Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Vehicle Gallery - Discussion Thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,466 ✭✭✭Sgt. Bilko 09

POGAN wrote: »
    Rumour of traffic getting them end of this year

Also couple 12 marked focus that need replacing or redeployment soon

With a bit of hope ford get it and reissue mondeos, the i30 looks nice but are an awful patrol car, especially with the tetra set up in them, very limited space to put the wiring through to all speakers.
    At least in the mondeo all four speakers were wired properly.

• Registered Users Posts: 433 ✭✭heffomike54

Funny one for you folks, just on a train to Maynooth and looked into Store Street's car park, saw a large van possibly a merc, only got a glance but it was marked up with Police on the bonnet and sides and looked like a UK vehicle, had low profile light bars and riot screens on the front window. Will try to get a pic if it is there when I pass again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,644 ✭✭✭✭punisher5112

Funny one for you folks, just on a train to Maynooth and looked into Store Street's car park, saw a large van possibly a merc, only got a glance but it was marked up with Police on the bonnet and sides and looked like a UK vehicle, had low profile light bars and riot screens on the front window. Will try to get a pic if it is there when I pass again.

Could be like some of the volvo and x5 that were brought in and marked up garda

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,847 ✭✭✭✭Shannon757

I saw one of the new Q7s in Limerick earlier. Fine yoke in the flesh. It had 3 unmarked squad cars behind it struggling to keep up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 979 ✭✭✭POGAN

Shannon757 wrote: »
    I saw one of the new Q7s in Limerick earlier. Fine yoke in the flesh. It had 3 unmarked squad cars behind it struggling to keep up.

Ya it was avenais which 1.6 petrol and i30 1.6 diesel they nothing near the q7

Could be on trial

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,083 ✭✭✭afatbollix

They bring over a bomb proof BMW 7 series for him and then the numpty sits in the back with the window open. :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,499 ✭✭✭Capri

Here are some Met Police Special Escort Group escorting a silver Merc Sprinter, presumably with a special prisoner in the back. The two guys in the front of the Sprinter were wearing dark blue workwear with police patches on them, same as the boys in the Range Rover.

Even though it's presumably not VIP transport, the motorcyclists were still using whistles.

A very impressive sight.

Maybe when the 'grand reorganisation ' get's underway :rolleyes: they might reintroduce training in the use of whistles and arms (limbs, not guns) to control traffic/crowds - AGS don't seem to 'do' whistles like other forces do ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,451 ✭✭✭CharlieCroker

Capri wrote: »
    Maybe when the 'grand reorganisation ' get's underway :rolleyes: they might reintroduce training in the use of whistles and arms (limbs, not guns) to control traffic/crowds - AGS don't seem to 'do' whistles like other forces do ;)

The reason the special escort group use whistles is that it was discovered that with the large amount sirens used in London, they were more effective. Londoners had become deaf to the sound of sirens as they were so used to them whereas a whistle is considered an unusual sound to hear on a city street these days. Afaik, those SEG bikes aren't even fitted with sirens

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,903 ✭✭✭Terrontress

The reason the special escort group use whistles is that it was discovered that with the large amount sirens used in London, they were more effective. Londoners had become deaf to the sound of sirens as they were so used to them whereas a whistle is considered an unusual sound to hear on a city street these days. Afaik, those SEG bikes aren't even fitted with sirens

I had heard that it was to be less intrusive for the VIP passengers. They are very discreet, there's barely a police marking on the bikes compared to other Met motorbikes. Probably a mix of both.

All the bikes have SEG as the last three digits on their numberplate. Also, the bikers carry guns. I'd imagine it is a very heavy training course to get in.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,190 ✭✭✭Mister Jingles

re D Trent comment.

They are a good car but the handling on them is exaggerated in my opinion.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,780 ✭✭✭carzony

Wonder how many of mondeos that shape and year are left in the entire fleet? Can't be many considering they were last issued in 2007.

re D Trent comment.

They are a good car but the handling on them is exaggerated in my opinion.

Out of a hyundai 161 or 2007 mondeo I would rather the mondeo on the back roads

carzony wrote: »
    Wonder how many of mondeos that shape and year are left in the entire fleet? Can't be many considering they were last issued in 2007.

Very few great car tho

Out of a hyundai 161 or 2007 mondeo I would rather the mondeo on the back roads

Let's hope rumours are true of Mondeos on the way

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,341 ✭✭✭D Trent

Let's hope rumours are true of Mondeos on the way

Would you prefer new Mondeos over the Traffic Insignias?

