Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Motorway driving

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,733 ✭✭✭✭corktina

OhMyGod123 wrote:
    This morning was amazing, as I cruied in the left hand lane on the M1 I must have gone by at least 20 cars in the far lane that were just out there for the sake of it, it amazes me, the lack of responsability people on the roads are willing to take on to do things right.
    Last time I came to Dublin, I had the inside lane all to myself and undertook everyone.....yeah I know I shouldn't have but......

PS white van driver exempt from regulations....:rolleyes: :cool:

• Registered Users Posts: 53 ✭✭OhMyGod123

Is there rule on Boards that stops us from naming (Make/Model/Reg) of vehicles that are taking the p*ss on the roads????????

corktina wrote:
    Last time I came to Dublin, I had the inside lane all to myself and undertook everyone.....yeah I know I shouldn't have but......

PS white van driver exempt from regulations....:rolleyes: :cool:

Always a bit of a dilemma, illegally undertake or sneak up behind them and Honk & flash till they move. :mad:

Sometimes it's just easier to undertake. :(

• Registered Users Posts: 3,888 ✭✭✭Terrontress

Always a bit of a dilemma, illegally undertake or sneak up behind them and Honk & flash till they move. :mad:

Sometimes it's just easier to undertake. :(

It's not illegal to undertake if you are within the speed limit and the overtaking lane is moving more slowly than the speed limit.

The trouble comes when you move into the inside lane specifically to undertake.

I usually give a flash of the lights. Alot of people move over and then come back out once I am past and flash at me to get me back!

• Registered Users Posts: 905 ✭✭✭steve-o

It's not illegal to undertake if you are within the speed limit and the overtaking lane is moving more slowly than the speed limit.
    I make up my own rules as well. But for some reason the Guards never accept my rules :(

• Registered Users Posts: 5,081 ✭✭✭fricatus

4) for some reason unknown to me, people indicate right when they are going straight on at a roundabout:confused:

And they do so from the left-hand lane of the roundabout, which confuses me even further!

• Registered Users Posts: 2,278 ✭✭✭mackerski

This is gear. Two people so far prove the OP's assertion that Irish people don't know how to drive on motorways, and one of them is the OP...

fricatus wrote:
    And they do so from the left-hand lane of the roundabout, which confuses me even further!
    i think they do this because people are so used to cars not indicating left to turn off that if you arent indicating something they ASSUME you are turning left when you steer to the left on entering the roundabout before steering right to go round it to the second exit....it emphaises that you arent going left I guess.....i just stick on the hazzards and close my eyes and hope for the best personally....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,359 ✭✭✭cyclopath2001

From RTE today:
    Private security guards have shot and killed two women in the Iraqi capital, Baghdad....... It is understood members of the firm were escorting a civilian convoy through the streets and signalled for a woman driving a car to pull over as they passed.

When she failed to do so they opened fire, killing her and the woman next to her.
    The M1 may be bad, there are worse places in the world.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,017 ✭✭✭Brian CivilEng

Davidth88 wrote:
    You get constant people blocking lane 2 on the motorways in England, Ill be interested to see how the M50 flows like when we hvae 3 lanes . My guess

lane 1 trucks , trucks and more trucks
    lane 2 cars doing 100 kph
    lane 3 people trying to do the speed limit, getting blocked by people doing 100kph

AFAIK the M50 will have a 100kph speed limit post redevelopment. It was in the EIS somewhere...

I'm just a leaner driver myself (I'm 25, figured it's time to start), but my better half is from Scandinavia. It's such a breath of fresh air to sit in the passenger seat while she drives, cruises at about the speed limit in the left lane, a quick change to the right lane for overtaking and back in to the left lane with a good distance back to the car behind. I recon I've got a good teacher.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,082 ✭✭✭Chris_533976

OhMyGod123 wrote:
    Sancadinavian

hahaha sorry but thats the worst attempt at spelling Scandinavian that I have EVER seen ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1 DanceFever

I think woman are safer drivers than most men:p

• Registered Users Posts: 795 ✭✭✭jrar

microgirl wrote: »
    I have to admit to being an "overtaking lane hogger", or at least driver, although it's mostly on the M50. This is because, weather and the like permitting, I actually like to be able to drive at 110-120Kmh. It's pretty much impossible to do this on the driving lane of the M50, as most people in there drive at about 80Kmh, and there's rarely enough room between cars to stick in the proper lane doing 110+ and pop into the overtake lane when you want to overtake. It'd be foolhardy and dangerous to try. So generally I just stick in the right-hand lane, because it's safer.

If there's a good clear gap in the driving lane, then I'm in, no question, or when some eejit in the overtake line drives up my bum when I'm *already* doing the speed limit. Not my problem if he wants to break the law, so I'll slip left at the first available opportunity. Though it's not always easy because, as mentioned, it frequently involves dropping from 120Kmh to 80Kmh, and trying to fit into the 50m between the two cars doing said speed in the left lane.

