Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

LUXOBARGE (sub5k) of the week/day

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,553 ✭✭✭murphyebass

How the **** do you justify nearly 2k in tax though??!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,553 ✭✭✭murphyebass

How the **** do you justify nearly 2k per annum in tax though??!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 83,431 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    M

You would have to drive it to understand.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,293 ✭✭✭✭bazz26

It's the reason such a car is selling for 5k. If it were cheap to tax then the asking price of the car would be a good bit higher.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,047 ✭✭✭Truckermal

No bother I have one you would have to drive it to understand big fuel bills too and I love every minute of it!:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,717 ✭✭✭Midnight_EG

The tax is only expensive if you pay it :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,065 ✭✭✭✭Odyssey 2005

I take it you drive an econobox. A car like that is worth every penny of 1089.pa

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,349 ✭✭✭Padre_Pio

Get out a calculator.

Can you get an equivalent car for less cost price + tax than that?
    My suspicion is no.

Whatever you save on a chaape tax car will be eaten up in cost price +depreciation quickly.

That car will barely depreciate further. You could probably sell it for parts for more cash than the cost price.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,717 ✭✭✭Midnight_EG

Padre_Pio wrote: »
    Get out a calculator.

Can you get an equivalent car for less cost price + tax than that?
    My suspicion is no.

Whatever you save on a chaape tax car will be eaten up in cost price +depreciation quickly.

That car will barely depreciate further. You could probably sell it for parts for more cash than the cost price.

I drive a car that's 1600pa, didn't need the economic lesson.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,575 ✭✭✭Padraig Mor

bazz26 wrote: »
    It's the reason such a car is selling for 5k. If it were cheap to tax then the asking price of the car would be a good bit higher.

Yeah, have a look around Europe and see the prices elsewhere! Cheapest barges in Europe right here in Ireland.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 83,431 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    M

Yeah, have a look around Europe and see the prices elsewhere! Cheapest barges in Europe right here in Ireland.....

I'm surprised the UK, Cypriot and Maltese buyers are not flocking here to buy them up, perhaps they are not familiar with Donedeal and hopefully things stay that way :D

Motor tax on an LS460 is only £570 a year in the UK.

€500 ish in Malta

https://www.transport.gov.mt/POL-33-List-of-Annual-Circulation-Fees-Version-11-1st-January-2018.pdf-f4115

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 370 ✭✭DonalK1981

I'm surprised the UK, Cypriot and Maltese buyers are not flocking here to buy them up, perhaps they are not familiar with Donedeal and hopefully things stay that way :D

Motor tax on an LS460 is only £570 a year in the UK.

€500 ish in Malta

https://www.transport.gov.mt/POL-33-List-of-Annual-Circulation-Fees-Version-11-1st-January-2018.pdf-f4115

Add it to the registration tax one has to pay to import a car. That Lexus would cost a grand to get to Malta on shipping (or more) and €7500 roughly to register. Perhaps as this would be a new import that the higher emissions tax would also be used for the calculation and could see tax as high as 1175 per year at some point. (page 3 of the link)

http://www.valuation.vehicleregistration.gov.mt/motorVehicle.aspx

• Registered Users Posts: 231 ✭✭CheezePleeze

Definitely!

Tax for three months.
    Drive for three months without tax.
    Transfer it to your missus.
    Tax for three months.
    etc...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,823 ✭✭✭✭bear1

Definitely!

Tax for three months.
    etc...

The car will more than likely be impounded before you get to step three if you kept driving it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,217 ✭✭✭✭ELM327

bear1 wrote: »
    The car will more than likely be impounded before you get to step three if you kept driving it.

Not outside the GDA it won't
    Plenty of that going on out here in north meath :D:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,494 ✭✭✭✭MEGA BRO WOLF 5000

Definitely!

Tax for three months.
    etc...

