Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

jimmy from fair city

• 12-04-2008 8:26pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 10

Why does Jimmy look in to the middle distance all the time while talking to another character? I think it was to portray guilt to start with but now he constantly looks like he is staring at a spot on the wall.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,005 ✭✭✭✭Toto Wolfcastle

rope wrote: »
    Why does Jimmy look in to the middle distance all the time while talking to another character? I think it was to portray guilt to start with but now he constantly looks like he is staring at a spot on the wall.

I think.....and I could be wrong.....it might have something to do with the lack of acting ability.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,050 ✭✭✭✭tk123

janeybabe wrote: »
    I think.....and I could be wrong.....it might have something to do with the lack of acting ability.

lol :pac::pac::pac::pac:

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 827 ✭✭✭Brian Capture

Crap actor.

A f**king joke.

Looks like Gary Kelly.

Is the second actor to play that part - which instantly gives him zero credibility.

In real life, David Mitchell comes across as a scumbag.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,688 ✭✭✭kerash

Looks like Gary Kelly

Although Gary Kelly would be the better actor:pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,598 ✭✭✭Saint_Mel

rope wrote: »

Reading cue cards... ehhh ... ehh ... ehhhh ... ehhh ... ehhhh ...

Saint_Mel wrote: »
    Reading cue cards... ehhh ... ehh ... ehhhh ... ehhh ... ehhhh ...

That could make sense alright! Although why can't he do it like Jack and Vera and put the lines on cigarette packets, etc?

I still maintain that he can't act!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 43 kerryview

middle distance? can he see that far?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10 rope

poor oul jimbo, sure it must be tough fightin off the wimim.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 637 ✭✭✭Lizzykins

Who in the name of God would go for him? He can't act for peanuts. And as for his mother Rita!!!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,709 ✭✭✭BolBill

Lizzykins wrote: »
    Who in the name of God would go for him? He can't act for peanuts. And as for his mother Rita!!!!!

Rita is one of the worst actors in the soap but Leo is the top dog when it comes to inability to act in Fair City

they should rename it to Product Placement City!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 646 ✭✭✭ChuckProphet

What?? Modern day Brando if you ask me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,149 ✭✭✭J.S. Pill

My question is why would Jimmy's ex try to top herself because she got dumped by Jimmy?

He's Jimmy for f**ks sake!

lol well he did dump her for that skank Ally - thats gotta hurt! :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,538 ✭✭✭niceirishfella

Agreed re; Bad actors!

Is there one decent actor in all of em????

- ya man BOB, he's ok, got great voice quality......does loads of VO's on radio ads.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 696 ✭✭✭gogglebok

Is the second actor to play that part - which instantly gives him zero credibility.

In real life, David Mitchell comes across as a scumbag.

I never knew that. Who was the first one?

• Registered Users Posts: 2,379 ✭✭✭toiletduck

Respect to Jimmy for not paying heed to society and continuing on his denim crusade. I don't think I've ever seen him on screen without jeans or a denim jacket.

toiletduck wrote: »
    Respect to Jimmy for not paying heed to society and continuing on his denim crusade. I don't think I've ever seen him on screen without jeans or a denim jacket.

Ah, so that's why he woke up looking so bewildered and, let's face it, stupid the other day in Paul's. The bad acting combined with the non-wearing of denim caused a black hole....in his head.

I'm awaiting a plotline involving Jimmy in a 'Tobias from Arrested Development' denim underwear scenario.

lol - they 'announced' on the radio this morning that he's leaving! I wonder if he read this thread? :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,619 ✭✭✭Fast_Mover

:D:D:D:D
    Just heard on the radio (Spin south west) that Jimmy's leaving fair city after 16yrs!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,619 ✭✭✭Fast_Mover

tk123 wrote: »
    lol - they 'announced' on the radio this morning that he's leaving! I wonder if he read this thread? :D

SNAP!! Great minds eh?!!:p
    Same time and all!!:D

Fast_Mover wrote: »
    :D:D:D:D
    Just heard on the radio (Spin south west) that Jimmy's leaving fair city after 16yrs!!

