Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Will Gerry Adams Lose Seats For SF

• 28-01-2011 1:27am
    Registered Users Posts: 3,200 ✭✭✭

Gerry Adams got a tough time in the media over his economic understanding in a recent RTE radio interview.
    How many seats will Gerry's understanding or lack of understanding of economic matters as some see it.

Adams was thought to have done very badly in the second party 'leaders' debate prior to the last GE.

After that election SF actually ended up with less TD's than they went in to the election with.

So, will Gerry Adams be a reason why SF gain more seats, or a reason why they lose seats or remain as they are.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,614 ✭✭✭ArtSmart

doherty de man, but Gerry will do no harm - he'll do very well in louth.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,271 ✭✭✭✭johngalway

Every time he opens his mouth I smile :) They should have him on TV & Radio way more often :D

• Registered Users Posts: 1,466 ✭✭✭tim_holsters

The protest vote probably doesn't care.

They should though.

I'm talking about the country itself not just Louth.

johngalway wrote: »
    Every time he opens his mouth I smile :) They should have him on TV & Radio way more often :D
    who? de doherty or de Gerry?

• Registered Users Posts: 2,122 ✭✭✭c montgomery

Its sickens me to think that my some of my tax money will be going towards Gerry Adams salary when he becomes a TD.
    What has he got to gain by running in the election other than a nice salary?
    I wont say what i think about him here but ill just say that the methods he has employed over the last number of decades to achieve his goals are nothing short of deplorable.

Its sickens me to think that my some of my tax money will be going towards Gerry Adams salary when he becomes a TD.
    I wont say what i think about him here but ill just say that the methods he has employed over the last number of decades to achieve his goals are nothing short of deplorable.
    well, i'm sure he hopes to get some free office/petrol money stuff as well.

it's not all about salary you know.

• Registered Users Posts: 354 ✭✭puffdragon

Gerry Adams is seen by many to be tainted with the history of violence in Northern Ireland and recently his obvious messy divorce from British politics hasn't changed anyone's notion that there is a deep republican heart beating there.

Still you cant help thinking that the quality of the opposition will help him and with the wave of affection for Pearse Doherty to ride on I can see him doing ok.

He wont lose any seats for SF but a softer candidate maybe would have been better at this time .

• Registered Users Posts: 1,466 ✭✭✭tim_holsters

In fairness you could be talking about any TD or indeed any aspiring TD there, not just GD.

• Registered Users Posts: 354 ✭✭puffdragon

Sure you could say this of many Fianna Fail politicians now too and to be honest it would fit !

• Registered Users Posts: 2,122 ✭✭✭c montgomery

In fairness you could be talking about any TD or indeed any aspiring TD there, not just GD.
    puffdragon wrote: »
    Sure you could say this of many Fianna Fail politicians now too and to be honest it would fit !

No you couldnt!

How many current TD's have used terror and violence to further their agenda?

• Registered Users Posts: 683 ✭✭✭Gingy

Unfortunately for Sinn Féin, people in the Free State don't connect with Gerry, and they won't be a serious force until someone like Pearse Doherty is leader, and the leadership that is associated with the troubles steps aside.

I don't know if he'll lose many seats for Sinn Féin, but I doubt they will break 10.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,200 ✭✭✭imme

Gingy wrote: »
    Unfortunately for Sinn Féin, people in the Free State don't connect with Gerry, and they won't be a serious force until someone like Pearse Doherty is leader, and the leadership that is associated with the troubles steps aside.

I don't know if he'll lose many seats for Sinn Féin, but I doubt they will break 10.
    where's that?

Gerry has lived his life in NI. I don't think he has much of an understanding of life in the republic. I'm sure his supporters and he himself would say different.

Like every good socialist he does of course have a second home, a summer gaff in Donegal. So maybe he does know the price of a pint of milk in the 'Free State'.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 235 ✭✭Irish Slaves for Europe

SF TDs only take the average industrial wage (which is about 30k I think), the rest of the money for being a TD is donated to SF.

• Registered Users Posts: 15,073 ✭✭✭✭Fr Tod Umptious

SF TDs only take the average industrial wage (which is about 30k I think), the rest of the money for being a TD is donated to SF.

Any chance of a source for that info ?

I know the likes of Joe Higgins only takes the average industrial wage but I have not heard it about SF

• Registered Users Posts: 3,095 ✭✭✭ANXIOUS

No you couldnt!

Eh Martin Ferris...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,430 ✭✭✭testicle

imme wrote: »
    where's that?

