Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

[PR] Customers warned of possible disruption to Cork services from Monday 15 May

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,331 ✭✭✭MarkoP11

The cravens coaches are still very much service, the Fridays only Heuston Tralee is a favorite still, they ran the 18:35 to Thurles sometime last week as well

Train manager style operation is common across the UK and Europe, in fact the bulk of IE trains are driver only, no guard no ticket checker, no train manager. You can have as many staff onboard as you like. The whole train manager idea is about improving customer service

• Registered Users Posts: 5,683 ✭✭✭jd

Tell that to the people who were expecting an "official" train this morning.

I think we should also remind ourselves that the Luas ran as normal today and that the argument for the privatisation of CIE took a huge step forward in the last 18 hours.
    But aren't Luas drivers unionised as well~? AFAIR they are member of SIPTU.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 696 ✭✭✭Transport21 Fan

Luas drivers have not been infected by the NBRU disease even though that shower have been hanging outside Luas depots trying to radicalise the Luas drivers and get them in the family.

The NBRU are desparately trying to destroy Luas as it shows the shower up in CIE for what they are.

ah- so you don't really mind the beardie feckers in SIPTU :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,858 ✭✭✭paulm17781

AFAIK, it's an unofficial strike, no need for union bashing.

I noticed that the NBRU are condoning the strike and the mediator is meeting with the union chiefs today. Nothing to do with the unions though. :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 461 ✭✭markf909

paulm17781 wrote:
    I noticed that the NBRU are condoning the strike and the mediator is meeting with the union chiefs today. Nothing to do with the unions though.

We need a penalty imposed on the unions if any of their members take unilateral action. At least then it might serve to make the NBRU/SIPTU keep their members from taking 'unofficial' action.

paulm17781 wrote:
    I noticed that the NBRU are condoning the strike and the mediator is meeting with the union chiefs today. Nothing to do with the unions though. :rolleyes:

Paul- I haven't seen anything on the news , or in the newspapers, where the NBRU condone the strike,. Linkie please??

Both sided have behaved disgracefully. Management knew there would be disruption if the introduced the Mk IVs but didn't warn the general public of this. I guess it suits their purposes to discommode the general public too :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,858 ✭✭✭paulm17781

Speaking in Cork on behalf of the drivers concerned, the National Bus and Railworkers’ Union’s Dermot O’Leary said there was little sign of anyone going back to work.

“Management forced this situation this morning. It’s frustrating in the extreme. We’ll be on duty in the morning and are prepared to drive the trains that have been here for years,” he said.

Link: http://www.examiner.ie/irishexaminer/pages/story.aspx-qqqg=ireland-qqqm=ireland-qqqa=ireland-qqqid=3546-qqqx=1.asp

Please don't say "Where does he condone it?". He most certainly does NOT condem it and makes out as though it is every one elses fault.

For the record I think IE management have behaved awfully on this. They're not the ones striking though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 194 ✭✭NavanJunction1

Ireland.com, Last updated: 16-05-06, 09:18

Iarnród Éireann has warned of severe disruptions to rail services today as a result of continuing unofficial action by train drivers that left up to 35,000 passengers stranded yesterday.

The dispute is over the introduction by the company of a new high-tech train it had planned to bring into service on a trial basis yesterday.

Two Cork-based drivers refused to operate the new train and drivers based in Cork, Limerick and Dublin stopped work in support of their two colleagues.

Iarnród Éireann has warned that there will be no Intercity services to and from Cork, Galway, Mayo, Kerry and Limerick. There will be no Commuter services to and from Portlaoise and Kildare or on the Cork - Cobh commuter route, although some local Limerick services may operate.

There may be some services between Waterford and Dublin.

Dart services and commuter trains between Dublin, Dundalk and Drogheda, along with services to Maynooth, Sligo, Belfast, Gorey, Arklow and Rosslare, are expected to operate normally. Services to and from Connolly station in Dublin have not been affected.

Iarnród Éireann strongly urges intending passengers gers to check the Irish Rail website or ring the information line on 1850 366 222 in advance.

There were no indications last night that an early resolution to the dispute was likely, with the company insisting that it would not negotiate with staff engaged in unofficial action.

