very different version of events im sure... Dublin got the break they needed to break their duck, and fair play to them for that. No need to be trying to re-write history.
BonnieSituation wrote: » Well what is your reading on 2011? --- Also in 2013 we were subjected to the whole "scoreline flattered Dublin" agenda. I think us outscoring Keeerrrreeee in the last 10minutes of the game where they registered de nada might have been something to do with that. We were at least 7 points better that day. The gloss that was attempted to be taken of EOG's goal that because it was scored when it was it didn't really matter. It was still worth 3 points boys.
Bonniedog wrote: » you forgot to mention "finances" ...
MayoAreMagic wrote: » You mean the money im investing in dublin gaa? On the contrary, im expecting at least 3 more all irelands as a return on my investment!
Bonniedog wrote: » Perhaps you should be investing in a mediator instead for your own chaps. I hear Kofi Annan is at a loose end these days
MayoAreMagic wrote: » No need. Parting shots from persons scorned should always be taken with a pinch of salt. And if in the long run the public shaming gets people to partake in some inward reflection then that can end up being quite a positive thing. Besides, the dubs need a newer cryochamber than last years model! Cheque is in the post lads.
MayoAreMagic wrote: » Ah Dublin got the break they needed to break their duck, and fair play to them for that. No need to be trying to re-write history.
Bonniedog wrote: » Don't think we are not grateful for the assistance of the good people of Mayo
gormdubhgorm wrote: » I hate to agree with a Mayo man.... but I agree with you! I am genuinely shocked about the reaction to how I felt at the game in 2011. I thought Kerry had it and switched into coasting mode. I was thinking typical Kerry f**kers, ah sure at least we got to a final this time something to build on. I did not read any "Kerry agenda" after it. I remember being ecstatic and feeling very fortunate. I remember cursing Ger Brennan as well for fouling and Dublin fortunately winning the throw ball late on. I also remember laughing as Cluxton walked slowly for about a minute and a half? Eating up time on Kerry and killing the game before his final kick. Kevin Mc's goal in between all of the above changed the mood and momentum of the game. I don't know why other Dubs are reluctant to admit Kerry were caught out in that game, they thought they had it. Most people in the ground including myself thought the same?!