If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

"Learner permit" - changes for provisional bikers

• 25-10-2007 11:36PM
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,680 ✭✭✭

Since this hasnt been covered yet, here's the new laws to affect provisional bikers;

• Learner Motorcyclist to display L plates on a high visibility tabard.
    takes effect as and from 1 December 2007.

All persons with a learner permit (provisional licence) for category A, A1, or M, must when driving such a vehicle display a yellow fluorescent tabard bearing the letter ‘L’ not less than 15 centimetres high in red on a white ground, in clearly visible vertical positions worn over the chest clothing. The ‘L’ plates are to be to the front and rear of the person’s torso. It will be a penal offence not to so display L plates.

• The carrying of a passenger by a motorcyclist with a (provisional licence) learner permit is a penal offence.

This change will apply as and from 30 October 2007.

Q: Can I carry a passenger on a category A motorcycle for which I hold a learner permit/ provisional licence if I have a full driving licence for category A1?
    A: No.

Q: If I pass the motorcycle driving test, can I carry a passenger?
    A: No, you must first exchange your certificate of competency (driving test pass certificate) for a full driving licence to be able to carry a passenger.

• A person who is a first time holder of a learner permit (provisional licence) cannot take a driving test for a six month period after the commencement date of the permit (provisional licence).

And that's about that.
    I've my full coming up next month (fingers crossed),so hopefully I shouldnt be hit too hard.

We already know that pillions on a provo is a no-no, but rarely was action ever taken against anyone. Looks like something will be done now.

Bit unfair about the last point - if someone feels confident enough, why not allow them to take the full test?

And about the L plates? Pass or Fail, not a hope in hell :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,923 ✭✭✭Wossack

waiting 6 months for my test - still no sign

nice 5 days notice though, hate this fcuking country.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166,006 ✭✭✭✭LegacyUser

fcuk that. ill stick to my normal hi-viz vest thanks very much.anyone know how many penalty points its going to be??

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 4,836 Mod ✭✭✭✭Tree

a million!
    tbh, the only thing ive ever seen bikes stopped for near me is nonstandard number plates. noone gets stopped for licenses.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,346 ✭✭✭KTRIC

You all think cagers give you sh!t now, wearing this vest thing is going to be like wearing a bullseye target.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,676 ✭✭✭Blitzkrieger

Rofl - I think it's be sexay!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 39,094 ✭✭✭✭Hotblack Desiato

KTRIC wrote: »
    You all think cagers give you sh!t now, wearing this vest thing is going to be like wearing a bullseye target.

MAG Ireland told them the vest idea was daft, but weren't listened to... :rolleyes: L-plates on the bikes themselves would have been fine.

Where are these yokes going to be available? Will they be free? Will existing provisional licence holders have to wear them or just new riders? Do the Department of Transport even know?

I'm partial to your abracadabra,

I'm raptured by the joy of it all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,173 ✭✭✭✭seamus

KTRIC wrote: »
    Yeah, jesus christ, that's going to be no fun.

I've immediately spotted a grey area with the L plate legislation. It requires that a highly visible L be worn on the front and back of the torso. What if the driver is wearing a backpack? They're wearing the L plate on the torso, but it's no longer highly visible :)

I can see a rash of bikers wearing backpacks now just to cover the plate on their back...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,676 ✭✭✭Blitzkrieger

I can't imagine ever seeing one biker wearing it that isn't doing their test. TBH, I'd feel safer without a helmet than I'd feel wearing one of those.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,906 ✭✭✭Steffano2002

I'm glad I applied for my Full License before even getting my Provisional! Hateful new legislation this IMO...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,690 ✭✭✭Whyner

I applied for my test yesterday and I haven't even been up on my bike yet. So if I get my test within the next 6 months I can still do it?

Does the "wait 6 months" only come into affect on October 30th?

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 24,146 Mod ✭✭✭✭robinph

Tellox wrote: »
    All persons with a learner permit (provisional licence) for category A, A1, or M, must when driving such a vehicle display a yellow fluorescent tabard bearing the letter ‘L’ not less than 15 centimetres high in red on a white ground, in clearly visible vertical positions worn over the chest clothing. The ‘L’ plates are to be to the front and rear of the person’s torso. It will be a penal offence not to so display L plates.
    LOL

That is never going to happen.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 39,094 ✭✭✭✭Hotblack Desiato

What is a penal offence? I thought Daniel O'Connell got the Penal Laws abolished? :D

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 16,676 CMod ✭✭✭✭faceman

robinph wrote: »
    LOL

That is never going to happen.

they do something similar in the UK and NI and if its policed properly learners wont have much choice. Im all for it tbh. Its the spacers on their mopeds id be laughin at! Some of them cant even tie their helmuts properly (and give the rest of us a bad name)

faceman wrote: »
    they do something similar in the UK and NI and if its policed properly learners wont have much choice.

??? Unless things have changed very recently, they only require an L-plate on the bike (same size as car one) in the UK.

Also, if they get away with making learners wear hi-vis clothing, it's only a matter of time before they try to make everyone wear it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,968 ✭✭✭✭mikemac

Wossack wrote: »
    waiting 6 months for my test - still no sign

nice 5 days notice though, hate this fcuking country.