Part time tax. Literally halves the cost of tax over the space of a year. Highly recommended.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,903 ✭✭✭cadaliac

bear1 wrote: »

Nope, did it myself for 2 years with the S80.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,554 ✭✭✭mayota

ELM327 wrote: »
    Not outside the GDA it won't
    Plenty of that going on out here in north meath :D:D

Was especially easy during the recession as the guards were very understanding of the hard times.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,609 ✭✭✭California Dreamer

I drive a car that's 1600pa, didn't need the economic lesson.

Obviously you do if you come into a motoring forum with petrol heads that enjoy cars for being cars and be dammed the expense!

I would take a 12 year old Lexus anyday over a 2 year old Kia!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,411 ✭✭✭ofcork

Surprise that lexus has major expensive components replaced with only 120k km on it,is the reliability not great for some reason.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,607 ✭✭✭pah

I'm driving a 13 year old Lexus that cost me 2.5k tax is €1k p.a. averages 11.5l/100km and I fúcking love it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,280 ✭✭✭✭Eric Cartman

ofcork wrote: »
    Surprise that lexus has major expensive components replaced with only 120k km on it,is the reliability not great for some reason.

luxury cars are always going to have expensive new tech bits that fail.
    I severely doubt in a real world head to head that a 2010 lexus LS460 and a bmw 750i would be that much different in cost to run over the same period. Now the only caveat to that is that the japanese tend to focus more on over-engineering a feature than being the first one to have it, so in general the fancy toys which are always what break/are expensive to fix on those cars tend to be 5 years behind the europeans, so when it ends up in a lexus all the major bugs have been worked out.

https://www.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/range-rover-sport/22910364

Y2EyMjI4ZjZlODUxNjU0ZWJkMjkzZDNkYTUxNDk3Yzj3QEgXUqP-CD2Qsb4vL7iRaHR0cDovL3MzLWV1LXdlc3QtMS5hbWF6b25hd3MuY29tL2RvbmVkZWFsLmllLXBob3Rvcy9waG90b18xMzIwNTczMzR8fHwxMjAweDEyMDB8fHx8fHx8fA==.jpeg

not a range rover sport but a 4.2 supercharged , its 2006 so has more reliable electrics and the more modern navigation system, could easily be haggled into barge price and its a crewcab on the logbook so probably the cheapest tax 4.2 supercharged petrol car available.

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 9,763 Mod ✭✭✭✭ToxicPaddy

https://www.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/range-rover-hse-high-spec-tax-nct/23223451

MTc2ZTAxNWRjZGVmMGRjMmNmMjdhODQ2ZTFlNzdkNTGioymtZIdgcCVZjLW5ITR0aHR0cDovL3MzLWV1LXdlc3QtMS5hbWF6b25hd3MuY29tL2RvbmVkZWFsLmllLXBob3Rvcy9waG90b18xMzQzOTAwNjJ8fHw2MDB4NjAwfHx8fHx8fHw=.jpeg

Speak of the devil, a very honest advert for a 2003 RR with an NCT for another 6 months. I'm sure it could be negotiated to Luxobarge prices.

Makes a refreshing pleasant change to see such honesty in an advert for a car tbh

ToxicPaddy wrote: »
    Always loved these. Knew someone who had a Range Rover, beautiful beast but there was always something wrong with it, which was usually accompanied by a rather hefty repair bill so it always scared me away from buying one.

Still would if I ever get the bank balance in better shape. Just bought a new house so that may be a few years away yet :p

Theyre really not as bad as everyone thinks, the air springs last 75k miles on the front, 120k miles on the back , buy decent ones and dont leave it broken so the compressor doesnt burn itself out and thats most of your issue there sorted.

Using an LR specialist makes a huge odds to the reliability, the diesels have some turbo issues but to be fair there was a massive overhaul by ford for the 2006 midel year and after that the reliability is massively improved.

Ive had my 2010MY for 3.5 years , its been on the road 98% of the time ive owned it , turbos have been the only big bill (5k) but aside from that its hands down the best car ive ever owned.