Here

• Closed Accounts Posts: 235 ✭✭Irish Slaves for Europe

Any chance of a source for that info ?

I know the likes of Joe Higgins only takes the average industrial wage but I have not heard it about SF

http://www.independent.ie/national-news/td-could-get-euro25000-before-poll-2438326.html

"A TD's salary is ?92,672, which means that if Mr Doherty serves until the General Election is held at the end of February or early March, he will receive ?23,168. As a senator, he was previously paid ?65,621 a year.
    However, Sinn Fein says all its TDs only receive the average industrial wage, around ?29,000, and the rest is given to the party.
    If a general election is held at the end of February or the start of March, Mr Doherty will be able to attend the Dail for 26 sitting days.
    Mr Doherty will also be entitled to the public representation allowance, the system for claiming expenses.
    TDs can opt for a vouched or unvouched system, with the unvouched amount set at a minimum of ?15,000 a year, or ?3,750 for three months. Under the vouched system, where a TD must produce receipts, Mr Doherty could claim a maximum of ?25,700 a year, or ?6,425 for three months."

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,271 ✭✭✭✭johngalway

ArtSmart wrote: »
    who? de doherty or de Gerry?

Ooops, my apologies.

I meant Gerry :D

• Registered Users Posts: 198 ✭✭manta356

johngalway wrote: »
    Ooops, my apologies.

I meant Gerry :D

Or the Bailiff of the Baron of Nortstead.;)

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 90,889 Mod ✭✭✭✭Capt'n Midnight

manta356 wrote: »
    Or the Bailiff of the Baron of Nortstead.;)
    Crown Steward and Bailiff of the Manor of Northstead.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,234 ✭✭✭thetonynator

Why would anyone want adams in the dail, when he doesn't even know what the vat rate in this country is. There should be a mandatory exam set up that all td candidates murt take to ensure some level of cop on. . .

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,978 ✭✭✭✭mike65

Anyone listening to his masterclass in banking and finance?

on news at one now gerry is failing badly...comical stuff

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

No you couldnt!

I'm guessing you have one of your own with the allegation insinuated with that post?
    (Since he's been elected for up North, I've yet to see him use said "terror and violence" - there was me thinking he helped bring about peace in his electoral role!)

I'm NOT a voter for SF (in fact if I can run - I will be running against him!) but if enough people elect him, he's entitled as equally to the wages and expenses of a TD as others - some of whom are probably in parties you do support.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,978 ✭✭✭✭mike65

Its probably to his credit that his voice gives his uncertainty away every time.

• Registered Users Posts: 227 ✭✭Paddysnapper

Look on the bright side..If he gets elected in Louth he will already know where the bodies are buried :eek:

• Registered Users Posts: 6,059 ✭✭✭Elmer Blooker

on news at one now gerry is failing badly...comical stuff
    I dont think I've ever heard such an interrogation, sorry interview.
    I cant recall hearing anyone on RTE interviewing a FF politician in such an aggressive manner but then again there has always been a partitionist mentality in RTE.

• Registered Users Posts: 287 ✭✭crebel81

I cant recall hearing anyone on RTE interviewing a FF politician in such an aggressive manner but then again there has always been a partitionist mentality in RTE.

Totally agree. You could extend that belief to the free state in general. Lets not forgot that there are 32 counties on this Island...total ignorance down south to what has happend in the 6 counties...I hear it everyday from my friends to the workplace...is it just a coincidence that most republicans come from the 6 counties or would it have something to do with the fact that it is they who have suffered at the hands of the british forces for too long a time??

• Registered Users Posts: 12,089 ✭✭✭✭P. Breathnach

So asking Adams to give the numbers on his party's economic policy is aggressive? And partitionist, to boot?

It was an appalling performance by Adams.

• Registered Users Posts: 179 ✭✭delta720

crebel81 wrote: »
    Totally agree. You could extend that belief to the free state in general. Lets not forgot that there are 32 counties on this Island...total ignorance down south to what has happend in the 6 counties...I hear it everyday from my friends to the workplace...is it just a coincidence that most republicans come from the 6 counties or would it have something to do with the fact that it is they who have suffered at the hands of the british forces for too long a time??

I think you'll find the majority of people living in the republic are republicans. What your post should read is that most terrorists come from the 6 counties and border counties.

I'm sorry if you feel forgotten up the North but we've enough problems going on down here without unrealistic 32 county talk being brought into it.

I'm all for Northern Ireland staying as it is, otherwise where would I get my cheap drink! :pac: