If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Think Farm Safety

• 21-07-2014 12:09PM
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,255 ✭✭✭

Its IFA 'Think Farm Safety Day' today

I Think it would be good to have a Farm Safety thread for things such as safety tips, or risk assessments, or reccomendations from farmers.

IFA say
    Farm safety day is an opportunity for farm families to dedicate time to thinking about health and safety on their farms, and to identify danger areas, and to consider ways to minimise risks.

Its also about thinking farm safety ever other day also.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,255 ✭✭✭GY A1

http://www.ifa.ie/cross-sectors/farm-family/farm-safety/

The IFA is asking all farm families to set time aside on July 21st to review safety on their farm

Download a Risk Assessment Document to complete on July 21st
    By taking time with family members and farm staff to review or complete a risk assessment on July 21st, farmers will not only reduce the risks to themselves, their families, employees and farm visitors but will also ensure they are complying with Health and Safety legislation. Read more about the IFA’s Farm Safety Campaign and find advice and resource to help with your risk assessment below.

More about the IFA’s Think Safety, Farm Safely Campaign
    Through our Think Safety, Farm Safely campaign, the IFA encourages all farmers and their families to maintain the highest safety standards on farms to help reduce the number of injuries and deaths.

Farming remains a labour-intensive and sometimes dangerous occupation. Each year farm fatalities reach double figures and more than 1,000 injuries occur on farms. We work with other agencies and organisations to increase farmers’ awareness of best practice in farm safety and to strengthen their commitment to health and safety by proactively addressing unsafe practices on the farm.

Protecting yourself and your family

The best way to protect you, your family and anyone working or visiting the farm is to know where hazzards occur and to eliminate or reduce the risks by implementing appropriate control measures.

The Safety, Health and Welfare at Work Act 2005 requires that all farmers with 3 employees or more must complete a Safety Statement. Farmers with fewer than 3 employees can comply with the requirement by adhering to the Farm Safety Code of Practice, completing the Farm Safety Risk Assessment and implementing the appropriate control measures.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,855 ✭✭✭I said

Stop taking chances

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,528 ✭✭✭on the river

Take your time.

It's better be safe than sorry.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 476 ✭✭linebacker52

Always tell someone where you are and what your at you might not be able use the phone if something goes wrong.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 31,131 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

Always tell someone where you are and what your at you might not be able use the phone if something goes wrong.
    yup this, i often leave a note on the table or send a text to say where i am, if something did happen they would have an idea where i am, most of the time farmers are on their own so people wouldnt know where to look

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,539 ✭✭✭trixi2011

You know your farm like the back of your hand but visitors wont eliminating any hazards or identifying them in some way is a must. A hazard map at the shed or dairy can be a very worthwhile tool.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,241 ✭✭✭✭Kovu

While we don't have much machinery round the place, livestock here would be the most dangerous, especially for strangers. I know the cows here that will allow either myself or may father down but I have to say I cringed when I heard a relation brought a dog with her down the fields to see the newborn calves outside:eek:

Even I couldn't go down for a week to see one as I know one particular cow has a set on me for whatever reason. Never trust livestock, especially those not used to dogs.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,007 ✭✭✭SIX PACK

Especially if your going to be using Chainsaws working at height or operating the Pto
    The list goes on so many dangers on a farm just Think Safety First.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,209 ✭✭✭KatyMac

whelan2 wrote: »
    yup this, i often leave a note on the table or send a text to say where i am, if something did happen they would have an idea where i am, most of the time farmers are on their own so people wouldnt know where to look

And put a time on it, so that the reader knows if you are gone 10 minutes or 10 hours! Used to do this years ago when it was just myself and my father. Worked well as one day I came home to find the house locked up. There was a note to say he'd gone to the bog for a load of turf about 4 hours previously. Turned out he broke down and was walking home, but it was very handy to know exactly where to find him.