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 9,763 Mod ✭✭✭✭ToxicPaddy

Theyre really not as bad as everyone thinks, the air springs last 75k miles on the front, 120k miles on the back , buy decent ones and dont leave it broken so the compressor doesnt burn itself out and thats most of your issue there sorted.

Using an LR specialist makes a huge odds to the reliability, the diesels have some turbo issues but to be fair there was a massive overhaul by ford for the 2006 midel year and after that the reliability is massively improved.

Ive had my 2010MY for 3.5 years , its been on the road 98% of the time ive owned it , turbos have been the only big bill (5k) but aside from that its hands down the best car ive ever owned.

Owning one is definitely on my bucket list, but the thoughts of a €5k bill atm is putting shivers down my spine.

Give it a couple of years when the shock of a large mortgage doing unspeakable things to my bank account each month disappears and I'll rethink getting one :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 160 ✭✭KB22

A byeline on another site :- "Land Rover making mechanic's out of owner's for 50 year's" No comment! ( from a Range Rover owner)

• Registered Users Posts: 4,485 ✭✭✭KevRossi

pah wrote: »
    I'm driving a 13 year old Lexus that cost me 2.5k tax is €1k p.a. averages 11.5l/100km and I fúcking love it

Have an 06 RX 400h, paid €2800 and got it registered as a crew cab, so €330 tax. Does everything from 7.9l/100 Km to 12l/100Km, but driven normally it's usually just below 10l/100Km. Went to sell it a couple of times, but it's too good to get rid of it.
    KB22 wrote: »
    A byeline on another site :- "Land Rover making mechanic's out of owner's for 50 year's" No comment! ( from a Range Rover owner)

The old Landies had the motto - "they never die, but they're always sick", after having had 2 of them I can only agree.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,451 ✭✭✭CharlieCroker

Toyota in Oz had an advert years ago:

"If you want to drive into the bush, buy a Landrover. if you want to drive back out again, buy a landcruiser"

• Registered Users Posts: 4,321 ✭✭✭m17

https://www.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/2010-mercedes-benz-s-class-lwb-top-spec/23154223
    T0yVNMS.jpg
    2010 mercedes benz s class 298,000miles nct 01/2020 €6,500

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,590 ✭✭✭tossy

Toyota in Oz had an advert years ago:

"If you want to drive into the bush, buy a Landrover. if you want to drive back out again, buy a landcruiser"

Similar saying in Morocco he who drives into the desert in a landrover drivers back out in a landcruiser

• Registered Users Posts: 4,485 ✭✭✭KevRossi

m17 wrote: »
    2010 mercedes benz s class 298,000miles nct 01/2020 €6,500

10 year old S-Klasse, 300,000 miles and the steering wheel trim is falling to bits. That's an embarrassment for Mercedes.

Great price for the car though, especially if the FSH checks out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,047 ✭✭✭Truckermal

Just a quick note about Barges which most of ye know....

Forums are brilliant so join and post on them all as they provide some fantastic information on DIY fixes and other useful information.

The reason for posting this I purchased a very cheap LS earlier in the year and driving it home it became apparent the suspension was knackered. Anyways took it to my mechanic who diagnosed a kaput shock that costs 900 quid.

Anyways phoned a buddy who is not a mechanic but very mechanically minded and asked could these shocks be refurbished, upon inspection all the little sticks (Yes their is a proper name) were seized with the front left being completely broken. Their is one of these on each wheel and they adjust the height of the suspension.

Anyways we fixed all them but the front left was still down but not as bad!!!!! I bit the bullet and took it to Macroom motors who told me i needed 4 new shocks at a price of €4500...
    I knew this was wrong so went back to the drawing board and changed the part of the levelling sensor (stick) from the driver's side and wow the front left was perfect and the front right was down...

I went back to my buddy again and he made up a longer piece of threaded bar and it levelled out perfectly to my amazement.

