Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

The Olympics (Weightlifting)

• 23-07-2012 2:03pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,234 ✭✭✭

Start list by country, final entry list

No Yong, only Zoe Smith in the wimmins for britain (perdue must be broken).A bunch of Bulgarians lifting for Azerbaijan, the two Andreis are in for Belarus. A pair of Lus for china in the 77s (records will probably get ruined). No Dolega for Poland. Russian men look strong. Womens 75 and supers should be interesting too.

I am excite.

Edit: Dolega, and Lu Yong are showing up in the PDF. The chinese will probably adjust opening totals a few days out. 94s are going to be awesome, 8 of them have over 400 down as openers.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,348 ✭✭✭the drifter

bring it on....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,256 ✭✭✭Molly

Is it going to be televised on any channels?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,234 ✭✭✭Edwardius

Probably Eurosport but just the "A" groups. I might just get a months subscription because I'm not arsed with dodgy streams. CCTV5 in china usually televise weightlifting live but I've always found it a pain in the ass trying to get it working.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,603 ✭✭✭Scuba Ste

Chinese openers are gas. I don't what they're playing at.

Pendlay forum is saying it's not on Eurosport. Anyone else know anything?

I seen a pic of Stoitsov as an 85. Big man.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,468 ✭✭✭DylanJM

I'd say bbc will have coverage.

The 105's are gonna be epic, really hope Klokov does it this year.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,704 ✭✭✭squod

I'll watch the stream. Or more likely tape it off the computer and watch it later.

http://londonolympicslivestream.com/olympic-weightlifting-live-stream/

Scuba Ste wrote: »

Pendlay forum is saying it's not on Eurosport. Anyone else know anything?

http://tv.eurosport.co.uk/

Some of it seems to be live:
    Womens 48kg, live on the 28th at 16.00
    Womens 53kg, 29th live at 16.00
    Womens 58kg, 30th, live at 16.00,
    mens 62, not live, 30th at 22.45
    Womens 63, 31st, live 16.00
    mens 69, 1st aug at midnight
    womens 69, live 1st aug at 16.00,
    mens 77 1 aug 23.30
    Womens 75, 3rd aug, live 16.00
    Mens 85, 3rd aug 23.30
    Womens supers 5th aug live 16.15

They don't seem to like men a whole lot

• Closed Accounts Posts: 488 ✭✭Paudee

List of things I don't give a shit about..
    Dead Ed wrote: »
    http://tv.eurosport.co.uk/

Some of it seems to be live:
    Womens 48kg, live on the 28th at 16.00
    Womens 53kg, 29th live at 16.00
    Womens 58kg, 30th, live at 16.00,
    mens 62, not live, 30th at 22.45
    Womens 63, 31st, live 16.00
    mens 69, 1st aug at midnight
    womens 69, live 1st aug at 16.00,
    mens 77 1 aug 23.30
    Womens 75, 3rd aug, live 16.00
    Mens 85, 3rd aug 23.30
    Womens supers 5th aug live 16.15

They don't seem to like men a whole lot

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,642 ✭✭✭Thud

NBC are streaming pretty much every event so it will prob be re-streamed

• Registered Users Posts: 556 ✭✭✭Gipo3

if you have satellite BBC have 24 channels you can tune in

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,806 ✭✭✭token

token wrote: »

Damnit, I was kinda hoping he was gonna piss on the Russians' party. Don't think he's on the best of terms with the national coach.

Pulaku popped. A few more too.

Dang. I was curious to see how he got on.

another Final startlist
    Lu's opener is up to 380. ha!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,256 ✭✭✭Molly

Marzena Karpińska (48kg) is out because of the presence of high levels of the synthetic steroid, at a sample from the June 2nd Polish Championships :(

Molly wrote: »
    Marzena Karpińska (48kg) is out because of the presence of high levels of the synthetic steroid, at a sample from the June 2nd Polish Championships :(

That's ok, I still love her.

Was it Edadrol?

haven't seen it posted yet but looks like this site is showing everything.
    the main page with the streams
    http://www.eurovisionsports.tv/london2012/
    and the program guide
    http://www.eurovisionsports.tv/london2012/epg/index.html
    where you can sort by discipline.

just watching the opening ceremony and its spot on.
    so heres hoping.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,863 ✭✭✭kevpants

If you've sky you can see all the weightlifting via the red button on BBC. Every. Single. Bit.

ed1604 wrote: »
    haven't seen it posted yet but looks like this site is showing everything.
    the main page with the streams
    http://www.eurovisionsports.tv/london2012/
    and the program guide
    http://www.eurovisionsports.tv/london2012/epg/index.html
    where you can sort by discipline.

just watching the opening ceremony and its spot on.
    so heres hoping.

Thanks for the links. The quality on this stream is great and you can rewind everything as well. No commentary though.

DylanJM wrote: »
    Thanks for the links. The quality on this stream is great and you can rewind everything as well. No commentary though.