I got mine in 5 weeks-Raheny, North Dublin
    Most get their test date within two months :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,923 ✭✭✭Wossack

micmclo wrote: »
    I got mine in 5 weeks-Raheny, North Dublin
    Most get their test date within two months :)

Thats great to hear.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 24,146 Mod ✭✭✭✭robinph

ninja900 wrote: »
    ??? Unless things have changed very recently, they only require an L-plate on the bike (same size as car one) in the UK.
    Yeah, it's just to have the same 'L' on the back of the bike not the person.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,250 ✭✭✭Keith186

Wossack wrote: »
    Thats great to hear.

I didn't get mine within two months.

Anyone know where the hell you can get a high vis vest with an L sticker?

I might try some of the hen parties in temple bar tonight!:)

This whole crap should really be called off, they should give one year's notice on major changes.

I can't drive my car from Tuesday, waiiting ages for a test and now I have to look like a dick driving on my bike!

Two fingers to RSA the shower of incompetent arseholes:(

Phew, now I am so glad I passed my test last August. I wonder will anybody actually bother wearing those gammy looking high vis vest thingies?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 629 ✭✭✭dogpile

Tree wrote: »
    a million!
    tbh, the only thing ive ever seen bikes stopped for near me is nonstandard number plates. noone gets stopped for licenses.

They'll go to town on it the first few weeks IMO...I really don't see the point in it! are they saying you'll be safer with a big L on display?? or are they just trying to turn the fashion conscious off biking :D

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 21,256 Mod ✭✭✭✭Dub13

I'm glad I applied for my Full License before even getting my Provisional! Hateful new legislation this IMO...

LOL....I was not aware you could do that.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 16,676 CMod ✭✭✭✭faceman

Dub13 wrote: »
    LOL....I was not aware you could do that.

you must hold a valid provisional license or permit to sit the test tho.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,484 ✭✭✭highlydebased

Goddamnit. I was planning on getting my first car soon, but with the new rules I said "I'll get a bike instead! No driver accompanyment rule or L Plates"

It wouldnt be surpised if they insist you carry a full-licensed driver as a pillion passenger next :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,176 ✭✭✭Idleater

Phew, now I am so glad I passed my test last August. I wonder will anybody actually bother wearing those gammy looking high vis vest thingies?
    lol! I wear mine all the time, regardless, and I still have muppets drive out saying "SMIDSY".

Tellox, good luck with the test.
    Get a normal and a pretest lesson and you will be sorted.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,463 ✭✭✭gipi

I reckon there are a few reasons why bikers don't like the idea of wearing the L-plate hi-vis tabard....

It will clash with the replica racing leathers!
    It won't fit over the backpack unless you buy "small bear" size tabard!
    C*ge drivers (as an earlier poster said) have a new target to aim for.

....and the most important (in my opinion)....

It allows the Garda to easily identify those learner bikers who are riding non-legal bikes (over the bhp or p/w ratio)!!

I'm a learner biker myself so will watch the roads closely on 1st December (and start a company producing hi-vis L-plate tabards right now!!) :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,250 ✭✭✭Keith186

It wouldnt be surpised if they insist you carry a full-licensed driver as a pillion passenger next :(

If you read the new rules of the road there's a bit at the start about must and must not being highlighted to show extra importance and the law etc.

The part about bikes states

"You must not carry a pillion passenger"

If you were reading it quickly and were pretty stupid you could actually think you have to carry a passenger!

There's a good few examples where they've messed up with must and must not. Looks like they didn't even proof read it like they didn't bother even notifying the Gardai that the new rules were coming into place until same day it was announced in public. Idiots...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 404 ✭✭Bernard Hopkins

neigh a hope in hell ,.......

watch towards the end of financial quarter's,. there will be a heap of fines being slung about.

major lack of street cred wearing :torn%20L%20plate.gif

• Closed Accounts Posts: 404 ✭✭Bernard Hopkins

"The Minister understands that the Gardaí will approach each case, using discretion and common sense as opposed to automatic prosecution."

LOL ........ LOL ,..... obviously never had to deal with the ego's of the power weilding traffic police !!

If you dont get on your hands and knees , you can be sure the gardai will rinse you out if you get pulled over !!
    the slightest bit of dis-respect and you'll have the gardai scrutineering any possible angle to prosecute you. !!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 534 ✭✭✭DonkeyRhubarb

Im getting my first bike soon. Have my theory test mid november.

I have a full car licence and was relieved to have it when I heard about the new prov rules. Now I cant believe its for bikes as well!!!

I didnt like having an 'L' on my car, but I put up with it. Theres no way in HELL an I WEARING flippin plates on my person!

I was more or less ready to take my car test after 2 weeks of driving. Why the hell should I have to wait 6 months??? Even if I have to wait 6 months, they cant provide tests for about a year!!!

How dare they introduce laws like this without taking care of backlog problems first. Its a mess if you ask me. A publicity scam that will completly backfire!!!

<end rant>:confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 3,777 ✭✭✭Kat1170

It doesn't matter how bright a Hi-Vis vest is, you could paint your whole bike bright pink. If the Ba$tard$ don't look:eek::eek: they STILL won't see you.:rolleyes::mad: