Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

What is wrong with prostitution?

• 22-02-2013 12:36am
    Registered Users Posts: 8,671 ✭✭✭

In many countries it is either illegal to buy and/or sell sex. I don't know the exact laws in Ireland but I think we are moving towards the criminalisation of purchasing sex.

In your opinion should/why should prostitution be illegal for either party? For the discussion you should assume the prostitute is a consenting adult.

I think that there should be nothing preventing a person from buying or selling sex if that is what they want to do. There are cases where other crimes are being committed for example trafficking, but these crimes already have laws in place to deal with them. I can't see any problem with the act of prostitution itself, therefore I think it is illogical to stop prostitution as a method of preventing other crimes.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,968 ✭✭✭✭Praetorian Saighdiuir

No loyalty cards! Get a free tramp on your tenth stamp.

• Registered Users Posts: 754 ✭✭✭repsol

Too expensive!

• Registered Users Posts: 3,200 ✭✭✭imme

it seems to go hand in hand with people trafficking among other things,
    which isn't good.

• Registered Users Posts: 22,764 ✭✭✭✭The Hill Billy

Hey OP, if it works for you - just go for it & to hell with what the rest of us thunk.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,041 ✭✭✭who the fug

When man invents utipioa , I will get back to you

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 329 ✭✭Cereal Number

Id love to go to a prostitiute but im afraid of catching something, if there was more regulations

• Registered Users Posts: 28,403 ✭✭✭✭vicwatson

Who said there was anything wrong with it?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 534 ✭✭✭movingsucks

What kind of regulations?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,207 ✭✭✭jaffacakesyum

It should be legalised so the safety of the women involved can be ensured, and regulated so it brings in some money for the country.

I think anyone who goes to a prostitute and doesn't know for sure the woman is there voluntarily and is actually getting the money, good terms of work etc. needs to take a long hard look at themselves.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 289 ✭✭ashers22

The idea of people being commodities lures people who want to exploit other people into the trade. And while it might appear to be consenting, she may not be actually enjoying it.

• Registered Users Posts: 15,258 ✭✭✭✭Rabies

GarIT wrote: »
    In many countries it is either illegal to buy and/or sell sex. I don't know the exact laws in Ireland but I think we are moving towards the criminalisation of purchasing sex.

In your opinion should/why should prostitution be illegal for either party? For the discussion you should assume the prostitute is a consenting adult.

I think that there should be nothing preventing a person from buying or selling sex if that is what they want to do. There are cases where other crimes are being committed for example trafficking, but these crimes already have laws in place to deal with them. I can't see any problem with the act of prostitution itself, therefore I think it is illogical to stop prostitution as a method of preventing other crimes.
    legalise it, tax it, keep it to the outskirts of towns/cities or in designated areas, regular checks by the police and health inspectors, remove the crime side of it, keep it away from residential areas, schools, religious organisations and old cranky people.

What I'm saying is, like the rest of the world where it is legal.

If people want to do it so much, let it be done legally. Banning service isn't going to stop it, just drives it under ground, makes it more seedy as if it wasn't already, and keeps criminal activity high in that area.

• Registered Users Posts: 14,681 ✭✭✭✭P_1

Don't know actually, it's a service that some people are willing to buy and some people are willing to provide.

Only worry is that it offends some people too.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,232 ✭✭✭ITS_A_BADGER

It funds criminal gangs and most of the women are being forced into the sex trade by gangs to make money for them, some of the women are kidnapped and some are lured over with the prospects of a job and a home and their passport is taking off them and forced to have sex with strangers and told they will be assalted and they will never see their family or homeland again.

so no there is nothing wrong with prostitution

• Registered Users Posts: 4,705 ✭✭✭Johro

I'll have a pound and a half of sex please. No horse, thanks.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,180 ✭✭✭hfallada

Even the countries that have legalised it have had huge issues. Such as a I think parts of Spain has just allowed it and a lot of the women in brothels were found to be illegal aliens or trafficked in the country. You can tax it. But the cost of collection I doubt would cover the cost of collection.

