Boards.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more x
Post Reply  
 
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
06-03-2008, 14:19   #16
Idu
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 1,117
i thought the Iphone was only available with O2 or am I totally ignorant?
Idu is offline  
Advertisement
06-03-2008, 15:11   #17
freddy99
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 28
Iphone not available anywhere in Ireland just yet. Above refers to imported and jailbroken Iphones only.
freddy99 is offline  
06-03-2008, 15:39   #18
Idu
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 1,117
yeah i figured that. whats the 9.99 a month deal everyone is talking about?
Idu is offline  
06-03-2008, 15:45   #19
validis_
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 295
Thanks Freddy, I might move back to 1.1.3, I had set up the files in the correct locations etc. I was wondering if you still have to put in the edge settings: live.vodafone.com
username: dublin
password: dublin
validis_ is offline  
06-03-2008, 15:47   #20
lotas
Registered User
 
lotas's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Dublin
Posts: 703
yea validis, you still need to use those.
lotas is offline  
Advertisement
06-03-2008, 22:03   #21
validis_
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 295
Hey , tried it again with firmware 1.1.3 and firmware 1.1.4, still not working, I will call vodafone to make sure that the 9.99 option is activated on my phone. I cant think of any other reason that its not working.
I do get a data connection if i dont add the proxy.pac , and if i leave the edge settings empty.
validis_ is offline  
07-03-2008, 20:38   #22
validis_
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 295
Just to update , The settings were not working because vodafone hadn't turned part of the service on. The way I set it up was to goto installer and to install the T-Mobile 1.1.3 Tzones, and then I ssh into the phone and changed the tmobile proxy number to the vodafone one @ /private/var/preferences/proxy.pac then I added the edge details above and it worked fine.
So far web, weather and google maps work. Mail (gmail imap) does not work
validis_ is offline  
07-03-2008, 23:36   #23
Reganovski
Registered User
 
Reganovski's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 942
Quote:
Originally Posted by validis_ View Post
Just to update , The settings were not working because vodafone hadn't turned part of the service on. The way I set it up was to goto installer and to install the T-Mobile 1.1.3 Tzones, and then I ssh into the phone and changed the tmobile proxy number to the vodafone one @ /private/var/preferences/proxy.pac then I added the edge details above and it worked fine.
So far web, weather and google maps work. Mail (gmail imap) does not work
I'm with vodafone too but this proxy.pac isnt working for me either. I'm on ready to go.
What do I need to ask vodafone to do for me to get it working?
Reganovski is offline  
10-03-2008, 07:02   #24
beosf
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 1
Hi,

im with Vodafone Germany. I changed the proxy.pac on my iphone and the only sute i can browse to is www.vodafone.de

But the speed is extrem slow....

Did you change the preference.lst too????

cu
beosf
beosf is offline  
Advertisement
16-03-2008, 11:58   #25
marvstrav
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Dublin
Posts: 13
vodafone live iPhone - A little Help please -

Quote:
Originally Posted by lotas View Post
yea validis, you still need to use those.
Quote:
Originally Posted by lotas View Post
mine is working grand. web only at the moment (no IMAP or POP3), and a little slow, but works grand.

The Proxy.PAC file should look like this:

function FindProxyForURL(url, host)
{
if (isInNet(myIpAddress(), "10.0.0.0", "255.0.0.0"))
return "PROXY 10.24.59.100:80";
else
return "DIRECT";
}

you also need to check this page in relation to how to use the proxy.pac (http://www.hackint0sh.org/forum/showthread.php?t=6365).

Good luck!
Hi Lotas and Freddy

I'm trying to access the live.vodafone.com as well and really appreciate your posts on this subject. The proxy.pac file seems pretty straight forward and simple, but the preferences.plist seems more elusive... or maybe I'm just a bit groggy after a Saturday night out.

I'm wondering about the changes / placement of the preferences.plist file and indentations required...

When adding the lines of code to the plist should one indent? if so can you post an exact copy of your indentations on this list? Also... is the code added prior to the last two lines of code <dict> and <plist> lines -

as here
<string>(name of your phone) Phone</string>
</dict>
</dict>
</dict>
</plist>

<dict>
<key>Interface</key>
<dict>
<key>DeviceName</key>
<string>ip1</string>
<key>Hardware</key>
<string>com.apple.CommCenter</string>
<key>Type</key>
<string>com.apple.CommCenter</string>
</dict>
<key>Proxies</key>
<dict>
<key>ProxyAutoConfigEnable</key>
<integer>1</integer>
<key>ProxyAutoConfigURLString</key>
<string>file:///private/var/root/proxy.pac</string>
</dict>
<key>com.apple.CommCenter</key>
<dict>
<key>AllowNetworkAccess</key>
<integer>1</integer>
<key>Available</key>
<integer>1</integer>
<key>Setup</key>
<dict>
<key>apn</key>
<string>live.vodafone.com</string>
<key>password</key>
<string>dublin</string>
<key>username</key>
<string>dublin</string>
</dict>
<key>Version</key>
<integer>1</integer>
</dict>
</dict>
<key>D76A71B6-DC30-4C32-8EBB-0A4E8965980F</key>
<dict>
<key>Interface</key>
<dict>
<key>DeviceName</key>
<string>ip2</string>
<key>Hardware</key>
<string>com.apple.CommCenter</string>
<key>Type</key>
<string>com.apple.CommCenter</string>
</dict>
<key>com.apple.CommCenter</key>
<dict>
<key>AllowNetworkAccess</key>
<integer>0</integer>
<key>Available</key>
<integer>1</integer>
<key>Setup</key>
<dict>
<key>apn</key>
<string></string>
<key>password</key>
<string></string>
<key>username</key>
<string></string>
</dict>
<key>Version</key>
<integer>1</integer>
</dict>
</dict>

Can anyone also be more specific as to where the proxy.pac and preferences.plist files are placed on the Iphone. There seems to be differing opinions and results.