A national day of mourning is on the cards.

where we all look around randomly to act confused? :D

Sure all we have left now is Rita, who doesn't talk because of the stroke, Suzanne, who's boring, and Bella One Ball. The Doyle family will never be the same!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 637 ✭✭✭Lizzykins

What happened to Bela????!!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,073 ✭✭✭sam34

didnt he have cancer a few years back? prostate i think

tk123 wrote: »
    That's why he was staring off into the middle distance. He was looking for the bus stop.

Maybe he'll take another few with him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 812 ✭✭✭Dellboy2007

He's going to be killed off. He wakes up one morning and sees Ali with no make-up on and dies of a heart attack.

More like Ali kills him with her skanger death stare. "Silence! I kill you!" *skanger death stare* Bye bye Jimmy.

I may have confused Ali with Ahmed the Dead Terrorist though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10 rope

maybe robin kills him by whisking off her artfully placed beret and holding it over his face.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,105 ✭✭✭hiscan

He's going to be killed off. He wakes up one morning and sees Ali with no make-up on and dies of a heart attack.

:D:D:D:D:D

gogglebok wrote: »
    I never knew that. Who was the first one?

no idea. He only lasted one season, 1990 I think.

they also changed Yvonne, Darren and loads more.

Three Farrah Phelans in three seasons. A joke.

Did I mention that David Mitchell is a scumbag in real life ?

Well he is.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,260 ✭✭✭Poochie05

Apparently he's going to the States to study... wait for it..... acting! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,455 ✭✭✭lee_baby_simms

What happened to Bela????!!!!

Bela is a scumbag in real life.

I does be always seein' him smoking outside Kielys in Donnybrook.

Did I mention that David Mitchell is a scumbag in real life ?
    QUOTE]

What did he do? Is it something you can tell us?

General behaviour anytime I've been in his presence.
    Plus his appearance on Celebrity You're A Star or whatever,

It's laughable the way people minds work

He plays an asshole = automatically he's sound in real life

Not true.

General behaviour anytime I've been in his presence.
    Plus his appearance on Celebrity You're A Star or whatever,

It's laughable the way people minds work

He plays an asshole = automatically he's sound in real life

Not true.

Duh. He was obviously staying in character like any method actor worth his salt would.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,028 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

chaz kelly raises the bar for everyone on fair city with his brutal acting

Anyone remember that dope who looked like a monkey and worked in Pizza Action?

What a dope.

Anyone remember that dope who looked like a monkey and worked in Pizza Action?

What a dope.

Is that Hughie? Christy's brother? I think he's coming back for Eunice's funeral.

Please don't let them bring his wife back. She was so screechy. Listening to her was like having rats strangled in your ears. They shouldn't bring back old characters anyway. It never works. Remember Bet Lynch on Corrie? A disaster.

Maybe it's just for an episode or two?

Right. He could be there literally for the funeral.

I think I saw him in the Clinic last year. He was a motorbike courier or something?

Remember Bet Lynch on Corrie? A disaster.

Total disaster.

Then we had Dirty Den making a comeback in Eastenders but he shot himself in the foot by getting his junk out on a webcam in his dressing room.

Getting rid of Harry Molloy was a mistake. He was the real deal. I once saw him shootin the breeze with that old bloke who sells the herald on exchequer street.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 142 ✭✭Aldini98

To be honest Jimmys not the worst on the show when it comes to acting.

Rita is, by a stretch. She couldnt even act asleep the other day.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8 I'mamuppet

Reading this is the best giggle i've had all day. Sure if we didnt have fair city what would they talk about on gift grub?

Bring Billy Mehan back from the dead is all i can say. If they can do it with Dirty Den they can do it with Billy ;)

As for Ritas sleep acting... pretty poor effort

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19 whadyasay

He is bartending in midtown Manhattan. No word of a lie.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 66 ✭✭SWEETCAN2000

whadyasay wrote: »
    He is bartending in midtown Manhattan. No word of a lie.

Who? David? I'd well believe it. How does he expect to make it in the US?
    He's not exactly talented.......................or handsome.
    He came on to me when I was 15 (he was 17) at a friend's 21st. I fobbed him off as I was up for school the next day - that was my excuse anyway. The 'Durty Jimmy' plot thickens.