Plus in most countries a lot of the prostitutes are drugs users and can spread STIs such as HIV. Plus these women are often pimped out.

• Registered Users Posts: 310 ✭✭Melanoma

Prostitution is something that causes the person hired to feel degraded. As a result they spend money on things like drugs, alcohol and other mind numbing effects. Heroin was given to 14 year olds in the 80's to get them hooked and into it in the inner city Dublin. It's a business of making money out of misery. Sure it would be nice to imagine you could just pay someone for a shag the same way you buy another service. Then it would be great. But in truth it is not rape but it is close to it. Every year prostitutes are beaten often t within an inch of their lives or to death. The younger the better so often the same outfits that pimp out over 18's will no bother get trafficed women at age 12 and then murder them when they are around 18. Eastern Europeans and Aisian's work 24 hour days 7 days a week in slavery in Soho, London for a rate of 20 pound for ten minutes. Often their family back home are murdered if they escape.

My solution is very straight forward make using a prostitute illegal and pay them 20,000 to ensnare a dope who would use them. Then put them in jail for 20 years. As for pimps I would lash them every day of their short to be lives and throw salt on their wounds.

I wonder how many people would like to be a prostitute?
    You do hear or these high class hookers and rent boys who enjoy the work and are happy to make their living that way and I've no problem at all with that. But, I do wonder would there be enough of them to satisfy the demand?
    Cigarettes are legal but people still buy counterfeit ones, so I think the seedier side will sadly remain legal or not :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,515 ✭✭✭✭admiralofthefleet

remember kids, when hiring a brasser whilst on holiday in Amsterdam, never ask her to sit on your face in a dutch accent

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,489 ✭✭✭Yamanoto

It funds criminal gangs and most of the women are being forced into the sex trade by gangs to make money for them, some of the women are kidnapped and some are lured over with the prospects of a job and a home and their passport is taking off them and forced to have sex with strangers and told they will be assalted and they will never see their family or homeland again.

Hendrik Wagenaar, associate professor at the Department of Public Administration at Leiden University has undertaken extensive research on prostitution in the Netherlands and wider EU.

He'd appear to be at odds with yourself:
    Prostitution policy is also plagued by bad numbers. There are lots of bad numbers based on wild estimates. They say there are millions of victims of trafficking in Europe, but no one has ever counted them.

The whole prostitution debate is driven by emotional numbers, as I tend to call them. We counted the number of illegal prostitutes in Rotterdam, and numbers really were not that high. Each one is one too many, do not get me wrong, but the numbers are not that dramatic. We have about 400 cases of trafficking per year in The Netherlands. A lot of people say that this is just the tip of the iceberg, but no one has ever shown the iceberg, or proven that it exists.

I have heard things like ‘more money is made in trafficking worldwide, than in the drug trade and arms trade combined.’ That is complete baloney. Really. You don’t make that much money in trafficking. But it is that kind of stupidity that drives the discourse.

• Registered Users Posts: 882 ✭✭✭darragh16

There's no craic in it, you pay and get the ride... There's more fun in the hunt!

• Registered Users Posts: 604 ✭✭✭tempura

Just google your question and you will see whats wrong with prostitution. The list is far too long to post here.

No doubt you are a male and have a completely different view of it, " ah sure, its grand , isn't it only a bit of sex, herself is getting a few bob, and im getting me end away, all grand so it is.

The naive, uneducated usual response of some men.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,327 ✭✭✭Madam_X

so no there is nothing wrong with prostitution
    I don't think there's anything wrong with the act of selling/buying sex in and of itself. I wouldn't do it but some perfectly balanced people are able to treat it as a business transaction. And the "high-class" escorts aren't comparable to those operating on the streets. But it's all of the accompanying issues which are the problem in many cases.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,759 ✭✭✭✭dlofnep

I don't see what's so alluring about prostitutes. Granted, they can be gorgeous - But I'd feel like a right twat going to one. The idea of having to give money to a girl to have sex with her is extremely depressing. I'd much prefer to have sex with a girl that likes me, where you both truly enjoy it.

