Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Phrases we'll never use again

• 15-12-2014 1:29pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 809 ✭✭✭

Was thinking -in these rapidly changing times we'll never hear the likes of e.g.

"what's the Videoplus code for that?"

over to you..

• Registered Users Posts: 88 ✭✭180567

"Smoking or non-smoking ?" (when checking in for a flight)

• Registered Users Posts: 13,844 ✭✭✭✭somesoldiers

Water is free and soap is cheap, my mam always said that

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,577 ✭✭✭lord lucan

"did you tape programme xxxxx?"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,943 ✭✭✭smcgiff

"That'll be €5," said the templebar publican.

smcgiff wrote: »

unless it's for a soft drink

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 485 ✭✭SoapMcTavish

" did you tape the film ?"

"pay the bus conductor"

"coming right up on Sky Sports Super Sunday, we'll have Andy Gray's analysis"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,304 ✭✭✭Lucena

smcgiff wrote: »

You've been following the Wetherspoons threads, haven't you? ;)

Lucena wrote: »
    You've been following the Wetherspoons threads, haven't you? ;)

No, just a past frequenter.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,391 ✭✭✭✭mikom

"Jim fixed it for me".

"As safe as houses."

"it could happen to a bishop" ... It certainly can.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,666 ✭✭✭✭silverharp

go on , give us a call on 01-8118055

A belief in gender identity involves a level of faith as there is nothing tangible to prove its existence which, as something divorced from the physical body, is similar to the idea of a soul. - Colette Colfer

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 809 ✭✭✭filbert the fox

Send a stamped addressed envelope to......

where's the Tippex?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,512 ✭✭✭✭whisky_galore

Those lads are a right shower of Balubas.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,564 ✭✭✭✭whiskeyman

Make sure you rewind it before you bring it back to Xtravision...

What level of snake are you on?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 481 ✭✭anonyanony

"Catch a ****** by the toe"

When playing tag

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,012 ✭✭✭uch

where's the Tippex?

Jaysus, a fella in the office was looking for some this morning

21/25

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,589 ✭✭✭DoozerT6

'Is there a payphone near here?"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,394 ✭✭✭Sheldons Brain

DoozerT6 wrote: »
    'Is there a payphone near here?"

press Button A

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,018 ✭✭✭man_no_plan

..answers on a postcard please!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,711 ✭✭✭C.K Dexter Haven

At the signal, it will be 11, 18 and zero seconds

Doubleu, doubleu, doubleu, dot

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,938 ✭✭✭✭Tell me how

"I'll drive, I've only had a few."

"Take the phone off the hook"

"What's on the other channel"

"Give us the arse of that" (to a fellow teenage smoker)

"I got it with milk tokens"

"Shush, it's the Angelus"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,018 ✭✭✭man_no_plan

Put 50 pence in the meter (electricity)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,923 ✭✭✭vektarman

"I'm going out for a spin on my velocipede".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,493 ✭✭✭cml387

"Two little boys had two little toys.."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,512 ✭✭✭✭whisky_galore

'Stick a few sods of turf on the fire, Bridie.'

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,489 ✭✭✭Deep Thought

silverharp wrote: »

wow....Loved that programme,

The narrower a man’s mind, the broader his statements.

butts on ya... (when someone eating an apple)

meet UCC at eight o clock

butts on ya... (when someone eating an apple)

Liverpool are the champions of England!

Liverpool fan :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,357 ✭✭✭Beano

silverharp wrote: »

is it worrying that i remember what that number is from?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,304 ✭✭✭Lucena

Beano wrote: »
    is it worrying that i remember what that number is from?

What is it from?

• Registered Users Posts: 143 ✭✭Inspector Dhar

where's the Tippex?
    A bit off-topic, but many years ago, I worked with a Tim-Nice-But-Dim. He had joined Weight Watchers and was delighted with his progress. A colleague one day waved a bottle of Tippex at him, and asked him had he got any thinner. Poor ole Tim proceeded to announce that he had lost 4 and a half pounds that week, and he got a gold star as 'Slimmer of the Week'. My how we laughed.:D

• Registered Users Posts: 1,200 ✭✭✭superfurry1

Oh me name is Joe Mcdonnell. Pity wont stop Delaney from being a Sap.

Lucena wrote: »
    What is it from?

Swop Shop. With Noel Edmonds.

A bit off-topic, but many years ago, I worked with a Tim-Nice-But-Dim. He had joined Weight Watchers and was delighted with his progress. A colleague one day waved a bottle of Tippex at him, and asked him had he got any thinner. Poor ole Tim proceeded to announce that he had lost 4 and a half pounds that week, and he got a gold star as 'Slimmer of the Week'. My how we laughed.:D

i dont get that. at all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,063 ✭✭✭Greenmachine

"I'd like to send a telegram"
    "It doesn't just make calls, it makes texts too"
    "Put a coat hanger in the back of it"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,012 ✭✭✭uch

Do you Take Butter Vouchers ?
    Grand Give us Ten Major so

21/25

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,923 ✭✭✭vektarman

Beano wrote: »
    i dont get that. at all.

Probably a reference to tippex as (a) thinner.

• Registered Users Posts: 723 ✭✭✭Luke92

Get off that internet, I need to make a phone call!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,782 ✭✭✭✭padd b1975

"I'd like to send a telegram"
    "It doesn't just make calls, it makes texts too"
    "Put a coat hanger in the back of it"

Telegrams being read out as part of the wedding speeches.

vektarman wrote: »

You could/can get something called Tippex thinner- it thinned out the original fat blob of Tippex you poured out onto your original mistake and made it, erm, thinner:P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,063 ✭✭✭Greenmachine

padd b1975 wrote: »
    Telegrams being read out as part of the wedding speeches.

My only knowledge of telegrams, apart from knowing of their existence is that my parent had kept the telegrams from their wedding.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,759 ✭✭✭✭thesandeman

"Shur you can have a shower at my place".
    "You can use my washing machine".
    "Do you want ice?".

• Registered Users Posts: 143 ✭✭Inspector Dhar

vektarman wrote: »
    Tippex used to get very thick and gloopy and eventually cement-like. The cure was Tippex Thinner- almost like nail-varnish remover. Sheesh.. talk about my funny little anecdote falling flat on it's poor little face...:cool:

"unsinkable"

"... the war to end all wars"

" I'll have Matchbox car no. 57"

"gis a twopenny wafer"

"..eh The Sunday Trib, the News of the World and The Metro Herald"(after tomorrow)

oh no, is metro herald on the way out? will save me having to say "no thanks" every morning to the lad that gives it out at my train station

Tippex used to get very thick and gloopy and eventually cement-like. The cure was Tippex Thinner- almost like nail-varnish remover. Sheesh.. talk about my funny little anecdote falling flat on it's poor little face...:cool:

sorry about that. just blame it on old age