Ohhhh, driving in France was such a pleasure :D

I would have thought that anyone who drove for any length of time in France (or most European countries with a motorway network) would know only too well not to stay in the overtaking lane for a micro-second longer than is necessary, unless you want to be rear-ended at speed !

I've always noticed on French autoroutes that even large powerful cars tend to overtaken and pull back in to the right straight away, and IF the need arose to overtake more than one vehicle in the one manoeuvre, then it is standard to keep one's indicator on continuously to demonstrate to other road users that you're "staying" out in the overtaking lane a little longer etc.

I'm always surprised not to find more accidents involving Irish drivers esp. on sections of dual carriageway / motorway close to the French ports etc. given the way that so many drivers behave on our limited m-way network.

DanceFever wrote: »
    I think woman are safer drivers than most men:p

statistically that appears so however I feel that if the mileage driven was factored in, men would be shown to be safer drivers....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,221 ✭✭✭BrianD

I was listening to Newstalk this morning and they were talking about motorway driving. Surprisingly neither presenter could speak with authority on the subject ... I would have thought that someone could check the ROTR. The read out a text from a driver who claimed he knew his stuff and that it was alright drive in the overtaking lane as long as you sat on the speedlimit. That's assuming the driver even knows the speedlimit!

BrianD wrote: »
    I was listening to Newstalk this morning and they were talking about motorway driving. Surprisingly neither presenter could speak with authority on the subject ... I would have thought that someone could check the ROTR. The read out a text from a driver who claimed he knew his stuff and that it was alright drive in the overtaking lane as long as you sat on the speedlimit. That's assuming the driver even knows the speedlimit!

lots of people have that attitude I fear...however what my car shows at 120K/mh on the speedo might be 10% different to what someone elses shows....ie 12 k/mh...i think tyre wear etc affects the wheel diameter and therefore the speedo reading...so if I think Im doing 120k i MIGHT only be doing 108 and annoying loads of people. We're not Gards...move over and let 'em by.....

• Registered Users Posts: 429 ✭✭microgirl

The left hand lane is MUCH safer because there is no pressure to get in front of the car in front, it's more dangerous to be the front car in a "train" (that is what you create when you live in the overtaking lane) touch the brakes and collect half a dozen in the boot!

One wonders did you actually read my post at all ;)

I disagree that the left hand lane is safer when you wish to travel at or near 120kph (conditions permitting) and the left hand lane is predominantly driving at 80-90kph, as it would require you to weave in and out far too frequently. Obviously, if there's no-one IN the left hand lane, or distane between cars is sufficient that I can be in said lane for more than 30 seconds, then I drive in the left hand lane :)

If you are going slower than the cars behind you you should give way to them, let them pass then overtake the slower ones in front of you again. That way you reduce the risk of multi vehicle pile-ups caused when cars bunch up because some idiot is blocking the overtaking lane.

BTW: I practice what I preach, 80-90% of the time I drive on the left, overtake then back to the left, leaving a good gap in front of me.

PS I learned to drive in the UK.

And as I believe I said, I *do* generally allow cars behind me to overtake me (even though it means they are breaking the speed limit and thus the law) IF it is safe to do so. Again, if I'm driving at 120kph, the left hand lane is busy and travelling at 80-90kph, I can't pull in without significant danger. If I slow down sufficiently to slip into a relatively small gap at 80kph, then the speed-freak 5 foot behind me travelling at 140kph plows up my rear. Or alternatively pull in at 120kph and then have to slam on the brakes to try to avoid plowing in to the slow-poke in front of me.

There needs to be a sufficient space between cars in the left hand lane for me to be able to pull in safely, without having to significantly drop my speed. A small drop is ok, but it's not always a small drop (I try to squash the resentment I feel at being forced to drop my speed and slink in to the left hand lane just because I'm driving AT the speed limit rather than over it ;)

Not sure what learning to drive in the UK has to do with anything. Some of the worst driving I've seen has been on UK motorways. And I don't believe there's a single person in that country that obeys the speed limit on big roads :)

theres no problem with continually changing lanes providing it is done safely and properley....thats why theres an overtaking lane.

You are quite right Micro girl (pleez tell me it isnt MICRA girl...) if you are in the overtaking lane at whatever speed that is Ok providing you are overtaking...if there isnt an oppurtunity to pull back in without reducing your speed due to dense slower moving traffic , then you shouldnt try....until a suitable gap presents itself.

• Registered Users Posts: 24,960 ✭✭✭✭Wishbone Ash

And I don't believe there's a single person in that country that obeys the speed limit on big roads :)
    The thousands of drivers out there, who drive vehicles with an 85kph speed limiter fitted, would beg to differ! ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,082 ✭✭✭Chris_533976

I obey the speed limits on 'big roads', even the new 60kmh sections on the N25 near the Amgen site.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,571 ✭✭✭Reg'stoy

As someone who travels both the M1 and M50 twice a day at least, might I give ye my 10c worth.

