DredFX wrote: » Surprised this trainwreck hasn't been locked yet.
mzungu wrote: » Poster 1: There are generally accepted rules of dress for certain occasions. Poster 2: So you are saying rape is ok because what somebody wears turns men on? You misogynist!!!
Widdershins wrote: » I know you didn't mention a third party I just wanted to explore the idea of what a slapper is and what the kind of man who would rape, would think about her, as well as what ordinary people think about her.
mzungu wrote: » That was my reading of what was meant and I am open to correction by the poster if I misread it.
midlandsmissus wrote: » Why is it always discussed about women dressing too provocatively. I have never ever heard anyone say about men dressing too provocatively.
Its such a load of controlling bullsh*t.
Dick phelan wrote: » Clothing is never an invitation for sexual assault but don't be complaining over a few glances from lads it's bound to happen if you wear certain clothes.
kunst nugget wrote: » I tried dressing provocatively once by wearing skin tight jeans that accentuated the shape of my penis and ballsac while giving my buns of steel a firm lift.
midlandsmissus wrote: » Well that's a very dangerous thought. So if a girl is on the likes of Geordie shore, where they show people having sex, you wouldn't believe if she was raped? Jesus Christ almighty, this board gets worse.
Mortpourvelo wrote: » There is a VAST difference between a lapdancer or any kind of sex worker - they are doing it for a living and good on them. I stand by my point that you cannot be sexually aggressive with man, in public, and then claim you were raped because you regret it in the cold, sober light of day.
Flimpson wrote: » "I dress like this for myself" is a line that gets used by some women in regard to dressing in revealing outfits. If that were true, as pointed out by Pete above, they'd be doing so when watching TV alone or doing jobs around the house. There is absolutely nothing wrong with enjoying attention from the opposite sex (or anyone) because of how you are presented. There's no shame in admitting you want to make yourself attractive to men - it's normal, natural behaviour. There is an element of dressing for yourself too of course but to say this is the sole reason for choosing such attire is very dishonest.
Widdershins wrote: » One of the worst rapes in the country happened to a woman who had previously worked as a lapdancer. Her job doesn't make it any less horrible and she didn't deserve it any more than the next person. I was not one fraction less horrified when I learned of what happened to her, than I would've been if the victim had been a bank clerk or a nurse. 'Slapper' is a dehumanising, demeaning, belittling term. I know people probably don't think of it that way when they use it but it is.
mzungu wrote: » Good god, there is a hefty amount of strawmannirg going on in this thread. Poster 1: There are generally accepted rules of dress for certain occasions. Poster 2: So you are saying rape is ok because what somebody wears turns men on? You misogynist!!! :rolleyes:
orubiru wrote: » What is craziest about all that is that it's evidence against the idea that we live in a Rape Culture or that Rape Culture is widespread. Our culture has such a revulsion towards rape that a person making ANY statement that can even be twisted to remotely look like it might possibly be apologia for rape is jumped upon and run out of town by the pitchfork brigade Is there such a thing as "Rape Hysteria Culture"?
LLMMLL wrote: » Yeah most people don't come out with "she deserved it" it's usually more subtle. If you go back through the thread on the woman who was assaulted by 3 men near the phoenix park earlier this year, there are a LOT of "what was she doing in that area at that time..." Comments.
The Rape of Lucretia wrote: » I dont think any woman dresses to be raped, how dare you say that. They dress to be provocative and to attract men. But not necessarily to be raped. That is a scandalous contention mzungu.
cookiexx wrote: » I don't think what Louise wore was completely outrageous by any means, but as others stated, wholly inappropriate for the subject matter at hand. It wasn't an episode of Off the Rails or Xpose she was presenting - it was a serious documentary about rape and sexual assault. Any "interest in fashion" that she would claim surely is secondary to the message of the documentary - just like my love for stilettos and leather skirts is secondary to my need to conduct myself as a respectable professional in the work place. When you're talking serious business, you leave that sh1t at home. You save it for the weekend and the nights out. The point of the documentary and the point of feminism in general should be - this isn't about me, it's about women everywhere, and yet with the eye-grabbing faux fur coat and plunging off-the-shoulder top and hooker boots in the courtroom, she made herself the story. And that's great from a business perspective - sure didn't her twitter mentions go crazy and any book she publishes in the next six months will be sure to fly off the shelves. But from a feminism perspective - it's a massive betrayal. No self-respecting feminist with legitimate concern and interest in women's rights would be happy with her as a representative. Because she's so self-serving. Have a look at her twitter timeline - try to find more than three tweets WITHOUT the word I, me, myself, my...in the last two weeks. You'll be there a while. It's not feminism. It's not the female voice that she cares about. It's the Louise Show.
"We see rapists as these monsters, almost inhuman..".
"Most of the perpetrators of rape and sexual and violence are men and YOU are doing this to us. So it is YOUR problem.
"Consent is the presence of a yes, not the absence of a no"
tomofson wrote: » Most of these man hating feminists are very ugly, I think thats where their anger comes from, they don't want men looking at or fancying other women because they know none would ever fancy them. I genuinely do think thats an underline issue
Dick phelan wrote: » I agree the same with men who have an irrational hate for women, imo it comes from a lack of self confidence in how they look, they've not been very successful with the opposite sex and so say things like "women are more trouble then their worth" "i don't need a man" In some cases people do want to remain single but most want some companionship from the opposite sex, it's a lot easier for them to say the problem is men/ women rather then looking as to why the opposite sex finds them unattractive. If you are unable to either have a relationship or friendship with someone from the opposite sex they are not the problem you are.
tomofson wrote: » True I was actually going to say that I noticed it in misogynist men too. I feel sort of sorry for ugly people I can understand why they are so angry.
Dick phelan wrote: » I can never get my head around this so called victim blaming, like if you suggest that it would be best if a girl get's a taxi home after a night out instead of walking home your victim blaming them because "rape shouldn't happen" Well yes rape shouldn't happen but sadly it does as do muggins, burglary ect it's like someone leaving there doors and windows open and then getting robbed, ye the thief is bad but it's still stupid to not lock your doors and windows. When i started going on nights out my parents told me the exact same thing they told my older brother and sister "whatever you do never walk home unless with a big gang" that doesn't mean if i ever did walk home alone and got robbed my parents wouldn't have felt bad for me but a bit more common sense on my part is needed. Bad things happen in the world and everyone should be responsible enough to take precautions to avoid them the criminal will always be in the wrong but it's not victim blaming to advise people to take better care of themselves.
Dick phelan wrote: » Being such a handsome stud myself i'm afraid i can't relate however i think anyone who has an irrational dislike for the opposite gender has to have some serious self confidence issues or have been badly mistreated by their mother/ father ect to cause such dislike for 50% of the population. For me it's always a red flag if the only friends a person has are the same gender as them, it's not healthy to be unable to form relationships with the opposite sex.
tomofson wrote: » Its not actually too difficult to put yourself in someone else's shoes, alls you have to do is ask "how would I feel". Maybe go through a few scenarios like everyone else getting girls/boys and me being the only one left out, even as a child every other child getting called cute/adorable ect and nobody ever passing those sort of compliments to me. I cant relate on a personal level because it never happened to me but I can assume one would be very pissed off at the world if it did. Some people cant form relationships with the opposite sex for other reasons and it doesn't make them a bad person because of it. I would see someone who was abused by their parents or some other adults when they were children as being more victims than anything else.