Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Attention Boardsters: Help/Feedback Wanted

• 13-12-2005 10:09pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 1,897 ✭✭✭

Over the last few months Ive been thinking of a way to raise money for cancer charities through poker. My father died from cancer 10 years ago and I have done a few things in those years to raise money such as triathlons (dont f'in laugh!).

At the SSF game I put my idea to a few of you and got a positive reponse so I have decided to put it out on Boards to get this thing out there and start doing instead of just talking about it.

The idea is simple and will not overburden people for donations. Heres how it works........

Players make a pledge to donate a small part of all their offline tournament winnings.

1. The pledge is 1% of all tournaments for 12 months.
    2. The players sign a pledge form and announce they are pledgers at any tournament they play. Their name is added to the web page as pledgers with a unique member number
    3. Most large tournament directors and cardrooms will be signed up as 'partners'. Fintan/Donal and Luke Ivory have already agreed.
    4. If the player makes the money and gives the TD his 'donation'
    5. The TD gives the player a receipt (with all details) for the amount
    6. The receipt books are checked on a regular basis by 'The Charities' directors and the TD hands over the amount raised from the last time it was collected
    7. The players donation/name is put on web page (must have sign waiver on pledge form to use details otherwise 'annonymous')
    8. The TD/Tournament Company/Cardroom is credited with amount pledged through them
    9. Running total raised is displayed on webpage

Also....

1. 'The Charities' registered as a charity and directors made up of upstanding poker players.
    2. Legal and financial matters handled by lawyers/accountants that are poker players that work pro bono
    3. All expenses covered by 'sponsor' such as Irish online poker rooms etc. Therefore 100% of pledged winnings goes to Cancer charities. Thus, good PR for them.
    4. All TD/Tournament Companies/cardrooms get links on web page for their efforts
    5. Companies donate 'free stuff' such as tournament tickets to be raffled amongst pledgers (incentives to gain pledgers)

If this is worked out then I feel at least €50,000 per annum could easily be raised. This out weighs the €1/€2k that 'might' be raised from a single event. The idea is to get players to pledge for life and then there is a constant stream of revenue for the charities from poker players in Ireland.

I hope this makes sense. It is logistically possible in an small country like Ireland where most of the non-backroom tournaments are well known and well run by people with good reputations.

Just think....If you win €10k would you donate €100 to a charity?....I think you would. An example might be the Pokerevents game in the Red Cow on a Monday that on average has about a €10k prizepool. If all the winners were pledgers then that tournament alone would donate about €5k a year.

So, what do you think?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,179 ✭✭✭White Knight

Long time reader but no better time to post.

I think you have put a lot of time and effort in to this idea and would need spend a lot more time organising it. I think its a very good plan, which would work when fully set up.

Everyone's life is touched by cancer and while we are all enjoying ourselves on the tables many people are suffering. I have had a few MTT wins in Fitz and SE and would gladly donate to this in future.

Charities often miss out because they are not actively searching for donations and cancer charities in particular focus a lot of time in the care and respite for patients when unfortunately there is nothing that can be done. These last precious times with loved ones deserve to be spent in every comfort.

1% is nothing to any1 that posts here if it helps any1 of those people. If you need any help with anything id be glad to offer my services.

Good luck with it

• Registered Users Posts: 8,881 ✭✭✭bohsman

Sign me up

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,362 ✭✭✭Hitman Actual

Dave, in a year of reading this forum, this is undoubtedly the best thread that's been started. I'd like to get involved as well, although I wont be playing much until the new year.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,047 ✭✭✭Culchie

Teddy Bears should donate 2%

• Registered Users Posts: 3,140 ✭✭✭ocallagh

Dave stick my name down - Excellent idea!

Is there any way you can include online MTTs? I'd gladly donate 1% of them too.

ps: if you ned any help in terms of IT/Web Development/Hosting let me know.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,220 ✭✭✭Davey Devil

I'm on board, super idea.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 21,252 Mod ✭✭✭✭Dub13

good stuff Dave...why don't you try and arrange a live tournament to kick it off...?

• Registered Users Posts: 16,288 ✭✭✭✭ntlbell

Count me in Dave!

• Registered Users Posts: 2,882 ✭✭✭Doc Farrell

instant answer: no

no, just kidding.

instant answer: if you're organising it then yes.

a lot of money 'could' be raised but this means a BIG committent of time on your part Dave.

but yes, i'm more than happy to sign up. however 1% of my winnings at the moment wouldnt buy a bag of pork scratchings!

gl man, talk later. d.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,382 ✭✭✭Juan Pablo

Count me in Dragon

• Registered Users Posts: 5,083 ✭✭✭RoundTower

I'll do it.

• Subscribers Posts: 32,846 ✭✭✭✭5starpool

Who am I to miss out on this with the in-crowd of Irish Poker, so count me in too, although I might lately only be able to contribute the other half for Des's pork scratchings the amount I am bubbling lately.

Great idea Dave, I'm sure we will hear more when you have more organised. Good luck with it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,506 ✭✭✭Shortstack

Count me in and count GJP in for assistance in collecting money.

Teddy is in for 100%.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,679 ✭✭✭Daithio

Put me down for that too Dave.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,013 ✭✭✭kincsem

Dave,

You can have my 1% of 0 = 0. If you get enough people you could be getting 1% of many of the big tourneys. Good luck.

Any videos or DVD of those triathlons? Proof needed. :)

Another almost no cost way to help is to download Stanford University's Folding@home distributed computing software to your PC and use your PCs idle time to help them investigate protein folding problems that may cause Parkinson's, Alzheimer's, cancers.

