Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Iranian security beat up protester

• Registered Users Posts: 4,661 ✭✭✭Fuhrer

Kick him down the stairs? Hardly. The camera showed no such actions. The possibility of a kick being thrown at him at one stage, but your comment throws up images of someone being chased down a stairs with kicks raining from all directions.

Tell me something. Do you believe he would have left on his own, if the security guards had just ejected him from the room, and then returned inside?

No, my comment doesnt "throw up images" of that.

you're hyperbolic attempts at misdirection do, I said he was kicked down the stairs, he was kicked as he was going down the stairs, is that hard to follow? Or are too many images being thrown into your head?

And yet again, another pointless comment. If he left or not on his own is irrelvant, Iranian security guards dont have the authorrity to go around beating people up here.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,934 ✭✭✭20Cent

Open for anyone to attend and obey the rules of the forum. Oh, I guess there's a rule which says anyone can break into heckling the speaker, and causing a disturbance. If he hadn't caused a problem, he wouldn't have been ejected.

Which neither of us know for certain.

Simply put. Yes

I'd say he expected to be ejected, its the beating by the thugs I have a problem with. It was a valid protest imho.

The clip from the News shows the guy who kicked the car being grabbed by Gardai so it is known for certain. The Iranian thugs haven't heard of anything happening to them.

Fortunatly some people stand up to thugs and dictators and don't stand outside politely waving a banner (in Iran he's probably end up in a torture chamber for that).

Fuhrer wrote: »
    Theres a rule that says that once someone breaks the rule Security thugs have carte blanche to do what they want?

Where are you getting "carte blanche to do what they want"? Did they take out battons and smack him over the head? Did they spray him with mace? Did they tazer him?

The manhandled him out.
    prinz wrote:
    The security guards should have left the people with authority eject and escort the man from the premises.

The Gardai should have been quicker to respond, and to take control. They didn't. What does that suggest to you?

Where are you getting "carte blanche to do what they want"? Did they take out battons and smack him over the head? Did they spray him with mace? Did they tazer him?

The manhandled him out.

What is this utter rubbish?

Tell me Klaz, how far should they be allowed to go?

Obviously you're against Tazers and BAttons.

So how about just their bare hands? Should they be allowe to have one hold him down while three others kick him? Should one hold him while the rest start punching him?

Maybe they can just choke him till he passes out.

No, my comment doesnt "throw up images" of that.

Strange, it does for me.
    And yet again, another pointless comment. If he left or not on his own is irrelvant, Iranian security guards dont have the authorrity to go around beating people up here.

You have an amazing ability to exaggerate or maybe you're not thinking about the phrases you're using?
    20Cent wrote:
    I'd say he expected to be ejected, its the beating by the thugs I have a problem with. It was a valid protest imho.

There are two video clips on this thread. Perhaps you have another clip which shows where he was beat up?
    Fortunatly some people stand up to thugs and dictators and don't stand outside politely waving a banner (in Iran he's probably end up in a torture chamber for that).

And thus they give all protesters a bad name. I believe in the right to protest. However I believe in the use of protesting in an intelligent manner. I have no problem with them protesting or even saying anything during the presentation. My problem is that they resisted being removed, and now people here are blowing it all out of proportion using terms like " Beating by Thugs", or "getting kicked down the stairs". I'd have no issue if they said their bit, and then left peacefully without any struggle.

The video's show them going manhandled out. There are no punches or kicked shown. The one point of a kick could easily be the security guard walking down the stairs after the protester on the last part of the stairs.

Sensationalism.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,700 ✭✭✭tricky D

Jeez, it's all very, very mild stuff. The security isn't great (the manhandling is poor) and they've likely got diplomatic immunity anyway. I remember bumping into Clinton a few years ago and the security he had (no Gardaí anywhere near) was armed, vested and enforcing no go zones in a public place. This stuff is so tame in comparison. Both protesters ended up walking out when they wouldn't be so lucky in most other places. Don't see any beatings, a kick in the arse yes, but beatings, no way.

Strange, it does for me.

You have an amazing ability to exaggerate or maybe you're not thinking about the phrases you're using?

The video's show them going manhandled out. There are no punches or kicked shown. The one point of a kick could easily be the security guard walking down the stairs after the protester on the last part of the stairs.

Sensationalism.

And you have an amazing ability to lie.

This isnt a case of one opinion or another, I mean theres actual video footage of whats happening.

It is quite baffling.

"You cant be sure he kicked him! He could have just been stepping really far out and lost his balance and connected with his back!"

What is this utter rubbish?

Why? Because I disagree with you?
    Tell me Klaz, how far should they be allowed to go?

Personally, I think they did nothing wrong in how they handled the situation.
    Obviously you're against Tazers and BAttons.

So how about just their bare hands? Should they be allowe to have one hold him down while three others kick him? Should one hold him while the rest start punching him?

Maybe they can just choke him till he passes out.

You're missing the point. Beyond manhandling him out of the place, they didn't seek to do any damage to him. neither of the video's show the type of aggression which you seem to believe them to have done.

Show me a video which does show them punching and kicking the guy, and I'll jump on the bandwagon and cry abuse.