D Trent wrote: »

To be honest yes because have had very bad experiences with Opel's and reliability and terrible handling.

Now saying this I have not driven the latest insignia so can't comment on that.

To be honest yes because have had very bad experiences with Opel's and reliability and terrible handling.

Now saying this I have not driven the latest insignia so can't comment on that.

Opels are known for horrendous over steer for the the power they have, unbelievable speed in a straight line they can keep up with most but the cornering isn't the best on all models from Astras to vectras to isignias.
    As for mondeo's they tick all the right boxes and very reliable speaking from having family member owning a ford dealership and been in several of them but most recent was the 07 mondeo.
    Ballymun have all of them marked and they are running perfect!

Mondeo any day

Opels are known for horrendous over steer for the the power they have, unbelievable speed in a straight line they can keep up with most but the cornering isn't the best on all models from Astras to vectras to isignias.
    As for mondeo's they tick all the right boxes and very reliable speaking from having family member owning a ford dealership and been in several of them but most recent was the 07 mondeo.
    Ballymun have all of them marked and they are running perfect!

Most of the new insignas don't have 100k on them yet from the ones I seen but they are known for problems

Yeah I know, I heard theres two insignias that are constantly back and forth from maintenance

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,341 ✭✭✭D Trent

Yeah I know, I heard theres two insignias that are constantly back and forth from maintenance

Maybe down to the members who drive them ?!

Yes but think about 19+ hours a day can be up to 3 drivers in that time, BMW & Audi etc will be the same but cost for service is huge on higher powered cars

Not likely, if faults were shown to be related to driving words would be had. And you need the course done to drive them.

DFB Sprinter going from Parliament St around towards Christchurch, side door swings open on corner !! Thought the side door issue was fixed , maybe a rubber safety strap needed if body flex caused it ??

Seen the new traffic Pajero, I wasn't a fan of it at first but seeing it up close today it looks great, the photos don't do it justice.(no pun intended)
    Is management selecting automatic 4x4 vehicles now as the Pajero is automatic like the Audi Q8.
    Also seen three unmarked outlanders colours grey, black and silver obviously not going to say much on them but they definitely blend.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,555 ✭✭✭kub

I saw a Traffic Pajero also on Saturday, I think they would look more at home in the outback.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 186 ✭✭iopener

I have watched the bbc news and the outlander is known to easily hackable, bbc showed lights from a wifi connection. The manufacturer is said to be extremely worried .

iopener wrote: »
    I have watched the bbc news and the outlander is known to easily hackable, bbc showed lights from a wifi connection. The manufacturer is said to be extremely worried .
    What? If you're talking about the sat NAV and car radio etc all of that is removed

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 186 ✭✭iopener

In the clip on the news it showed a professor of computers and his student able to open the car unset the alarm switch off /on lights from sitting across the road using a laptop, and a 15 wifi signal amplifier I dare say he could have started the engine or indeed stop it. He also able to show the location of all other mitsubushi outlanders in the UK on Google maps that very moment . It also showed a clip of a jeep in the us that was being remotely controlled ,the driver was applying the brake foot flat to the floor but the computer operator overrode the signal causing the jeep to go into trees, all be it very slowly, but the point was the vehicle was being controlled by someone other than the driver. Just imagine if the wrong people were able to control a vehicle gardai were driving.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,555 ✭✭✭kub

iopener wrote: »
    In the clip on the news it showed a professor of computers and his student able to open the car unset the alarm switch off /on lights from sitting across the road using a laptop, and a 15 wifi signal amplifier I dare say he could have started the engine or indeed stop it. He also able to show the location of all other mitsubushi outlanders in the UK on Google maps that very moment . It also showed a clip of a jeep in the us that was being remotely controlled ,the driver was applying the brake foot flat to the floor but the computer operator overrode the signal causing the jeep to go into trees, all be it very slowly, but the point was the vehicle was being controlled by someone other than the driver. Just imagine if the wrong people were able to control a vehicle gardai were driving.

All technically possible, but not if the GPRS Sim card is removed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,253 ✭✭✭✭flazio

Ambulance Service tends to be less brand loyal than the Gardaí. I've seen Santa Fe's, Forresters, Mondeos, Land Cruisers and Shoguns decked out in Ambulance service colours.

flazio wrote: »
    Ambulance Service tends to be less brand loyal than the Gardaí. I've seen Santa Fe's, Forresters, Mondeos, Land Cruisers and Shoguns decked out in Ambulance service colours.