Anyways car went for NCT yesterday and the tester said the suspension is perfect plus it drives like a dream now! So be careful with what the so called expert's tell you and do lots of research!

Oops didn't realise I went on for so long..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,234 ✭✭✭darragh o meara

Truckermal wrote: »
    Just a quick note about Barges which most of ye know....

Forums are brilliant so join and post on them all as they provide some fantastic information on DIY fixes and other useful information.

The reason for posting this I purchased a very cheap LS earlier in the year and driving it home it became apparent the suspension was knackered. Anyways took it to my mechanic who diagnosed a kaput shock that costs 900 quid.

Anyways phoned a buddy who is not a mechanic but very mechanically minded and asked could these shocks be refurbished, upon inspection all the little sticks (Yes their is a proper name) were seized with the front left being completely broken. Their is one of these on each wheel and they adjust the height of the suspension.

Anyways we fixed all them but the front left was still down but not as bad!!!!! I bit the bullet and took it to Macroom motors who told me i needed 4 new shocks at a price of €4500...
    I knew this was wrong so went back to the drawing board and changed the part of the levelling sensor (stick) from the driver's side and wow the front left was perfect and the front right was down...

I went back to my buddy again and he made up a longer piece of threaded bar and it levelled out perfectly to my amazement.

Anyways car went for NCT yesterday and the tester said the suspension is perfect plus it drives like a dream now! So be careful with what the so called expert's tell you and do lots of research!

Oops didn't realise I went on for so long..

Some mechanics wouldn’t be used to dealing with complex self levelling suspension and would be quick to replace a part than to try fix what’s there, that to me is the difference between a good mechanic and a bad one. Years ago mechanics were trained to fix the broken part as best they could and it was rare the part was discarded unless completely knackered whereas nowadays it’s a remove and replace methodology that is thought.

Luxobarges can be an expensive item to run but having a good mechanic definitely helps a lot and can save you a fortune.

Some mechanics wouldn’t be used to dealing with complex self levelling suspension and would be quick to replace a part than to try fix what’s there, that to me is the difference between a good mechanic and a bad one. Years ago mechanics were trained to fix the broken part as best they could and it was rare the part was discarded unless completely knackered whereas nowadays it’s a remove and replace methodology that is thought.

Luxobarges can be an expensive item to run but having a good mechanic definitely helps a lot and can save you a fortune.

absolutely +1 , I think this is where a lot of 'reliability concerns' come in. Cars with complex systems should be brought to specialists or highly recommended mechanics. The amount of times ive seen people complain about the cost of repairing high end cars and it was the mechanic either being a glorified parts fitter or not knowing that certain problems don't present as they usually would because of the specific car

e.g. - A range rover's suspension system needs to be put into alignment mode to do a wheel alignment or else it will eat tyres and shorten the life of the air springs, luckily I can do this myself and let a tyre shop get on with their job but the amount of other owners ive talked to who were getting 20k out of a set of tyres and im getting 60...

100% agree here.

Had a mondeo years ago and there were a few problems with the rear lights. Took to a local dealership who quoted me over €1k as the interior would have to be lifted out to replace the wiring loom as it could be a damaged cable.

Friend recommended a local independent mechanic who used to work for a main dealers for years before going out on his own.

He swapped the switch and noticed some issues with the connection on one of the wires going into the switch connection, fixed that in 5 mins and lights were working perfectly after that, charged me €70 including the cost of a new switch.

I told him what the dealership said, he laughed his a*s off calling them a bunch of muppets :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,853 ✭✭✭✭Idbatterim

A big considerartion when buying my s500 was having a very very good mechanic , who’s last resort is to throw new parts at it. Car has cost me virtually nothing in maintenance after two years of ownership...

I probably wouldn’t have bought an older s500 without that mechanic. The motor tax and fuel is enough to get done on, couldn’t be breaking the bank being gouged on labour and parts ...