And you have an amazing ability to lie.

Be careful. Leave that crap out and deal with the substance of the post.
    This isnt a case of one opinion or another, I mean theres actual video footage of whats happening.

It is quite baffling.

Yes, quite. I can't understand where the beating and kicking has come from. Quite baffling. :rolleyes:
    "You cant be sure he kicked him! He could have just been stepping really far out and lost his balance and connected with his back!"

I didn't even suggest that. I said that the video doesn't show any clear kicks. It could easily be the view of his legs as he's going down the stairs. I re-watched the clip 4 times, and at the end I couldn't be sure it was a kick. I surely didn't see it connect with the protester.

Why? Because I disagree with you?

Personally, I think they did nothing wrong in how they handled the situation.

You're missing the point. Beyond manhandling him out of the place, they didn't seek to do any damage to him. neither of the video's show the type of aggression which you seem to believe them to have done.

Show me a video which does show them punching and kicking the guy, and I'll jump on the bandwagon and cry abuse.

What the video does show is them kicking him while hes going down the stairs, it shows them kicking him. Why do you keep on insisting it doesnt?

And wow, another dodge there. Answer honestly, how far should they be allowed to go?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,183 ✭✭✭dvpower

I have seen bouncers do far worse in public.

I'd hold foreign diplomatic security personnel to a higher standard.
    How they behave reflects on their country, and they are after all guests in another country. They should show as much restraint as they possibly can.

What the video does show is them kicking him while hes going down the stairs, it shows them kicking him. Why do you keep on insisting it doesnt?

And wow, another dodge there. Answer honestly, how far should they be allowed to go?

No dodge. I've said they acted properly in manhandling him out.

And I'm getting tired of repeating myself.

No dodge. I've said they acted properly in manhandling him out.

And I'm getting tired of repeating myself.

Its not a dodge?

Than are you incapable of actual reading?

I asked you how far they should be allowed to go, you havent answer once. Where you're getting this "Repeating myself" rubbish from is beyond me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,183 ✭✭✭dvpower

Are we all looking at the same video? There may have been a kick at about 27s, but the camera doesn't catch it clearly (I think I'd have to watch it frame by frame). If I was on a jury in this case, I don't think I'd accept it.

• Registered Users Posts: 14,598 ✭✭✭✭prinz

Any idea if its not the role of the security of any visiting minister when he's in attendance?

Protecting the diplomatic staff is in their remit. Policing the public is not. Local law enforcement takes priority.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,888 ✭✭✭Coillte_Bhoy

p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,207 ✭✭✭meditraitor

"Iranian security beats up protester" haha...... thats not a beating.

You cant beat a good exaggeration..........

• Registered Users Posts: 2,346 ✭✭✭BluePlanet

prinz wrote: »
    The security guards should have left the people with authority eject and escort the man from the premises.
    In fairness there were guards there and they didn't seem too bothered.
    The security guys had a good handle on the situation.

BluePlanet wrote: »
    In fairness there were guards there and they didn't seem too bothered.
    The security guys had a good handle on the situation.

Guards probably didn't expect them to kick the guy down the stairs.

20Cent wrote: »

The Guards were probably expecting the Iranian security to wip out a nuclear warhead and bounce it of the protestors head;)

• Registered Users Posts: 2,346 ✭✭✭BluePlanet

We don't know what happened on the stairs.
    I saw the security guy's leg out, but i don't think they "kicked him down the stairs".
    Probably just helped him along the way as he tumbled down.

Did the guards press charges against the security?
    Did the guy causing the disturbance press charges?

Nope.

Storm in a tea cup tbh.

The Guards were probably expecting the Iranian security to wip out a nuclear warhead and bounce it of the protestors head;)

Hilarious.

Remeber after the Iranian elections we saw all the protests and how everyone thought it was great that they were fighting for democracy. Then they were shot dead in the street, kidnapped, jailed and tortured. Now those thugs are kicking people around in Dublin.
    Disgusting.
    Fair play to the protestor.

Hilarious.

Remeber after the Iranian elections we saw all the protests and how everyone thought it was great that they were fighting for democracy. Then they were shot dead in the street, kidnapped, jailed and tortured. Now those thugs are kicking people around in Dublin.
    Disgusting.
    Fair play to the protestor.

Got ye...... :Dulterior motives bore me so I will leave you to play out the innocent outraged citizen,

Got ye...... :D alterior motives bore me so I will leave you to play out the innocent outraged citizen,

Whats an alterior motive?
    I'm sure you can find a more interesting thread for yourself.

Its not a dodge?

Than are you incapable of actual reading?

I asked you how far they should be allowed to go, you havent answer once. Where you're getting this "Repeating myself" rubbish from is beyond me.

I said I thought the manner in which they manhandled the protesters was adequate. Do I really need to break that down into baby English? :rolleyes:

dvpower wrote: »
    Are we all looking at the same video? There may have been a kick at about 27s, but the camera doesn't catch it clearly (I think I'd have to watch it frame by frame). If I was on a jury in this case, I don't think I'd accept it.

Exactly my point. Cheers