Thanks,

Marv
marvstrav is offline  
16-03-2008, 12:52   #26
freddy99
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 28
Marv,

Here is a copy of the section of the preferences.plist, with changes in red.

dict>
<key>Interface</key>
<dict>
<key>DeviceName</key>
<string>ip1</string>
<key>Hardware</key>
<string>com.apple.CommCenter</string>
<key>Type</key>
<string>com.apple.CommCenter</string>
</dict>
<key>Proxies</key>
<dict>
<key>ProxyAutoConfigEnable</key>
<integer>1</integer>
<key>ProxyAutoConfigURLString</key>
<string>file:///var/mobile/proxy.pac</string>
</dict>

<key>com.apple.CommCenter</key>
<dict>
<key>AllowNetworkAccess</key>
<integer>1</integer>
<key>Available</key>
<integer>1</integer>
<key>Setup</key>
<dict>
<key>apn</key>
<string>gprs.qtel</string>
<key>password</key>
<string>gprs</string>
<key>username</key>
<string>gprs</string>
</dict>
<key>Version</key>
<integer>1</integer>
</dict>
</dict>

My model is 16GB 1.1.3.

I saved the new preferences.plist in both paths:
/private/var/root/Library/Preferences/SystemConfiguration/preferences.plist
and
/private/var/preferences/SystemConfiguration/preferences.plist

and I'm using the /var/mobile directory for proxy.pac

Hope this works for you.

Freddy
freddy99 is offline  
16-03-2008, 14:14   #27
lotas
Registered User
 
lotas's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Dublin
Posts: 703
just make sure its under the ip1 section. i made the mistake of putting it in the wrong place for a while, and it wouldent work...

Good luck!
lotas is offline  
16-03-2008, 20:05   #28
Reganovski
Registered User
 
Reganovski's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 942
<integer>1</integer>
<key>ProxyAutoConfigURLString</key>
<string>file:///var/mobile/proxy.pac</string>


Do you not put private before "var/mobile/proxy.pac"?

And is your ip address your current ip address in the proxy.pac or should it be 10.0.0.0???


Regan
Reganovski is offline  
16-03-2008, 20:43   #29
freddy99
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 28
Do not put "private" before "var/mobile/proxy.pac". This directs the preferences.plist program to look for "proxy.pac" in directory "var/mobile".
Make sure that this is where you save proxy.pac.

if (isInNet(myIpAddress(), "10.0.0.0", "255.0.0.0"))
return "PROXY 10.24.59.100:80";

The ip address is as stated. Do not change anything in proxy.pac.
10.24.59.100 refers to vodafone.live proxy address. ":80" refers to the port used.

It will work if you follow the above instructions...at least for 16GB 1.1.3.

Good luck
freddy99 is offline  
17-03-2008, 18:35   #30
marvstrav
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Dublin
Posts: 13
1.1.4 iPhone not much luck...yet

Quote:
Originally Posted by freddy99 View Post
Marv,

Here is a copy of the section of the preferences.plist, with changes in red.

dict>
<key>Interface</key>
<dict>
<key>DeviceName</key>
<string>ip1</string>
<key>Hardware</key>
<string>com.apple.CommCenter</string>
<key>Type</key>
<string>com.apple.CommCenter</string>
</dict>
<key>Proxies</key>
<dict>
<key>ProxyAutoConfigEnable</key>
<integer>1</integer>
<key>ProxyAutoConfigURLString</key>
<string>file:///var/mobile/proxy.pac</string>
</dict>

<key>com.apple.CommCenter</key>
<dict>
<key>AllowNetworkAccess</key>
<integer>1</integer>
<key>Available</key>
<integer>1</integer>
<key>Setup</key>
<dict>
<key>apn</key>
<string>gprs.qtel</string>
<key>password</key>
<string>gprs</string>
<key>username</key>
<string>gprs</string>
</dict>
<key>Version</key>
<integer>1</integer>
</dict>
</dict>

My model is 16GB 1.1.3.

I saved the new preferences.plist in both paths:
/private/var/root/Library/Preferences/SystemConfiguration/preferences.plist
and
/private/var/preferences/SystemConfiguration/preferences.plist

and I'm using the /var/mobile directory for proxy.pac

Hope this works for you.

Freddy

Hi Freddy & lotas:

Thanks again for the quick responses... I'm still not having any joy.

One thing to note is that I do NOT see a folder path
/private/var/root/Library/Preferences/SystemConfiguration/preferences.plist

on my iPhone I only have
/private/var/root/Library/Preferences/preferences.plist

Should I create a folder for named "SystemConfiguration"? And then put the preferences.plist in that folder on the iPhone?

I am running 1.1.4
iPhone 8GB
Macintosh computer
if that matters at all.

All the best

Marv
marvstrav is offline  
Post Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Remove Text Formatting
Bold
Italic
Underline

Insert Image
Wrap [QUOTE] tags around selected text
 
Decrease Size
Increase Size
Please sign up or log in to join the discussion

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search



Share Tweet