With the sun and heat the last few days, very important for all to drink plenty of water to keep hydrated,

keep hydrated rather than getting dehydrated/thirsty and then drinking water,
    By sipping water all day

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 31,131 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

GY A1 wrote: »
    With the sun and heat the last few days, very important for all to drink plenty of water to keep hydrated,

keep hydrated rather than getting dehydrated/thirsty and then drinking water,
    By sipping water all day
    also sunscreen, hat and sun glasses. Also lads dont be taking your t-shirts off

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,646 ✭✭✭✭Reggie.

whelan2 wrote: »
    also sunscreen, hat and sun glasses. Also lads dont be taking your t-shirts off

But ladies you work away :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4 tinaturnerfan

My advice on completing a Risk Assessment for your Farm is :

1. Take a visitors view of your Farm ( and from a child's perspective) - always include any employee's in the Risk Assessment process - It's the law!

- Trixi2011 states "you know your Farm like the back of your hand" AND may I add to that "Familiarity breeds contempt".

2. Write down all the potential hazards which pose a risk of accident.

3. Grade these in order of 'High Risk, Medium Risk and Low Risk'.

4. Take immediate action on the 'High'.

If you have a good Friend or Family member who wouldn't be familiar with your holding, ask them to assist you with conducting the Risk Assessment, it's amazing what fresh eyes see.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,855 ✭✭✭I said

Jesus very sad article in the journal today about last weeks tragedy.Very brave of the family to speak so soon after it hopefully it will make us all pause for a minute the next time we are doing something in the yard.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,646 ✭✭✭✭Reggie.

I said wrote: »
    Jesus very sad article in the journal today about last weeks tragedy.Very brave of the family to speak so soon after it hopefully it will make us all pause for a minute the next time we are doing something in the yard.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,493 ✭✭✭Greengrass1

very sad again, awful for family and all concerned,
    it shows how dangerous farms are and the importance of farm safety all round and thinking about safety

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 19,254 ✭✭✭✭_Brian

Its tough reading these cases and they seem to be happening so frequently too at the moment..

It really is hard to know where we need to go regarding farm safety and children or even ourselves... Farms are family homes - yet they are dangerous workplaces.

Its hard to see how enforcement or auditing could be worked or even accepted yet can we really accept that nothing can or should be done, these are poor wee children loosing their lives in our workplaces..

From working in safety roles I also know that for each death there are usually 10 life changing accidents that are never reported in the news, loss of digits, limbs, sight or similar - injuries that permanently reduce a person's quality of life, then there are also about 100 injuries that cause someone to be out of work for 2-3 days before they recover, and maybe 1000 that require medical intervention, stitches or bandages.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,493 ✭✭✭Greengrass1

_Brian wrote: »
    Its tough reading these cases and they seem to be happening so frequently too at the moment..

It really is hard to know where we need to go regarding farm safety and children or even ourselves... Farms are family homes - yet they are dangerous workplaces.

Its hard to see how enforcement or auditing could be worked or even accepted yet can we really accept that nothing can or should be done, these are poor wee children loosing their lives in our workplaces..

From working in safety roles I also know that for each death there are usually 10 life changing accidents that are never reported in the news, loss of digits, limbs, sight or similar - injuries that permanently reduce a person's quality of life, then there are also about 100 injuries that cause someone to be out of work for 2-3 days before they recover, and maybe 1000 that require medical intervention, stitches or bandages.
    Think this yr seems to be worse. Always been a certain amount. My parents can recount numerous friends who have died from accidents or lost children. Fathers friend killed by cow after calving. Another neighbour fell into slurry tank another friend list his two daughters after digger bucket came off and fell on them. Always has been happening

I agree its always been a problem, and in our area I could recant the same list as you have - and I'm not that old either..

It's just hard to think that nothing can be done.. its hard to accept that we should just go on with the status quo accepting the deaths of children or adults as being "part of the business of farming"..

Other industries have successfully significantly reduced deaths, construction probably being the best example... But we have the added complication of living on site and families being on farms 24/7.