Just be glad you don't have to listen to Randy Strossen sh1ting on.

Can you tune in the extra bbc channels on UPC, does anyone know?

Good coverage going on over at http://www.allthingsgym.com/ with results and stats and all that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,818 ✭✭✭Inspector Coptoor

Some standard in the women's 48kg today with Wang hitting 91/114 for a 205 total.

Emo

53kg B group women on at the moment. <3 Julia Rohde

token wrote: »
    53kg B group women on at the moment. <3 Julia Rohde

Link?

Link?

I'm watching BBC hit the red button and you can watch whatever sport you want.

I have UPC.
    Red button doesn't seem to work.

I have UPC.
    Red button doesn't seem to work.

I'm going to do this next week when in work.

http://www.allthingsgym.com/2012/07/hidemyass-vpn-to-watch-bbc-olympic-live-streams/

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 376 ✭✭cambridge

jesus ****ing disgusted by the pulaku test. obviously was too good to be true

cambridge wrote: »
    jesus ****ing disgusted by the pulaku test. obviously was too good to be true

Not exactly a surprise.

Was to me, but I am extremely naive. I have been following his training videos on youtube for months, just thought he was some simple shepards son from albania who was born with a unique gift. he took a plane to the usa and trained like a professional and made impossible gains. he seemed like such a talented, modest, hard working, unassuming, nice man. He was like a smaller chubbier version of Clarence.

I think i'm done with wl now. it's full of cheats and charlatans and PED abusers.

I bet we'll find out soon that Zoe smith's arse is injected full of silicone.

Was to me, but I am extremely naive. I have been following his training videos on youtube for months, just thought he was some simple shepards son from albania who was born with a unique gift. he took a plane to the usa and trained like a professional and made impossible gains. he seemed like such a talented, modest, hard working, unassuming, nice man. He was like a smaller chubbier version of Clarence.

I think i'm done with wl now. it's full of cheats and charlatans and PED abusers.

Welcome to the real world!

All the adjectives you have used to describe him still aplly imo. He just happened to get the timing wrong.
    I bet we'll find out soon that Zoe smith's arse is injected full of silicone

You take that back.

Paudee wrote: »

High def Julia and high def Zoe might be worth it. Hmm.

I think i'm done with wl the olympics now. it's full of cheats and charlatans and PED abusers.

Where there's a substance that can give a clear advantage, the gold medalist for that sport will be on it. With some exceptions of course.

I actually think we're clean country though olympics wise. I really think the Irish are too honest/naive or whatever to actually compete in this thing in a lot of sports.

Michelle Smith proved that when we take the same crap the others take we're up there.

Had to raise a serious eyebrow when Sun Yang appeared to sprout a propeller in yesterdays 400m freestyle. Same with Ye the 16 year old. The Chinese have obviously come up with some kind of "Last 100m Juice".

It's awesome.

kevpants wrote: »
    f "Last 100m Juice".

Americans took the 200-300m juice

squod wrote: »
    Americans took the 200-300m juice

The 16 year old Chinese girl did a faster last 50 than Lochte did. Couldn't be more suspicious if she had a beard.

These 53s be missing. Much emo on display.

The 16 year old Chinese girl did a faster last 50 than Lochte did. Couldn't be more suspicious if she had a beard.

American juice < Chinese juice?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,265 ✭✭✭COH

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,541 ✭✭✭Davei141

New world record with the C&G in the 53kg's by chinshanslo 131kkg

and new Olympic Record for the total.
    226kg. mental

Feckin little ball of dynamite!

Davei141 wrote: »
    New world record with the C&G in the 53kg's by chinshanslo 131kkg

Her cleans looked ridiculously easy. She cleaned 135kg like it was nothing, looked like she could clean way more.

It is extremely naive to believe the above isn't true just because he was popped. He'd still be very good if he was clean, only he'd be 'US' good instead of 'rest of the world' good. No amount of drugs can make you that fast.

He's been training with Abadjiev for years btw, he didn't just decide to do it for the craic.

Anyone see the olympic record set in the 56 'B' session? Someone equalled Mutlu's C&J WR 168.

i've seen the videos of him training when he was a small child. i think it's repulsive that he was attempting to hide the fact he has been drug taking for a long time. Contaminated protein powder excuse?

why don't they just hold a no questions asked world champion ship with a bit of prize money so we can find out how good you can get while off your rocker on nandrolone and creatine and then have a seperate comp for the americans and the non-users to see who is best at keeping within the rules

you reminded me of the first half of this clip

why don't they just hold a no questions asked world champion ship with a bit of prize money so we can find out how good you can get while off your rocker on nandrolone

They do, it's called the A session.

Also, creatine?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,192 ✭✭✭Dathai

I don't really care about the gymnastics, but only copped it that Shawn Johnson isn't competing this year. Well disappointed, her twitter is the best thing ever.