Your PC uses their software to do calculations on a data package they send, your PC uploads the result, gets a new package, and starts again. Over 200,000 PC worldwide help in this. This is equivalent to dozens of supercomputers working together. I have my PC and broadband on 24 hours a day. You can use other software on your PC as the folding software runs in the background.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,832 ✭✭✭careca

Dave,

Fair play to you for putting your time and effort into this. Great idea which I'd like to be a part off.

Just one thing regarding the smaller buyin tournaments (which i would play). It would be embarrassing to have to give 1% of some of the returns I have had. Do you play on a sliding scale type of donation ? Like if your winnings are less than 500 you give x% ?

• Registered Users Posts: 5,293 ✭✭✭ionapaul

I'm in.

I see careca's point about giving 1% of very little - many tournaments give the buy-in back to the first (last?) one or two ITM, if the buy-in is €50 that is only €0.50 for the charity!

• Registered Users Posts: 5,047 ✭✭✭Culchie

careca wrote:
    Dave,

Fair play to you for putting your time and effort into this. Great idea which I'd like to be a part off.

Just one thing regarding the smaller buyin tournaments (which i would play). It would be embarrassing to have to give 1% of some of the returns I have had. Do you play on a sliding scale type of donation ? Like if your winnings are less than 500 you give x% ?

The beauty of 1% is that people will always give it automatically, not miss it, and feel good.... there is great long term comittment which is critical.....and as you progress up (hopefully) through the ranks, the charity would benefit accordingly.

It's also very easy for Dave to administer a 'blanket 1%' ... and keep any time management/system development costs to a minimum.

I'm sure Dave will have a 'ad hoc' facility where people can go to the website and donate however much they wish.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 189 ✭✭The Gecko

Count me in

• Registered Users Posts: 8,881 ✭✭✭bohsman

careca wrote:
    Dave,

Im sure when people are getting their prizemoney they can say to round it up to x or give a few quid extra

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,715 ✭✭✭Nalced_irl

Thats a great idea. While offline tourney wins (or placing in money) are fairly scarce with me, you can definately sign me up also.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,053 ✭✭✭jimbling

excellent stuff.... very happy to see this. Credit to Dave for working on this and pushing the idea. And credit to the response it is getting.

I'm in - but you won't get enough from my winnings to buy the bag to hold the pork scratchings :o

• Registered Users Posts: 2,375 ✭✭✭padser

Iv no problem sticking myself down for it but 1% or indeed 100% of my live winning over the space of a year could easily add up to.......... €0.00. ;)

Who knows, maybe ill have a lucky streak. Ill sign up anyway

• Registered Users Posts: 9,600 ✭✭✭roryc

Sign me up biatch

• Business & Finance Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 32,387 Mod ✭✭✭✭DeVore

More then happy to sign up Dave.

Additionally Antesup will donate either space on our site for you to manage or space on our server for you to create your own site. Which ever you wish.

This is a great way to do a leader board too, as amount donated will (more or less) correlate to winnings :)

DeV.

ps: Obviously I mean 1% of Gross so that means , um, you owe me about 50 bucks already :)

• Registered Users Posts: 2,882 ✭✭✭Doc Farrell

I don't agree with the leaderboard idea Dev. It's not a race and should be a private contribution. In fact I would opt out if i thought my contributions with my name beside them were publically available.
    Just a can under the desk collected each month by the charity will do.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators, Regional Abroad Moderators Posts: 2,639 Mod ✭✭✭✭TrueDub

Yeah, sign me up - although I'm in the "1% of feck all" gang too!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,897 ✭✭✭BigDragon

kincsem wrote:
    Dave,

Any videos or DVD of those triathlons? Proof needed. :)

I'll post responses to queries when I get in from work later.....

FTA Sean..........

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,013 ✭✭✭kincsem

BigDragon wrote:
    I'll post responses to queries when I get in from work later.....

FTA Sean..........

Looking a bit unwell there, Dave. Hope you managed to cover the last five yards to collect the medal. :)

Oh, allright then I'll still give 1%. I'm throwing shapes about playing in the €1000 at Citywest (ffs why?) so I'm confident you'll get 1% of a six figure sum. ;) Some of the guys in work do late shifts and weekends so I've already promised them an email of my bad beat story.

I think one of the posters suggested a tourney to kick it off. When it starts to take shape organise one and amazingly people will turn up.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,897 ✭✭✭BigDragon

Thanks for all the responses. Heres a few points from all the queries...

1. This is not going to be up and running for a while. Its a big job and Im moving house this week and theres a lot of poker to be played over the next couple of weeks.

2. I dont know how to take online winnings but will def have a paypal/neteller donation route so people can pledge online winnings and donate themselves

3. Thanks ocallagh, devore and others for offer of services as well as pledges. I will be in touch...count on it.

4. There will be a live tournie to kick it off.

5. All donations from teddy bears accepted

6. Green Joker Poker is on board. TY Mike.

7. In regard to the smaller tournaments - it all adds up. I want a lot of small donations every week instaed of a few big ones every now and then. I am counting on the embarrassment factor kicking in there ;)

8. Antesup.com are legends

9. Any pledger can remain anonymous but their member 'number' can be on the board (if there is one, not sure yet about it)

Something that is not going to happen is that nobody involved will be expected to put money into running this (esp me). I am now going to start looking for sponsors for this and will be looking for a main sponsor and a load of secondary sponsors.
    This will cover the following...

Admin fees: accounting and legal
    Printing: pledge forms and reciept books
    Marketing: website, posters etc
    and other general crap

I can think of a few to approach and would like some suggestions for possible sponsors....

Add to....

paddypower
    boylepoker
    allin
    specialdays
    the casinos

Thanks again for your support and readind

Dave