• Registered Users Posts: 347 ✭✭marcos_94

Idbatterim wrote: »
    A big considerartion when buying my s500 was having a very very good mechanic , who’s last resort is to throw new parts at it. Car has cost me virtually nothing in maintenance after two years of ownership...

I probably wouldn’t have bought an older s500 without that mechanic. The motor tax and fuel is enough to get done on, couldn’t be breaking the bank being gouged on labour and parts ...

Who do you use if you dont mind saying?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,853 ✭✭✭✭Idbatterim

Pm sent marcos

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,506 ✭✭✭Interslice

Interslice wrote: »

spec isnt fantastic and why are these going up in price, a year or 2 ago you could get early model petrol e65s for just shy of 2 grand.

It’s very expensive for a pre facelift.

Very very expensive.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,735 ✭✭✭✭tom1ie

Hi guys, not sure if I should’ve started a new thread for this so mods feel free to move.
    I’m in the market for a petrol car, sub 5k, preferably a smaller car as it’s really only for driving around Dublin with trips of approx 7k the days my wife isn’t cycling.
    She would prefer a smaller car, but not tiny. Eg an Astra would be great a Corsa would do.
    I have a 2ltr insignia diesel for the longer trips around the country. We are trying to keep the bills low, so low road tax would be great, but if we could get a reliable low cost car with a not as low road tax bill that wouldn’t be too bad.
    The insignia is a 2011 Sri so has lots of extras so if possible this car should have a nice spec level.
    Any ideas?
    Thanks for all your help guys.

tom1ie wrote: »
    Hi guys, not sure if I should’ve started a new thread for this so mods feel free to move.
    I’m in the market for a petrol car, sub 5k, preferably a smaller car as it’s really only for driving around Dublin with trips of approx 7k the days my wife isn’t cycling.
    She would prefer a smaller car, but not tiny. Eg an Astra would be great a Corsa would do.
    I have a 2ltr insignia diesel for the longer trips around the country. We are trying to keep the bills low, so low road tax would be great, but if we could get a reliable low cost car with a not as low road tax bill that wouldn’t be too bad.
    The insignia is a 2011 Sri so has lots of extras so if possible this car should have a nice spec level.
    Any ideas?

you couldnt have picked a wronger thread :pac:, have a look for one called bangernomics

Lol! Sorry.

Any ideas?

I’d be getting rid of the diesel insignia before I’d invest in another car.

I’ve had it for 4 years without any problems and have got the oil seal replaced about 2 months ago on the advice of a mechanic friend of mine. It’s a lovley car with a nice Sri spec and hasn’t given me any bother tbh, but I know they’ve a bad rep.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,320 ✭✭✭CoBo55

I’ve had it for 4 years without any problems and have got the oil seal replaced about 2 months ago on the advice of a mechanic friend of mine. It’s a lovley car with a nice Sri spec and hasn’t given me any bother tbh, but I know they’ve a bad rep.

You've a great car once the seal is done. Every third engine oil change get the gearbox oil done too and you'll have a car for years. Nice to see someone heeding good advice.

Yeah fair play to you! I normally shudder at the thoughts of those insignias but yours sounds like it will go and go.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,079 ✭✭✭✭Duke O Smiley

spec isnt fantastic and why are these going up in price, a year or 2 ago you could get early model petrol e65s for just shy of 2 grand.
    It’s very expensive for a pre facelift.

Very very expensive.

I used to see that car very regularly on my evening commute home down the quays. It always drew my attention for being an early(ish) example in an unusual colour, and it was always very clean.

47498242972_ed628f5ea8_c.jpg

It is quite expensive, and there are loads of other, much better buys for the same money, but a low mileage, clean, 1 owner, Irish-from-new example of one of these is as rare as a rare thing. Most of them by now have fallen into the hands of neglectful owners.

I'd say in a few years time it will be worth a nice few quid, but as it stands its not worth near the current asking (IMO).