Call Me Jimmy wrote: » I assume if you're any way known ye get that, why doesn't conor have that problem then? Or kanye? The problem is 1. that you read them, 2. that you take a word of it seriously enough to care
wonderfullife wrote: » haha. I've praised John many times on this thread for what he has achieved and his perseverance in making a go of his gyms when it was easier many times to jack it in and do some engineering stuff. He certainly didn't get into all this for fame or fortune - there was neither to be had when he started in 2000 - and i couldn't see myself keeping at it training in a school-hall in Crumlin part-time or in the equivalent of a porta-cabin in Harolds Cross. As any regular on this page knows, i'm most certainly not a fan of that 'Mental Message' segment on his FB and it's the only real criticism i have of him. Well, that and i think he spreads himself too thin and needs a full time Co-Head Coach. Too many quality fighters at SBG. I'd like to see an official co-Head Coach like Paddy or Roddy. Kav-Rod could be the new Jackson-Wink. Maybe i let my own personal struggle with depression and anxiety skew my opinions on this topic but i do have strong feelings on it. Izabel Laxamana - the 13 year old girl who had her hair cut by her father in punishment. Completely ridiculous punishment to inflict on a teenage girl, in my opinion. Worse, the video was circulated on FB. She got out the car and jumped off a bridge. Online humiliation is becoming one of the most common suicide triggers in the culture we live in; a culture where it is seemingly normal to a) troll people and b) humiliate and online shame people. It's really saddening. Recently on social media i saw someone make a post along the lines of this: "Best advice i can give ppl is to know how to write a competent email to try secure job interviews". After quickly deciding that was roughly 80 characters, i decided to reply: "people". Seemed a harmless enough sarcastic reply but i do regret it. Was fairly pointless. I'm sure they knew how to spell "people". This person had tens of thousands of followers and tweeted back "fcuk yourself". I then had roughly 10 tweets/PMs threatening me, 50 tweets calling me names and others advising me over PM to do the world a favour and jump into a river. I don't think John or people in positions like his contemplate how powerful social media is. They can certainly control their own tweets/posts but they 100% can't control what their followers decide to do. And what i particularly dislike about that segment is he screenshots Private Messages, which by design are meant to be private. There's no malice behind the segment at all but it could lead to serious issues. Anyway it'll be Groundhog Day if i keep writing. We're coming into Movember now. Young men remain the highest risk of suicide in this country and globally. I would encourage everybody here, including myself, to bear that in mind when using social media. This isn't about political correctness or walking on eggshells. I'd just like everyone to count to 10 next time they want to publicly rip someone on FB or Twitter and ask themselves 'what is this achieving for me?'. If the answer is "sh1ts and giggles" then please don't do it. Now, where was i.... oh yeah that autograph!
Dtp1979 wrote: » I Believe this is all tuning to ****
Tinie wrote: » I dont know what to believe anymore.
Outlaw Pete wrote: » Conor body double conspiracy
JohnSBG wrote: » The conspiracy theories give me too much entertainment to squash, keep em coming 😅
dashoonage wrote: » Are you going to 205 wonderfulife? lads look at this for ****ehttp://www.bjpenn.com/mma-news/conor-m Nocgregor/report-conor-mcgregor-considered-bernabeu-fight/ someone said ufc spain....mcgregor met the Ronaldo...therefore...mcgregor is headlining a card in Madrid. wtf lads.
Tazzimus wrote: » Roddy and Paddy are busy enough being head coaches in Charlestown and Tallaght I'd imagine, not a bad idea though. One event I was at, he must have been in and out for 80% of the fights.
wonderfullife wrote: » Well, that and i think he spreads himself too thin and needs a full time Co-Head Coach. Too many quality fighters at SBG. I'd like to see an official co-Head Coach like Paddy or Roddy. Kav-Rod could be the new Jackson-Wink.
harney wrote: » You should do the gym visit before the hospital visit with your camera. If you scold him enough on his Facebook shaming then ask for the autograph, you just might get the endoscopy for free.* :eek: * I'm not sure how easy it'll be getting your camera back
wonderfullife wrote: » You ain't seen nothing yet. 3,000 words on the State of Irish MMA (including predictions of Invicta success for Sinead K):https://boltossmma.wordpress.com/2016/10/20/state-of-irish-mma/ With pictures How's your energy for hand-writing? I'm in the hospital saturday for an endoscopy so i'm thinking about a ninja visit to the gym today/tomorrow to get your signature on my copy of your book :pac:
JohnSBG wrote: » you sure have a lot of energy for typing!
JohnSBG wrote: » I'll work on it. The conspiracy theories give me too much entertainment to squash, keep em coming 😅
hatrickpatrick wrote: » https://www.breakingnews.ie/sport/other/could-conor-mcgregor-be-refused-a-licence-to-fight-in-new-york-for-ufc-205-761003.html This is muddying the waters a bit - on one hand, "an administrative fine without a concurrent suspension is not a mandatory bar to licensure", but on the other hand "New York State Athletic Commission expects its licensees to resolve disciplinary actions". Article suggests that the simplest thing for McGregor is to lodge an appeal, and that way NYSAC can let him go ahead while the appeal is ongoing. It could certainly f*ck him up going forward though if he decides not to pay. That statement makes it sound very much like the different SACs stick together and enforce eachothers' rulings, regardless of the fact that they are separate organisations.
StringerBell wrote: » Conor still hasn't applied for, let alone been granted a license for 205, cutting it a bit fine aren't they? He will have to clear his fine to get the go ahead which is obviously going to be drawn out due to his public, "good luck trying to get the money off me" jibe. Reckon they are trying to put the squeeze on the UFC to cover the fine for him?
A statement from the commission read: “Conor McGregor has not yet completed his application to the New York State Athletic Commission for a licence, nor, to our knowledge, has he agreed to the fine levied by Nevada or exercised an appeal. “It is also our understanding that the time within which Mr McGregor may seek a legal challenge to the Nevada Order has not yet expired. “An administrative fine without a concurrent suspension is not a mandatory bar to licensure. “The New York State Athletic Commission expects its licensees to resolve disciplinary actions and comply with lawful final orders issued by the states in which they have chosen to compete, and will be closely monitoring this matter.”
DrPhilG wrote: » You should go bump Conor's old call-out thread from years ago. Better still, ask himself to login and bump it. Watch boards melt down.