Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Is anybody else getting excited about Arthur's Day?!

• 25-09-2012 7:46am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,320 ✭✭✭

No? Anyone??

Thought not.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,065 ✭✭✭crazygeryy

MrCreosote wrote: »
    No? Anyone??

Thought not.

yea for me the excitement is almost on a Par with the up coming budget.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 32,865 ✭✭✭✭MagicMarker

Arnold? Who's Arnold!?!?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,562 ✭✭✭✭Sunnyisland

Nope, but looking forward to christmas :-)

• Site Banned Posts: 563 ✭✭✭Wee Willy Harris

it has really established itself, counting down the days now

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,689 ✭✭✭Tombi!

Ah, a day where we celebrate drinking and go out and have a few pints!

I for one, am very glad that being Irish, I actually have a day that comes once a year where it's normal to go drinking at 10 in the morning.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,073 ✭✭✭gobnaitolunacy

About as excited if it were Lidl Day or Tesco Day. Shameless self-serving corporate advertising.

They should call it what it actually is: Diageo Day.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,268 ✭✭✭BunShopVoyeur

Arthur's Day. When students, scumbags and alcoholics come together in a glorious display of black vomit and blood.

Fúck Arthur's Day. We don't need another Paddies Day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 772 ✭✭✭GTDolanator

Not really looking forward to it.....but thursday is the night i tend to go to the pub so ill prob have one in his honour

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,425 ✭✭✭Festy

MrCreosote wrote: »
    No? Anyone??

Thought not.

Since when did we as a nation need an excuse for a piss up.It's Arthur's day everyday in Ireland sure ffs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 71,799 ✭✭✭✭Ted_YNWA

To Martha !!

• Registered Users Posts: 124 ✭✭McBauer

Always a good night. I for one am looking forward it! Although I think one pint of the black stuff will be more than enough for me!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,897 ✭✭✭MagicSean

I'd rather have arthritis day. People could put their money towards finding a cure for a crippling disease rather than making a stereotype of a country come true

• Registered Users Posts: 8,207 ✭✭✭The King of Moo

I am! I'll be greeting everyone with " 'ave you seen it!? Eh!? Eh!? 'ave you seen it!? Where's me washboard!? Eh!? Eh!?" and a cheeky snicker!

'ow queer!! Eh, he, he, he!! Ah've seen ya wrappin' presents when it's nobody's birthday! Eh!? I say, Ah've seen ya wrappin' presents when it's nobody's birthday!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,410 ✭✭✭bbam

I think the whole thing is stupid.
    It's a massive marketing stunt trying to turn some bloke into a hero.
    It stereotypes the Irish yet again, we already had a national holiday where we drink to excess, now we're developing a whole new "day" purely based on drink and nothing else.

The sad thing is that the marketing is allowed to go ahead. It's repulsive, embarrassing and bad for our reputation.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,625 ✭✭✭flyswatter

Couldn't care less. I like Guinness but think it's ridiculous. I've never partaken in it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,781 ✭✭✭clappyhappy

No interest in it, complete commercialsm. Well done diagio, very successful on their behalf.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,557 ✭✭✭Heroditas

bbam wrote: »
    I think the whole thing is stupid.
    It's a massive marketing stunt trying to turn some bloke into a hero.
    It stereotypes the Irish yet again, we already had a national holiday where we drink to excess, now we're developing a whole new "day" purely based on drink and nothing else.

The sad thing is that the marketing is allowed to go ahead. It's repulsive, embarrassing and bad for our reputation.

It's a disgrace and the only reason they get away with it is because the admission money from the tickets to the gigs goes to charity.

• Registered Users Posts: 222 ✭✭SmilingLurker

I am. Nothing to do with Guinness, I am off on holidays Thursday. When I get there I might have a cold larger....

PS I love Guinness, it just hates me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 717 ✭✭✭TURRICAN

No and never did.
    Load of ****e

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,626 ✭✭✭Gloomtastic!

Hoping too. I've missed the last three due to parental commitments so looking forward to celebrating the existence of the world's finest alcoholic beverage. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,946 ✭✭✭✭Zebra3

About as excited if it were Lidl Day or Tesco Day. Shameless self-serving corporate advertising.

They should call it what it actually is: Diageo Day.

They should actually call it D*ckhead Day because anyone who falls for such corporate propaganda....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,039 ✭✭✭MJ23

No, im waiting til they establish a Scrumpy Jack day or Dutch Gold day. It'd be a great way of rounding up most of the alcoholics, skobies and bums and shooting them all. A complete drain on society.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,689 ✭✭✭Tombi!