They are mainly based on were county council procurement have the tender with for example DFB and Dublin corporation had Denis for the supplier of HGV and crane lift vehicles. They had no warranty agreement with Volvo on repairs but it turned more expensive.

As for smaller flat bed trucks they use VW which is why DFB have the mini bus and county council have the cage on top of the flatbed trucks.
    For vans and ambulances they went with ford hence the heap of transits.
    They received some Mercedes as gifts/handovers from the NHS in Cambridgeshire.
    Something similar to how gards got the Volvo D5 from the uk.

They are mainly based on were county council procurement have the tender with for example DFB and Dublin corporation had Denis for the supplier of HGV and crane lift vehicles. They had no warranty agreement with Volvo on repairs but it turned more expensive.

As for smaller flat bed trucks they use VW which is why DFB have the mini bus and county council have the cage on top of the flatbed trucks.
    For vans and ambulances they went with ford hence the heap of transits.
    They received some Mercedes as gifts/handovers from the NHS in Cambridgeshire.
    Something similar to how gards got the Volvo D5 from the uk.
    How is that related to my post about National Ambulance Service Rapid Response vehicles?

You said they're less loyal using different brands...you named a number of vehicles they've used....I'm telling you why they have a number of vehicles and I have an example as to why they use different suppliers

Hope this answers your question

• Registered Users Posts: 230 ✭✭cdsb46

wexfjord wrote: »
    Not a great pic, black left hand drive suburban on blues escorted by two marked, I did wonder what was in the two trucks.

Looks like the surburban has Irish plates, the plates look like they say CD... so maybe it's an US embassy car?

cdsb46 wrote: »
    Looks like the surburban has Irish plates, the plates look like they say CD... so maybe it's an US embassy car?

We are due a visit from a certain VP soon.

Looks a lot like this one;

• Registered Users Posts: 230 ✭✭cdsb46

foreign wrote: »
    Looks a lot like this one;

Ye...up until recently the ambassador's car was an armoured 7 series, which looked tiny in comparison to the British ambassador's Toyota Land Cruiser Amazon

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 991 ✭✭✭Leo Demidov

Correct,131 ## *****

I listed before the huge number of different vehicles AGS were using, I don't think they're 'loyal' to any brand - they'll use whatever they get a good deal on at the time they need it. Only vehicles I've never seen used are VW's for some reason :confused::confused:
    Not a great pic, black left hand drive suburban on blues escorted by two marked, I did wonder what was in the two trucks.

Saw them at Fairview earlier en route from airport, pic beside the Merrion hotel so guess he's staying there. The black Suburban is less obvious to the average Joe than the silver one I pictured before :cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,574 ✭✭✭Markcheese

flazio wrote:

Does anyone know what the criteria are for rapid response vehicles ??
    A lot of them are 4 wheel drive but not all... would have thought something tiny like a smart or twingo would be better for dublin city (except it cant mount kerbs as well as something bigger) , are they able to put a stretcher in the back at a push (say to ferry a patient across a field to waiting ambulance? ) or is that a no no...

Slava ukraini 🇺🇦

For cities, the motorbikes are the best job.
    Elsewhere it's just a case of being fast enough to get to a potentially life threatening injury before it's too late.
    And no, none of the NAS RRVs are stripped out to take a stretcher. I remember NEHB used to have vehicles kitted out like that but never in the HSE days.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,806 ✭✭✭✭Strumms

Re: the traffic corps with the two trucks and black chevvy's .... I think vice president Biden is visiting us soon. A C17 landed in Dublin airport within the last few days ahead of the visit and those black vehicles look like pool cars from the US embassy... That's my guess anyway..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,058 ✭✭✭finnharpsboy

Is that a RS Focus?

Also where was the Hyundai crashed?

An ST

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,847 ✭✭✭✭Shannon757

Is that a RS Focus?

Also where was the Hyundai crashed?

Coolock or Blanchardstown.

The people posting on those Checkpoint pages are complete morons.

foreign wrote: »

Agreed

Shannon757 wrote: »
    Coolock or Blanchardstown.

It crashed in blanch near Ida business park but it is attached to another division was chasing a motorcycle

Yeah that really get on my nerves, and everyone giving out FB status's telling people where the checks are