Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

People from Dublin adding "o" to the end of every name

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9 elpoder

pmcmahon wrote: »
    i sniff a ban that isn't at me for once :)

Shurup taddle tale :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,535 ✭✭✭Raekwon

bluewolf wrote: »
    On a similar note I hate people adding an S to the end of every shop name.
    "Lidls". It's not fcuking called Lidls, fcuk off.

Tescos is a better example, I hate when people call Tesco "Tescos". Also what supermarket was called Goobays locally around Dublin? I remember people in the 80's shopping a store called Goobays :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,611 ✭✭✭✭Sam Vimes

It's mostly people from Portabell, Marin, Phibsbor and Rialt who do it

(*btw what the f**k is "ye"? The word is "you", even Dublin scummers get that right)[/QUOTE]

Do all you howya’s not say ‘‘you’s’’ and ‘‘ yis’’ ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,554 ✭✭✭✭alwaysadub

Raekwon wrote: »
    Tescos is a better example, I hate when people call Tesco "Tescos". Also what supermarket was called Goobays locally around Dublin? I remember people in the 80's shopping a store called Goobays :confused:

There was a Goobays in Tallaght-kinda the Firhouse area in the early 80's
    Only thing i remember bout it is it was kinda like Aldi where you have to pack your bags away from the till-i can remember being sat on the shelf while the bags were being packed:D

(*btw what the f**k is "ye"? The word is "you", even Dublin scummers get that right)

Do all you howya’s not say ‘‘you’s’’ and ‘‘ yis’’ ?[/QUOTE]

ye1    [yee] Show IPA
    –pronoun
    Archaic (except in some elevated or ecclesiastical prose), Literary, or British Dialect .
    a.
    (used nominatively as the plural of thou, esp. in rhetorical, didactic, or poetic contexts, in addressing a group of persons or things): O ye of little faith; ye brooks and hills.
    b.
    (used nominatively for the second person singular, esp. in polite address): Do ye not know me?
    c.
    (used objectively in the second person singular or plural): I have something to tell ye. Arise, the enemy is upon ye!

I like using it sometimes

• Moderators, Politics Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 24,269 Mod ✭✭✭✭Chips Lovell

Johnny, Micky, Eddy, Larry, Tommy.

What's with all these ys at the ends of names too?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,373 ✭✭✭Executive Steve

If it keeps muck savages out of my city I'll do whatever it takes.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,784 ✭✭✭Superbus

Rolls off the tongue easier than Anthony, particularly when speaking over the crackle of an inexplicable fire in a field.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,464 ✭✭✭Celly Smunt

Realtine wrote: »
    ALL THE 'O's

now your just PAL ;)

i like it :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,797 ✭✭✭ChopShop

*Absolutely guilty of using TescoS at times.*

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,587 ✭✭✭Pace2008

That's it, let's remove every colloquialism from our vocabulary till we a have a dialect as bland as the Yanks'.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,932 ✭✭✭hinault

Sykk wrote: »
    Johno
    Damo
    Deco
    Gero
    Dano
    Oweno
    Tomo
    Ciano

You get the idea.. What's with it?

Down with this sort of thing!

Ye left out Franno and Milo, boss

wernstrom! wrote: »
    *Absolutely guilty of using TescoS at times.*

So do I once in a while if I don't catch myself.
    It's mostly the Lidls thing annoying me.
    :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 417 ✭✭muffy

Einstein wrote: »
    Yore Mao

http://indisch.files.wordpress.com/2008/04/mao.jpg

din neh nih neh nih neh nih neh BATMAO

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,784 ✭✭✭Superbus

muffy wrote: »

You've been waiting so long for Mao to be mentioned so you could use that photo, haven't you?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,294 ✭✭✭thee glitz

But surely Easons is acceptable?

Superbus wrote: »
    You've been waiting so long for Mao to be mentioned so you could use that photo, haven't you?

No, I just saw it there nao.

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 10,794 Mod ✭✭✭✭artanevilla

Batman fail.

Censorship is harsh in the PRO China, all superheroes in comics must have the face of Mao.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,515 ✭✭✭✭admiralofthefleet

Sam Vimes wrote: »
    It's mostly people from Portabell, Marin, Phibsbor and Rialt who do it

what about people from pimlic and others that visit the zo

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 10,794 Mod ✭✭✭✭artanevilla

Censorship is harsh in the PRO China, all superheroes in comics must have the face of Mao.

NEIN! It's a KISS face not Batman.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,659 ✭✭✭Chaotic_Forces

It sounds better saying "here tomo give us a lend for a can will yeh? Me bleedin' dole atta goin' on dese bleedin' runners". Than: "excuse me thomas my good man, could I borrow a few euro to pertake in a glass of wine? These newest white running shoes cost quite a bundle from my wages from my job".

NEIN! It's a KISS face not Batman.
    Its Batman in China

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,873 ✭✭✭Skid

I used to work with a man from Tallaght,

He said he liked the two lads off 'I'm a Celebrity', Anto and Deco

No, they are not from Tallaght, call them by their real names (or PJ and Duncan)

• Registered Users Posts: 266 ✭✭THall04

The Dublin "O" thing dosen't bother me.

I have a friend from Dublin.....his name is "Declan"
    He married a girl from Waterford.

In Dublin he's called "DECO"
    In Waterford he's called "DECKY"

Different people from different parts of the country say the same things...but a bit differently......... we should celebrate the rich diversity of our culture and ignore such parochial intransigence :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,305 ✭✭✭DOC09UNAM

Oh the auld Jackeens are it again.

• Registered Users Posts: 553 ✭✭✭NoHornJan

Tho Dubs put the O after their names.

The rest put the O in front of their names.

O'Connor
    O'Donnell
    O'Flaherty
    O'Kelly
    O'Meara
    O'Reilly
    O'Shea
    Obama
    Outcast
    Ostrich

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,305 ✭✭✭DOC09UNAM

NoHornJan wrote: »
    Tho Dubs put the O after their names.

The rest put the O in front of their names.

O'Connor
    O'Donnell
    O'Flaherty
    O'Kelly
    O'Meara
    O'Reilly
    O'Shea
    Obama
    Outcast
    Ostrich
    Not to shít on your parade there mate, but in both cases, they are still putting the O's after there first names.

for example, someone called cian

could be ciano
    or cian o Donnell

Notice in BOTH cases the O comes after the first name.

Good attempt at looking funny nonetheless though.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Music Moderators, Politics Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 22,360 CMod ✭✭✭✭Dravokivich

thee glitz wrote: »
    But surely Easons is acceptable?

Or Tuthills...