Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Vanilla are planning an update to the site on April 24th (next Wednesday). It is a major PHP8 update which is expected to boost performance across the site. The site will be down from 7pm and it is expected to take about an hour to complete. We appreciate your patience during the update.

Lads. W.T.F?

• 17-11-2014 12:38am
    Registered Users Posts: 6,186 ✭✭✭

https://www.facebook.com/video.php?v=1500639346866275

just after watching this video. and i am sickened to my stomach. what is going on with the gards when one of their members can do this.

i hope this is okay to post.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,095 ✭✭✭solomafioso

A bit excessive all right. Three guards to tackle / throw one girl. I mean both parties are at fault here. She shouldn't have been standing near the car and the guards didn't need to use that much force. No one "wins".

Quite convenient that the hi-vis gets out of the situation (obviously to move down the crowd), but I think there was an ulterior motive :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 35,514 ✭✭✭✭efb

Move please.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,571 ✭✭✭newmug

Cant understand why the Guards aren't with the protesters at all these events. Their wages were cut too, while the govt. lord it around the place.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,186 ✭✭✭emo72

the 2 gards had her under control. the "guy?" in hi viz runs from the other side of the car and slam dunks her into the bollard. he didn't have to get involved. he may have even slowed up the car from getting away. the girl herself looked quite young, and i dont know, she might have been a little idealistic, but jesus people have been killed by actions like that. there was no need for that at all. im shocked at that level of violence. heartbroken even. that could be anyones daughter, maybe overlly excited by the protest but she needs to be pulled aside and protected. not a massive assault.

efb wrote: »
    Move please.

why?

They asked her to move please

oh, well then. it was all a little misunderstanding. obviously they were only escorting her skull to the side of the pavement.

and just to let you know, i never had a problem with gards, many friends are gards, im bewildered that someone could do this. also when someone does this to a gard i utterly condemn it too. this violence belongs no-where.

But, I suppose the next question would be "does that excuse the level of force used to shove her to the path?"

They could have easily body blocked her instead of actually flinging her to one side. I'm just going on what I see here...and as I stated above, she is partly at fault as she wouldn't move.

Wtf is a gard?

• Registered Users Posts: 9,605 ✭✭✭gctest50

Could have been worse for her

http://m.liveleak.com/view?i=380_1373390915

Wtf is a gard?

shortened version of garda.gardai with some fadas thrown in perhaps? definitely not a guard. thats a different thing. pedantic all the same. any input from yourself on the video?

emo72 wrote: »
    shortened version of garda.gardai with some fadas thrown in perhaps? definitely not a guard. thats a different thing. pedantic all the same. any input from yourself on the video?

Don't feed the troll.

Why did she runout in front of the Taoiseach's car?

Also she is not seen hitting the bollard

• Registered Users Posts: 251 ✭✭crosswords

This is simply shocking behaviour. Things are really getting out of hand. Someone is really going to get hurt. Total over reaction by AGS and very unprofessional.

She could have been killed.

I wonder will the ombudsman investigate this one?

crosswords wrote: »
    This is simply shocking behaviour. Things are really getting out of hand. Someone is really going to get hurt. Total over reaction by AGS and very unprofessional.

She could have been killed.

Jumping in front of a car like that she could have

Walking close to the car like that she could have

Fixed your post. :pac:

Fix your own first dear.

"You want me to say 'what', like I don't get it?" :pac:

idealistic youth. 2 "gardai" had her under control. did she hit the bollard? . the thudding sound meant she hit something. concrete or bollard. take your pick. not pleasant either way.

No Gardai had to manhandle me today

thanks for the input. enlightening.

No, Gardaí had to manhandle me today!

Punctuation might help, eh? :pac:

I hear you pay double for that sort of action.

Punctuation might help, eh? :pac:

I hear you pay double for that sort of action.

You would know.

• Registered Users Posts: 22,231 ✭✭✭✭endacl

crosswords wrote: »

Yes, if she makes a complaint. No, if she doesn't.

Obviously.

You would know.

Oooh matron!

bean_wink-300x226.jpg

Oooh matron!

bean_wink-300x226.jpg

That's a carry on line, not Mr Bean.

• Registered Users Posts: 40,291 ✭✭✭✭Gatling

So did anyone happen to see fiona ( as named in the various fb posts ) actually hit the bollard or read the title and decided she was thrown into the bollard without actually seeing it ,

Gatling wrote: »
    So did anyone happen to see fiona ( as named in the various fb posts ) actually hit the bollard or read the title and decided she was thrown into the bollard without actually seeing it ,

Don't be bothered with things like facts! We just want hysteria

Gatling wrote: »

I think we're sticking to a "magic bollard" theory at the moment. Or maybe it was the bollard in the grassy knoll. Completely overlooking the fact that the guard shoved her...to get her off the road.

• Registered Users Posts: 40,291 ✭✭✭✭Gatling

Don't be bothered with things like facts! We just want hysteria

Like 110% of the short garda brutality videos posted that showed absolute the opposite