A spokeswoman for Iarnród Éireann told ireland.com that the dispute will affect 35,000 passengers per day and "due to the unofficial nature it is difficult to say if there is an end in sight." However she went on to say that senior trade union officials are meeting with drivers' representatives this morning.

Taoiseach Bertie Ahern said yesterday the action was "particularly disappointing" given the investment that had been made in improving facilities for customers on the Dublin-Cork route. He said there extensive mechanisms available through the labour relations machinery to sort out this type of issue without causing major inconvenience to the public.

Iarnród Éireann is seeking to introduce a new generation of trains, known as the "Mark Four", as part of a €117 million investment in its rolling stock. Siptu and the National Bus and Rail Union sought a pay increase of 5 per cent for drivers, and a reduction in working hours, in return for the introduction of the new trains as well as other work changes.

Meath Commuter rail lobby group Meath on Track has called for common-sense to prevail in the current rail strike caused by the introduction of new trains. They say that the last serious rail strike in 2000 resulted in the closure of Kingscourt railway line despite the fact the line had 106 year history of transport freight as Gypsum Industries changed to road transport.

Meath on Track spokesperson Proinsias Mac Fhearghusa said: "Meath and Cavan have seen first hand what prolonged industrial action can do to the viability of railways. We call on all parties involved to start talking and to resolve the dispute over the introduction of the new trains to avoid escalation of industrial action and to save public confidence in Ireland's rail transport system."

© The Irish Times/ireland.com

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 7,484 ✭✭✭Red Alert

No but the managers took the travelling public for a ride (pardon the pun). Apart from those of us who find rolling stock interesting, the public at large wants a train. The nuances differentiating Mark 4 and Mark 3 mean little to most people. Therefore the management should first of all get the Mark3's on the rails again so that the general public have a train service which the taxpayer and the fare-paying customers are finanacially holding up.

They should have had the foresight to know they couldn't just pull the Mk4 out of a hat without thinking through the Industrial Relations issues. It points to serious foresight or a badly cavalier attitude right across IR's management spectrum.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 461 ✭✭markf909

They should have had the foresight to know they couldn't just pull the Mk4 out of a hat without thinking through the Industrial Relations issues

Its a train isnt it?
    The loco is the same, the cab end has the same controls as the loco.
    Call me slow, but what is the problem with the drivers just getting in and driving :confused:

Labour court rejected the unions case on the new trains, they lost don't like it lacked the maturity to hold a formal strike ballot no grounds anyway really and are now behaving like a bunch of spoilt childern who just got told no for the first time

• Registered Users Posts: 19,018 ✭✭✭✭murphaph

1553-17b.jpg

• Registered Users Posts: 2,461 ✭✭✭popebenny16

No but the managers took the travelling public for a ride (pardon the pun). Apart from those of us who find rolling stock interesting, the public at large wants a train. The nuances differentiating Mark 4 and Mark 3 mean little to most people. Therefore the management should first of all get the Mark3's on the rails again so that the general public have a train service which the taxpayer and the fare-paying customers are finanacially holding up.

They should have had the foresight to know they couldn't just pull the Mk4 out of a hat without thinking through the Industrial Relations issues. It points to serious foresight or a badly cavalier attitude right across IR's management spectrum.

Oh I cant beleive this. Get the mark3's back on the rails? ONE mark 4 set, that's all, just one. Please explain to us how that means all of the other mark3 sets are not operating? As well as the mark2ds? And the commuter railcars, why arent they operating? You know, the drivers would be winning this hands down if they simply refused to operate the mark4 set, and operated all the other ones!!!

Well it'd be better than the current performance wouldn't it where there's No train?

The Mk4 introduction has triggerred all this mess, whatever was brewing already. There are customers who are seriously put out by all this; and the removal of the Mk4 temporairly would mean that passengers at least get the service they're entitled to, as opposed to none at all.

There are customers who are seriously put out by all this; and the removal of the Mk4 temporairly would mean that passengers at least get the service they're entitled to, as opposed to none at all.

There is no reason whatsoever for the drivers to refuse to drive other trains. Please, tell me the reason, go on.....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,042 ✭✭✭Metrobest

Red Alert wrote:
    the removal of the Mk4 temporairly would mean that passengers at least get the service they're entitled to, as opposed to none at all.