Riding a prostitute might be fun for half an hour, but after it - you'd surely feel like dogshíte. Besides, you'd never know what you'd catch off them. It isn't worth it.

Yamanoto wrote: »
    Hendrik Wagenaar, associate professor at the Department of Public Administration at Leiden University has undertaken extensive research on prostitution in the Netherlands and wider EU.

He'd appear to be at odds with yourself:

That is in the netherlands where prostitution it is legal, cannabis is legal over there too, there would be no money to made in distributing cannabis over there because it widely available so criminal gangs wouldnt bother because there wouldnt be a demand for it or sex because anybody can get it openly

• Registered Users Posts: 4,041 ✭✭✭who the fug

Madam_X wrote: »
    I don't think there's anything wrong with the act of selling/buying sex in and of itself. I wouldn't do it but some perfectly balanced people are able to treat it as a business transaction. And the "high-class" escorts aren't comparable to those operating on the streets. But it's all of the accompanying issues which are the problem (in many cases if not all).

what X said, use to be a free market person till I saw louis theroux TV show about a cat house in vegas

nobody comes out good

Another thing that strikes me is the "regulate it and tax it" idea, that's great in theory but so many everyday ordinary manual jobs are done cash in hand in this country (so many puns!) I can't see prostitution being any different, so the country won't benefit, only from the prostitute buying stuff with the money ... Maybe
    You might get a few honest folk filling out their tax forms ...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 289 ✭✭ashers22

dlofnep wrote: »
    I don't see what's so alluring about prostitutes. Granted, they can be gorgeous - But I'd feel like a right twat going to one. The idea of having to give money to a girl to have sex with her is extremely depressing. I'd much prefer to have sex with a girl that likes me, where you both truly enjoy it.

Riding a prostitute might be fun for half an hour, but after it - you'd surely feel like dogshíte. Besides, you'd never know what you'd catch off them. It isn't worth it.
    just to add a question to that, what if you knew you were having sex with someone who had been sexually abused as a child or had been raised in an environment where their sexuality was used to validate who they were as people? Would you really be happy to continue feeding into someone else's problems? (I know there's plenty of men who wouldn't give a crap but I think it's a bit fked up myself)

Madam_X wrote: »
    I don't think there's anything wrong with the act of selling/buying sex in and of itself. I wouldn't do it but some perfectly balanced people are able to treat it as a business transaction. And the "high-class" escorts aren't comparable to those operating on the streets. But it's all of the accompanying issues which are the problem (in many cases if not all).

I agree that their is nothing wrong with act of selling sex, if both parties agree to it and aren't forced then (if you pardon the pun) bang away, but its when one of the parties are being forced to have sex with a stranger is where the problem is, If they made it law where sex was legal to purchase and was a legimate "business" it would probably do away with the problem

• Registered Users Posts: 500 ✭✭✭Jarrod

It should be legalised so the safety of the women involved can be ensured, and regulated so it brings in some money for the country.

I think anyone who goes to a prostitute and doesn't know for sure the woman is there voluntarily and is actually getting the money, good terms of work etc. needs to take a long hard look at themselves.

I don't know whether or not it should be legalised as I honestly don't know enough about it but your second point is interesting. I'm sure that everybody avails of at least one service, and I'd imagine a lot ore than one, in which they have no idea where their money goes or what terms of work are for the people that provide that service.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,106 ✭✭✭catallus

I think prostitution is illegal partly to protect women.

If a woman is working away in a factory or office or whatever, for what, €400, €500, €600 a week and being a productive economic unit then the prospect of legal prostitution would severely threaten her willingness or choice to continue doing so.

If she saw another woman living beside her earning €600 a day through selling sex then what is her incentive to continue so-called "legitimate" labour?