Personally I think its only a matter of time before an attempt at a solution is forced upon the industry by the government - most likely at farmers expense too - probably a levi on milk and beef to fund it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,539 ✭✭✭trixi2011

I agree its always been a problem, and in our area I could recant the same list as you have - and I'm not that old either..

It's just hard to think that nothing can be done.. its hard to accept that we should just go on with the status quo accepting the deaths of children or adults as being "part of the business of farming"..

Other industries have successfully significantly reduced deaths, construction probably being the best example... But we have the added complication of living on site and families being on farms 24/7.

Personally I think its only a matter of time before an attempt at a solution is forced upon the industry by the government - most likely at farmers expense too - probably a levi on milk and beef to fund it.
    health and safety on irish farms is non existent in my experience and along with that we seem to have a bit of a love for taking stupid risks and short cuts. if you see what other counties have to go through to be compliant with health and safety regulations id say most people be shocked.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 9,047 Mod ✭✭✭✭greysides

It would be better, and probably more reasonable, if it came from within rather than without.

The aim of argument, or of discussion, should not be victory, but progress. Joseph Joubert

The ultimate purpose of debate is not to produce consensus. It's to promote critical thinking.

Adam Grant

greysides wrote: »
    It would be better, and probably more reasonable, if it came from within rather than without.

I agree but doubt there is much appetite from any group to step up to the plate and take it on.. I'd expect it would be greeted with a huge amount of cynicism from farmers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,360 ✭✭✭iwillhtfu

I'll ask any farmers on here could you please keep your kids away from the yards and heavy machinery.

I've no association with farming however there are a number local to me and every other day I see young lads no older than 12 I'd say driving tractors,field masters and dumpers around the yard while other kids look on.

It's terrible the number of accidents that have happened on farms this year.

So as a nobody asking the good folk on the tinterweb. Could you keep the young uns out of harms way as best ye can.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,173 ✭✭✭✭Muckit

My parents can recount numerous friends who have died from accidents or lost children. Fathers friend killed by cow after calving. Another neighbour fell into slurry tank another friend list his two daughters after digger bucket came off and fell on them. Always has been happening

Jaysus run away while you still can!!!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,453 ✭✭✭Zr105

The "home farm" is always going to be a major issue, and something that we all really need to do something about.
    Perhaps its time we took a leaf out of the Australians book. Over there if you have a pool in your back yard it is law that it must be surrounded(or atleast the area around it must be) by a child proof fence with a lockable gate. Its considered a major offence if you dont have a fence and it's well policed to, with regular fly overs to check!
    It should probably become a part of inspections be it in whatever form that a safe play area is provided for children away from the yard.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 157 ✭✭eric prydz

Likewise here,too many people I know have been killed or maimed in farm accidents,i myself have had a few close ones and have took risks that could have ended totally different but thankfully I now know better.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 346 ✭✭exercise is the antidote

Does all this come back to the family farm thing. If we weren't so attached to the family farm would farming be a lot more profitable and safer as farms would get bigger, they would be run more as businesses not a way of life and less likely to have kids around and more likely to have tough regulations in place as regards health and safety at work with regular audits! Just my tuppence worth!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 157 ✭✭eric prydz

Does all this come back to the family farm thing. If we weren't so attached to the family farm would farming be a lot more profitable and safer as farms would get bigger, they would be run more as businesses not a way of life and less likely to have kids around and more likely to have tough regulations in place as regards health and safety at work with regular audits! Just my tuppence worth!

I think the opposite myself,as farms expand famers are busier and have less time to devote to farm safety also I reckon with the poor beef and tillage prices this year spending money on farm safety is less of a priority

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,497 ✭✭✭rangler1

I agree but doubt there is much appetite from any group to step up to the plate and take it on.. I'd expect it would be greeted with a huge amount of cynicism from farmers.

No amount of regulation would've prevented that accident, you can't legislate for being careless