No, because that's capitulating to bully boy tactics.

Rail customers don't really care whether the unions give Barry Kenny & Co. a few proverbial thumps. They want a train, right now they don't have it and CIE aren't looking any better than the unions.

I agree that the drivers shouldn't be refusing to do non-Mk4 runs, but they are. The company could restore everyone's train service at the drop of a hat by dropping the Mk4 introduction until they and <insert union> sort out their house.

But for how long though? This was agreed 6 years ago. They went to the labout court. They lost. When faces with having exhausted every available industrial relations mechanism they pull this stunt, whcih is what it is.

Think it isnt?

Why isnt this an OFFICIAL strike?

• Registered Users Posts: 677 ✭✭✭Champ

http://breakingnews.iol.ie/news/story.asp?j=182834938&p=y8z835644&n=182835698
    Up to 35,000 commuters nationwide today faced a second day of rail chaos because of lightning strikes that were kicked off yesterday by two train drivers in Cork.
    Wonder what would happen if said 35,000 commuters were to express their displeasure to these two drivers directly?:)

Especially in light of:
    The drivers involved in the dispute earn €50,000 annually but have said they want more money, two hours cut from their working week and bigger pensions if they’re to drive the new trains.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 696 ✭✭✭Transport21 Fan

paulm17781 wrote:
    Please don't say "Where does he condone it?". He most certainly does NOT condem it and makes out as though it is every one elses fault.

For the record I think IE management have behaved awfully on this. They're not the ones striking though.

The woman interviewed on the news yesterday outside An Statuin Ticketing Irregularities in Cork after she missed a business meeting in Dublin put it beautifully: "The whole company is a joke and should be privatised".

Privatisation of rail and bus services has been a success from the UK to Denmark. Now it is is Ireland's turn to join in.

CIE cannot be reformed nor rehabilitated into a normal public transport company. There is only one option now and it has to be full privatisation of all bus and rail services with public subidies for lesser used routes.

CIE does function normally on any level - never has, never will. If they have not proved it with this latest circus, then they never will. The decent and professional staff within CIE are just as much victims of this carry-on as the public transport users. Dedicated public transport professionals cannot shine while suffocated within the CIE quagmire as they are always being dragged with the bottom with the worst elements who hold all the cards within CIE.

Sacking the drivers on strike is the way to start the ball rolling. A message must be sent out to these clowns that their skanger tactics will be no longer tolerated.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,772 ✭✭✭SeanW

SeanW wrote:
    I would REALLY love to see the CIE Branch Davidians on here explain THIS.
    I guess they didn't take the challenge?

There's a few on IRN doing it but even there its half hearted.

The woman interviewed on the news yesterday outside An Statuin Ticketing Irregularities in Cork after she missed a business meeting in Dublin put it beautifully: "The whole company is a joke and should be privatised".

Great, let's ask Gerry Adams how he'd run the train service. A non-transport expert's opinion surely is worth it's weight in gold.
    Privatisation of rail and bus services has been a success from the UK to Denmark. Now it is is Ireland's turn to join in.

Really? In the UK it's been attributed to the rise of Railtrack, whose negligence left a few people dead. Locomotives and carriages have given way to Tin Cans. I know nothing about denmark so i can't comment. France has an excellent publicly run railway network - 1 euro to any destination within paris city centre!
    CIE cannot be reformed nor rehabilitated into a normal public transport company. There is only one option now and it has to be full privatisation of all bus and rail services with public subidies for lesser used routes.

Why not? Dunnes Stores had serious union issues, which forced the closure of several stores for a long period a number of years ago. This severly inconvenienced those in the inner city without cars as dunnes was the only convenient, cheap good quality supermarket. Nobody is going to buy CIE for a decent price, and I do not want to see a Babcock type parasite come in and take it for a pittance.
    CIE does function normally on any level - never has, never will. If they have not proved it with this latest circus, then they never will. The decent and professional staff within CIE are just as much victims of this carry-on as the public transport users. Dedicated public transport professionals cannot shine while suffocated within the CIE quagmire as they are always being dragged with the bottom with the worst elements who hold all the cards within CIE.

