Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Blackrock College Clash with Leinster Academy

Options
  • 05-12-2011 1:22pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 816 ✭✭✭

Anyone see the piece in the Sunday Times yesterday about the developing clash between Blackrock College and Leinster Rugby concerning the access the school will allow Leinster to their players?

I can't post a link here because of the ST paywall.

It's an interesting one; Blackrock's fears are that players will possibly opt out of non-competitive school games on the instruction of the development officers.

I'm biased here, as I was a Blackrock student, but I'd argue the school does a fine job itself in developing players. The sheer number in the current Leinster squad and academy is testament to this. I'd also submit that the school is best placed to judge what is in the best interest of their students.

Comments

• Registered Users Posts: 5,178 ✭✭✭Quint2010

Anyone see the piece in the Sunday Times yesterday about the developing clash between Blackrock College and Leinster Rugby concerning the access the school will allow Leinster to their players?

It's an interesting one; Blackrock's fears are that players will possibly opt out of non-competitive school games on the instruction of the development officers.

I'm biased here, as I was a Blackrock student, but I'd argue the school does a fine job itself in developing players. The sheer number in the current Leinster squad and academy is testament to this. I'd also submit that the school is best placed to judge what is in the best interest of their students.