Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Hospital Food

• Closed Accounts Posts: 487 ✭✭Cungi

Madam_X wrote: »
    Ah nobody's expecting haute cuisine, but seeing as it's a hospital, food that's relatively healthy wouldn't be a huge demand.

True but as the OP says these are the opinons of people who call radio shows (and moan), i'd take it with a pinch of salt.

• Registered Users Posts: 17 Pressurised Container

Two weeks in the Coombe food was rank dinner lady(would that be the correct term??) told me I wouldnt ever be able to deliver a baby if I didnt eat me grub (I managed a walk to the spar every day for sambo and fruit) St James for three weeks when I was handing back full plates a lovely little lady came down and asked me what I would like and the next thing a bowl of home made veg soup arrived down with a petite filous for desert.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,654 ✭✭✭✭For Forks Sake

Cungi wrote: »
    True but as the OP says these are the opinons of people who call radio shows (and moan), i'd take it with a pinch of salt.

No salt for you, you're in hospital.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,203 ✭✭✭sfwcork

Cungi wrote: »
    It's a hospital. Not the Hilton. What the fuck did you expect?

Ah here, i said that i wasnt expecting the hilton

Is there an echo in here

• Closed Accounts Posts: 487 ✭✭Cungi

Is there an echo in here

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 54 ✭✭wishmaster200

go back to the 70s and 80s people were reared on bread and jam and they turned out pretty ok im just saying why is she bitching about hospital food what dose she expect a michelan star menu

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,076 ✭✭✭✭Czarcasm

sfwcork wrote: »
    I was listening to Ray Darcy earlier and he was giving listeners opinion on hospital FoodI remember being in the Mercy for 1 week 3 years and the food was uneatableThe toast in the morning was freezing and it was like a game to guess what the dinner wasI know its hardly the hilton but it was brutalhas it changed any bit? surely they should be pushing healthier foodI heard one listener say they still give kids nuggets and chips

sfw don't mind the grammar nazis, your OP is reminiscent of the stream of consciousness style of writing employed by James Joyce in one of English literatures greatest novels; reminds me of this guy-

Leopold Bloom
    Mr Leopold Bloom ate with relish the inner organs of beasts and fowls. He liked thick giblet soup, nutty gizzards, a stuffed roast heart, liverslices fried with crustcrumbs, fried hencods' roes. Most of all he liked grilled mutton kidneys which gave to his palate a fine tang of faintly scented urine.

Proper hospital food! :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,117 ✭✭✭Rasheed

Madam_X wrote: »
    Ah nobody's expecting haute cuisine, but seeing as it's a hospital, food that's relatively healthy wouldn't be a huge demand.
    Any hospital I ever worked in, the menu was devised with the catering staff and the dietetic staff.

I suppose it's a hard thing to balance, getting the food healthy and tasty enough that people would eat it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,641 ✭✭✭Teyla Emmagan

You lot should just go to the Blackrock Clinic like I do.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,465 ✭✭✭✭cantdecide

I was on the flat of my back for nearly a fortnight in a hospital in Kathmandu last year and even though it was a western standard hospital that my insurance company sent me to with aircon and tv and the rest, they don't serve food. At all. Full stop. If my mate wasn't at hand to fetch and carry food from outside, I'd have starved.

Any other time I've had hospital food I've found it quite good actually.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 203 ✭✭iCosmopolis

xzanti wrote: »
    Post Natal tea and toast ftw..

Nothing will ever taste as good as the tea and toast handed to you after you've had a baby.. Victory food.

So I'd heard...didn't work out for me, Rotunda starved me for 20 hours before my ECSection, and then for two days after as I'd decided to have a panic attack and sit up just after they'd cut me open (adrenaline vs epidural!) and popped my bowels out :eek:
    In the two weeks I was in before that, being a vegetarian I got some weird combos aside from tea, toast and soggy cornflakes-veg with the meat taken off. Half a Ham Sandwich(?) Rice with a grey sauce and mange tout. Nearly a whole, dry chocolate cake:confused:...that's if they got time to get the food to you or hadn't shooed it away to take bloods etc. just ended up going downstairs to the hospital cafe and bring up to bed, food in there was Ok

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 955 ✭✭✭Scruffles

No salt for you, you're in hospital.
    :D last october mum had a heart attack and when she was recovering in hospital after having her arteries yanked about getting stents putt in she almost had a panic attack when she realised there was no salt on her sandwich,she asked the nurse where the salt was,dad nudged her and she said she meant pepper.

the last time had been inpatient was a few years ago in the neuro specialist hope hospital in salford, england.
    the food was awesome and localy produced.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,995 ✭✭✭Sofiztikated

It's been quite a while since I ate in a hospital.

Went into A&E in October (I think), woke up with a massive headache, to the point that I couldn't open my eyes. Took a bit of a bang to the head the night before, so I got herself to bring me in. Was in A&E at 6am. Meds, observation, yadda yadda, at about 12ish, they asked me did I fancy some toast.

Was allowed to go at about 3 ish. Never did get that toast. But hey, it's A&E, not the breakfast club.

Spent a lot of time in Crumlin as a wean. Food varied from ick to deadly. I remember Saturdays we got chips and something. There never was any vinegar for the chips, but you could poison yourself with salt.

I also remember being on one of those feeding bags, you know where they stick a tube in your neck, down into your stomach, you get a bag of nutrients and mush. They say you can't taste it, well bull ****ing honkey, that **** is rank!

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 10,440 Mod ✭✭✭✭xzanti

So I'd heard...didn't work out for me, Rotunda starved me for 20 hours before my ECSection, and then for two days after as I'd decided to have a panic attack and sit up just after they'd cut me open (adrenaline vs epidural!) and popped my bowels out :eek:

Oh sweet Jesus.

I had an emergency C Section, so I had to wait til the following morning for my tea and toast.. was still nice though :)

Poor you :eek:

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 35,504 Mod ✭✭✭✭pickarooney

Ah now, how are they supposed to keep your toast warm until it reaches your bed? Seriously ffs.

Warm it in the bed-pan?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,954 ✭✭✭✭Larianne

Thai hospital food, yummy!

Not. :cool:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,925 ✭✭✭✭anncoates

My son was in Tallaght hospital recently and the food was grand - the parent staying over with him got meals as well.

That said, it's a hospital not a restaurant. As long as it's edible and nutritious, who gives a fuck really.

• Site Banned Posts: 4,925 ✭✭✭Agueroooo

I remember visiting a CCU (Cardiac Unit) in a Dublin Hospital about 5yrs ago and the patients were sitting up having a good oul Irish fry.:eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,073 ✭✭✭gobnaitolunacy

I got a sausage and chip 'kiddie menu' type meal. I don't need fancy, just healthy will do!

(no wonder there's so many lard-arse kids around...)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,043 ✭✭✭MurdyWurdy

Post Natal tea and toast ftw..

Nothing will ever taste as good as the tea and toast handed to you after you've had a baby.. Victory food.

I've heard loads of people say this and it concerns me. I don't like tea! What will I celebrate with?!

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 10,440 Mod ✭✭✭✭xzanti

MurdyWurdy wrote: »
    I've heard loads of people say this and it concerns me. I don't like tea! What will I celebrate with?!

You won't care, it'll taste like nectar of the Gods no matter what you have :D

Congratulations btw? :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,043 ✭✭✭MurdyWurdy

You won't care, it'll taste like nectar of the Gods no matter what you have :D

Congratulations btw? :)
    Thank you :) I'm sure the toast will taste extra nice to make up for the lack of tea!