MJ23 wrote: »
    No, im waiting til they establish a Scrumpy Jack day or Dutch Gold day. It'd be a great way of rounding up most of the alcoholics, skobies and bums and shooting them all. A complete drain on society.

Dutch Gold day for me is whenever I get me dole (and every day after that).
    But I'm not a cheap scumbag like others on the dole.
    I go for the good stuff. I go for Druids cider.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,750 ✭✭✭iDave

Event junkies around Ireland rubbing their hands about this. Going through town after work you’ll see them queuing to get into exclusive bars like….err…Hogans on Georges St. The same places you could walk into normally any other day. Women dolled up to the nines who wont touch any Guinness all night.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 735 ✭✭✭sealgaire

Not really looking forward to it.....but thursday is the night i tend to go to the pub so ill prob have one in his honour

i hope you're joking

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Music Moderators, Politics Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 22,360 CMod ✭✭✭✭Dravokivich

Yeah can't wait. Few gigs, some pints, be grand.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,333 ✭✭✭Archeron

I have my Guinness tree up already.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,775 ✭✭✭✭kfallon

Ah, a day where we celebrate drinking and go out and have a few pints!

I for one, am very glad that being Irish, I actually have a day that comes once a year where it's normal to go drinking at 10 in the morning.

That's most Saturdays tbh

Arthur's Day is not for me but to those of ye who enjoy it I hope the weather picks up for ye.

It's cost me my Thursday night football tho cos half the lads who play now have to work :mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,456 ✭✭✭✭Mr Benevolent

Yeah, I'm really excited about the world's best laxative getting another ridiculous publicity boost.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,881 ✭✭✭Easy Rod

Zebra3 wrote: »
    They should actually call it D*ckhead Day because anyone who falls for such corporate propaganda....
    I presume you don't purchase any brand name products ever?

I am going to go out for a few pints because there are free gigs on and town will be good craic.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Music Moderators, Politics Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 22,360 CMod ✭✭✭✭Dravokivich

Oxygen / Electric picnic?

Both heavily sponsored by the booze industry.

Various comedy festivals as well as theatre too.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,725 ✭✭✭charlemont

Just another day to me.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 7,941 Mod ✭✭✭✭Yakult

When is Methamphetamine day? Thats the good one

MJ23 wrote: »

That Sir would be called Linden Village Day.;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,704 ✭✭✭Corvo

Arthur's Day. When students, scumbags and alcoholics come together in a glorious display of black vomit and blood.

Lol at both of you. As if scumbags and alcoholics only come out every Arthur's Day and Paddy's Day. If you want to avoid scumbags and "black vomit" just find a nice place to have a pint. It's not rocket science Mr. Meldrew.

You are probably one of those shouting from the rooftops about having the price of drink put up in supermarkets etc. and constantly spout about how much of a sensible drinker you are to those who drink more than four pints.

Oh and Propaganda? :rolleyes: As if ****ing Christmas and New Years aren't a load of commercialised crap aswell yet it's likely you won't be doing too much moaning around those times.

I'm looking forward to it anyway. Local pub is putting on a bit of decent music (few local lads, few from elsewhere so a good mix) and for a Thursday night, a good few people turn up around town and just have a good night. There are some cracking free gigs on around also.

Plenty of doom and gloom around these days and some people just love to add to it. Grow up.

Yakult wrote: »
    When is Methamphetamine day? Thats the good one

Hash Wednesday is my day to celebrate.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 412 ✭✭Hackysack

Booked Friday off work ages ago without knowing that Thursday was Guinness day. I'm looking forward to having a few drinks and heading out. Not a Guinness drinker though. Not sure if the other pints I drink are made by Diageo as well...

Lol at both of you. As if scumbags and alcoholics only come out every Arthur's Day and Paddy's Day. If you want to avoid scumbags and "black vomit" just find a nice place to have a pint. It's not rocket science Mr. Meldrew.

You are probably one of those shouting from the rooftops about having the price of drink put up in supermarkets etc. and constantly spout about how much of a sensible drinker you are to those who drink more than four pints.

Oh and Propaganda? :rolleyes: As if ****ing Christmas and New Years aren't a load of commercialised crap aswell yet it's likely you won't be doing too much moaning around those times.

I'm looking forward to it anyway. Local pub is putting on a bit of decent music (few local lads, few from elsewhere so a good mix) and for a Thursday night, a good few people turn up around town and just have a good night. There are some cracking free gigs on around also.

Plenty of doom and gloom around these days and some people just love to add to it. Grow up.