Firstly the vast majority of drivers do not obey speed limits in Ireland, point in case being the new entry road onto the M1 from airside, this road has a limit of 60k, agree or disagree it's the law but 99% of drivers do not hold to this.

Next when you are on the M1 and approach the Airport exit the limit drops to 80k and rightly so imo because you have traffic merging from the airport and also trying to leave and join the M50, lets be honest here how many of ye hold to this 80k.

I saw one of the worst cases of driving ever here, car in the left lane obeying the limit (one of the few) was being pressured by white van driver to speed up, having no success he moves right where every car and I mean every car is exceeding 80k. White van is then incapable of passing car (heavy load maybe) and he inturn is flashed and pressurised by drivers to move left, ego hurt he jecks left narrowly avoiding the law abiding motorist causing them to break hard. All because some idiot didn't agree with anothers adherence to the speed limit.

Next the 120k limit or should we say the 120k target on motorways because from what I have read here most people seem to spend their journeys with one eye on their speedos, again lets be honest here 120 is deemed to be a safe speed at which to be traveling at in perfect driving conditions and how often do we get that in ireland. It always amazes me at the amount of idiots still doing this speed and quite often above it in rain and mist etc.

Hands up who obeys the temporary 60k limit on the M50, well, so lets get real and all look at our own driving before blaming others, speeding kills plain and simple (I see the results of this in my work :() not lane hogging and before the usual retort of motorways are safer than other roads is expressed, there are a greater number of accidents then normal on the M50, M1 interchanges just check the number of skid marks (safely) on the roads along here the next time you use them.

So instead of flashing or driving on the bumper of some one hogging the right lane just relax, I know this may be hard but do try. Please also when you see a 50 or 60k limit it's there for a reason usually because it's a residential area which means children are liable to be around, enough said hopefully.

I know I may have gone off topic but in my experience people who drive badly and speeding is bad driving also drive badly on secondary and minor roads. Limits are not money earners and those who preach otherwise are not at all concerned with road safety, there in place to save lives.

The funny thing is that most journeys take less than half an hour in Dublin (I'm talking off peak) so we don't really make up a huge amount of time by getting there faster by speeding do we :rolleyes:.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,027 ✭✭✭cazzy

I hate when people move into the fast lane and drive slower than people in the slow lane - does me head in. then people start overtking on the left and that annoys me just as much.

I drive galway to dublin quite a bit mainly at weekends and the fast lane generally moves at 130-140 kph and higher and the slower lane generally moves from 120-130 kph. It is rare someone sits on 12o kph.

I have never seen guards on it. The 100kph national road after the motorway geneally moves at 120 kph. dont see why it cant be made a motorway as it looks like one and would be perrfectly safe for 120 kph.

I know lots of L drivers that drive on the motorwy also. They just take off their L plates . Only know one person that ever obeyed that rule.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,543 ✭✭✭Padraig Mor

if distane between cars is sufficient that I can be in said
    lane for more than 30 seconds, then I drive in the left hand lane :)

/shakes head. Oh dear.....

• Registered Users Posts: 20,932 ✭✭✭✭Stark

/shakes head. Oh dear.....

?

⛥ ̸̱̼̞͛̀̓̈́͘#C̶̼̭͕̎̿͝R̶̦̮̜̃̓͌O̶̬͙̓͝W̸̜̥͈̐̾͐Ṋ̵̲͔̫̽̎̚͠ͅT̸͓͒͐H̵͔͠È̶̖̳̘͍͓̂W̴̢̋̈͒͛̋I̶͕͑͠T̵̻͈̜͂̇Č̵̤̟̑̾̂̽H̸̰̺̏̓ ̴̜̗̝̱̹͛́̊̒͝⛥

bear in mind that your speedos version of 80 or 100 k may be different to someone elses...they arent very accurate.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,543 ✭✭✭Padraig Mor

Stark wrote: »
    ?

I presume you're not defending someone driving in the overtaking lane for 30 seconds whilst not actually overtaking?

• Registered Users Posts: 15 jenna558

transylman wrote: »
    What is the acceptable way for dealing with overtaking lane hoggers. I know the usual thing is to give them some flashes of your headlights but would it be alright to give them a few blasts with your horn as well?
    Personally, if people use the horn for anything other than alerting to danger or maybe getting someone to move if they're at a green light for over 10 seconds, I find this really annoying as it stresses me. When I hear a horn near me, I usually feel like 'Is it me that is being beeped at?' although it rarely is. Honestly, if it is something as harmless (albeit maybe annoying) as a fast lane hogger, please just undertake them if light flashing does not work. It's much less stressful for those around. I'm not a fast lane hogger (or tailgater) by the way!