They cannot shine under the current government as Martin Cullen and co will not take it in hand to reform CIE. This is because FF backed by the PD's have an interest in running down the company to privatize it - Barry Kenny and his men are only too willing to do that for the government - look at the freight business. Salaries should be modest. Bonuses should be generous, performance-related and team-oriented. If the train leaves late, no bonus for the station manager, driver, guard, maintainence guy who caused the delay.
    Sacking the drivers on strike is the way to start the ball rolling. A message must be sent out to these clowns that their skanger tactics will be no longer tolerated.

You really want to inflame the situation? We want a train! There'd be realistically no hope of a resolution if that happenned.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,082 ✭✭✭Chris_533976

In my little dream world, heres what would happen.

An announcement would be made by Iaranrod Eireann to the effect of "There will be no train services for the next month while we train new drivers".

Every single driver/etc who has gone on strike would be sacked without any redundancy pay and with no reference. An advertisment (well publicised) would be put out countrywide for new drivers. These new drivers would be given quick, intensive training and the service would resume as soon as they are trained.

I'd love to see the look on the faces of the drivers if they were all told "You're all fired" and were escorted out of the train station by security and/or the army :D

Problem is it takes 70 odd weeks to train a driver so the drivers know that they can't lose thats the problem, no matter what happens they still have a job

DART would be easy as it takes 18 odd weeks to train a driver

Its not easy to drive a train, its exceedingly complex the key learning curve is the need to know every inch of the lines the train operates over. They need to know where every signal is and where to brake, it takes over a mile to stop at 100mph so you need to visualise a point in the future where you will stop. The rule book is huge. The physical effort is easy. Put simply I know how to drive i.e. what levers to pull in which order but I know little of the finer details like starting the engine (not trivial with a 3200hp engine) and I'd completely misjudge the stopping distances. I know a certain UK journalist who drove a train around a test track he didn't crash but out in the real world I wouldn't want to be a passenger

You can't skimp on standards, poor training has led/contributed to a number of accidents in the UK

and then it'd be like the miners strike in the 80's.

No, I think IE are on a winner here and the unions have been stupid to the point of negligence. This is not the ground to have this dispute on from the unions point of view. There are better battlefields ahead for them. The longer this goes on the more annoyed prople will get and the more pressure will be put onto the unions to get the drivers back to work.

Yet again I'll ask this question:

Why arent they driving the mark3, mark2d and commuter trains? Nothing is stopping them, no-one in IE is stopping them, they just dont want to.

If there is anyone on this board who can give me that answer please do.

• Registered Users Posts: 19,018 ✭✭✭✭murphaph

You wouldn't need 70 weeks to train new drivers because you'd be rehiring the existing bunch on totally different contracts (real-world private sector type contracts!). A few out and out skanger ringleaders would not be hired. There would still be sisruption but not as bad as people may think. Thoseboys know that train diving is a pretty decent job and they'd take it over whatever eles they'd get with 10+ years train driving experience!

The company wouldn't need to be privatised IMO, just rehire everyone on new contracts that mean instant dismissal for (for example) unofficial strike action.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 194 ✭✭अधिनायक

MarkoP11 wrote:
    Problem is it takes 70 odd weeks to train a driver so the drivers know that they can't lose thats the problem, no matter what happens they still have a job
    Only problem is it took me 200 weeks to train for my job and I paid for the training. In the last 10 years I have rarely received free training from an employer and would never dream of trying to extort money if offered training. I have done a lot of training in the past 10 years mostly paid for by me. I do whatever I am told to do for 8 hours a day and if I don't change job, I don't expect a pay rise beyond the market rate. If I want more money I train for a better paid job. I am happy with this arrangement. It's fair and it puts me in charge of my destiny. So long as I am employable I get paid. If I don't like my job I give my notice and work somewhere else.

Why has a system been created where people are offered jobs for life? Why is their training paid for? Why do their contracts not require them to retrain to whatever new technology appears? Why have they been allowed to expect that they will be given pay rises for doing the same job throughout that time? Why can't they be fired when they refuse to go to work? Why are their jobs denied to people who would gladly do them without taking the piss?

Why do the politicians sustain this system by supporting the unfair demands of these few and undermining the management against the needs of the people who elected them?

Why do we - the passengers - have to suffer while this circus continues?

I don't blame the workers. I'd do the same if I was in their position. Yum yum- extortion!