You said "lol".

Yep, just the kind of person to fall for this marketing shîte.

Also "grow up"?

You're just a kid. If your life still revolves around getting shîtfaced, good for you.

Some of us have actual lives.

Pathetic post.

You said "lol".

I know it's marketing shyte, I just see past it and actually go out with a few mates and the girlfriend to have a good time.

What's it like up there and that fine big horse your on by the way?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 607 ✭✭✭Hurricane Carter

Christmas stemmed from something more important to people than advertising - religion, especially in years past. More about family and getting together in the 'spirit of Christmas' these days and that's a good thing.

What did Arthur's day stem from? A marketing exec.

New year's - it's the turn of the year, or can signify the turn of a century. People see it as a chance to 'start over', new beginnings and all that.

Yes they're commercialised nowadays, but the spirit of the 'holidays' still exists and brings people together with their families and friends etc. like nothing else during the year.

And you're comparing this to f*cking Arthur's poxy day?

Edit: if people want to go out fair enough. It's not for me and I refuse to buy into it. It's all too cringeworthy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 31,967 ✭✭✭✭Sarky

I think I'd rather develop a case of terminal piles than support Diageo.

I know it's marketing shyte, I just see past it and actually go out with a few mates and the girlfriend to have a good time.

What's it like up there and that fine big horse your on by the way?

Yeah, I like my pints too. It doesn't mean I'm "Mr Meldrew" or need to "grow up" because my little eyes don't fill with delight because a company tells me to.

Seems like you're the one that needs to grow up.

You said "lol".

Also "grow up"?

You're just a kid. If your life still revolves around getting shîtfaced, good for you.

Some of us have actual lives.

Pathetic post.

Well thank **** I don't have one like yours.

And not once in my post did I mention getting pissed. I just said I would be out to have a good time and have a look at a few bands and have a few drinks.

Get over yourself, seriously.

Yeah, I like my pints too. It doesn't mean I'm "Mr Meldrew" or need to "grow up" because my little eyes don't fill with delight because a company tells me to.

Seems like you're the one that needs to grow up.

Did I not just say I know it's a load of marketing shyte no? Or are you too busy sucking on a Werthers Original to read what I'm saying?

• Registered Users Posts: 3,750 ✭✭✭iDave

Like I get why they did it the first time. 250 years and all that and in fairness any company that lasts that long deserves to celebrate. But why do they have to celebrate the 251st 252nd 253rd 254th birthday?

Go away. Post was idiotic.

"Somebody doesn't enjoy a day that I cream my little kacks for therefore they need to grow up and don't know how to have fun."

• Registered Users Posts: 1,378 ✭✭✭Brendan Flowers

For the most part this thread is worse than an average afternoon of Joe Duffy. "It's a disgrace" "corporate propaganda" "rabble rabble rabble"

As has been said by a few in this thread very few events now are not backed by companies, used to promote products/brand. But apparently I'm a scumbag/dickhead/alcoholic/etc. just because I intend to go out on Thursday night as its Arthur's Day. What a load of nonsense. I'm going out because its always a good night, most of my mates will be out, there is gigs on around the city, money is raised for charities.

Is the entire thing a marketing stunt? Of course it is but I couldn't give a fcuk about that. To quote Father Ted "I'll have my fun and that's all that matters". And I must say what a fantastic job the marketing team who came up with the idea have done. Don Draper would be proud of it!

So feck the begrudgers......TO MARTHA!!

Go away. Post was idiotic.

"Somebody doesn't enjoy a day that I cream my little kacks for therefore they need to grow up and don't know how to have fun."

Haha. Christ Almighty. And you make me out to be the adolescent here.

Just leave it there because I have no wish to debate with someone like you.

Good riddance

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,966 ✭✭✭✭syklops

I was going to throw my hat in the ring and say my local has a load of daycent guinness swag in, plus free pints so of course I'll be there. You go in, you meet some mates, you get free stuff, you get some free pints, you have a laugh. Its amazing the number of misery guts on this thread. Well, not that amazing.

And I have to laugh at:
    Christmas stemmed from something more important to people than advertising - religion, especially in years past. More about family and getting together in the 'spirit of Christmas' these days and that's a good thing.

What did Arthur's day stem from? A marketing exec.

And how did Christianity get so popular in the first place? By marketing the cr@p out of its self, and by setting aside a few days of the year to certain "christian" holidays.

Maybe Arthurs day is the bedrock of a new religion. If celibacy is out, and confession is done to a barman over a pint, sign me up.

:mad: Triple post!

Sorry, computer acting up