Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Endurance Racing 2015+

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,196 ✭✭✭pyramuid man

Not a lot of live for the GT Academy driver program from the lads commentating on Eurosport then.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,252 ✭✭✭Sterling Archer

Murphys are out on track

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,354 ✭✭✭smellslikeshoes

Anyone else starting to think the Nissan is going to end up being another AMR-One? They are only as fast as the LMP2s with all the time they have had to prepare, it just seems like they might have bitten off more than they can chew. Pushing its debut back to next year and testing privately till then would have made more sense than racing at Le mans 20+ seconds off the pace in my opinion.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,505 ✭✭✭Killinator

Anyone else starting to think the Nissan is going to end up being another AMR-One? They are only as fast as the LMP2s with all the time they have had to prepare, it just seems like they might have bitten off more than they can chew. Pushing its debut back to next year and testing privately till then would have made more sense than racing at Le mans 20+ seconds off the pace in my opinion.
    Maybe they reckon that the 24 Hours is the best kind of testing they can do.
    With that said, it's very disappointing that they showed up without a working hybrid system knowing how important it is and that it would be dead weight if not functioning.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,364 ✭✭✭✭Larbre34

The concensus here at Le Mans is that the Nissan is a bit of a lemon, gettit?! Its impossible to drive long distance smoothly, its inefficient in many aspects and its purple patches are short. Cant see them finishing myself

Porsche on the other hand, barnstorming pace, but i still think Audi will edge it with metronomic efficiency and reliability. However broken weather with dry and thundery spells could mean lots of fun for mixing up the race

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,915 ✭✭✭✭Frank Bullitt

So Nissan aren't running their hybrid system at all?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,354 ✭✭✭smellslikeshoes

Gintonious wrote: »
    So Nissan aren't running their hybrid system at all?

They still haven't gotten it right so left it out for reliability. Btw If you're watching the coverage they are going to talk about the car in a few minutes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,465 ✭✭✭✭mickdw

I'm watching some of the action from Le Mans. I've never really watched this before but the cornering speeds look fantastic to me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,102 ✭✭✭✭Drummerboy08

mickdw wrote: »
    I'm watching some of the action from Le Mans. I've never really watched this before but the cornering speeds look fantastic to me.

Porsche curves is awesome, especially in person. Spent a few hours sitting there last year watching the LMP1 stuff blowing by the GTE cars thru there, the difference in speed is amazing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,252 ✭✭✭Sterling Archer

#63 Porsche on fire on the mulsanne straight

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,855 ✭✭✭Grim.

jesus the Nissan is an embarrassment

out qualified by the Kolles...

Decent show by Murphys given their troubles last night, jumped from 10th to 8th in the last 10 minutes.

Also sucks that J-Mag's car has been ruled out for the race.

Can't wait for the race now.

Killinator wrote: »
    Decent show by Murphys given their troubles last night, jumped from 10th to 8th in the last 10 minutes.

Also sucks that J-Mag's car has been ruled out for the race.

Can't wait for the race now.

Great recovery from Murphy's, just hope Paterson doesn't feck the race up for them, needs a run like he had at Imola.

yeah disgusted for corvette and j mag, although i wonder if larbre might have a spare chassis in europe

Grim. wrote: »
    Great recovery from Murphy's, just hope Paterson doesn't feck the race up for them, needs a run like he had at Imola.

yeah disgusted for corvette and j mag, although i wonder if larbre might have a spare chassis in europe

Apparently (according to Murphys twitter) they were on course for P6 but hit yellows and lost the lap, shame, but this race ain't won on a Thursday or Friday.
    Hopefully they've gotten the bad luck out of the way and get a clean run and a podium challenge.

Toyota must be kicking themselves that they didn't win last year, they may have missed their best chance. The fact that they were faster in quali last year has to be a worry.

And finally, fair play to Neel Jani, what's likely to be the record lap of La Sarthe, with or without chicane, for quite a while.

oh my

1293850479487335495.jpg

CHTUOqxVEAAhSmX.png:large

• Registered Users Posts: 981 ✭✭✭Lionbacker

Grim. wrote: »
    oh my

And here is an accompanying video:)

Damn, a year too late for me. :P

I...think...I think I need to sit down!

What category will it be in?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,748 ✭✭✭rolexeagle1

Where can I get coverage on the TV? I only get British Eurosport.....

Never mind!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,039 ✭✭✭✭Jordan 199

Gintonious wrote: »
    What category will it be in?

I think it will be in the LM GTE Pro class.

Jordan 191 wrote: »
    I think it will be in the LM GTE Pro class.

Well the number is on a green background so sticking with the LM class colours it is indeed GTE Pro.

Its a bloody stunner.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,789 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

Racedepartment are doing a live stream.

http://www.racedepartment.com/live-stream/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,206 ✭✭✭Zcott

I went a few years in a row back around 2008, and loved every minute of it. Really wish I was there this weekend!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,394 ✭✭✭✭Ghost Train

Hopefully good race ahead

Weather looks alright

Hope ya have comfy seats ready folks :)

no other motor race in the year gives me the buzz this does

First safety car period
    92 car Porsche Team Manthey going out with a some sort of failure and fire, took a while for driver to get out of smoky car

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,886 ✭✭✭_rebelkid

92 Porsche blew its engine, threw oil on the ground, and spun the 13 Rebellion.

CHYrOMCUcAAjLFB.jpg:large

CHYshXGUsAAQTB2.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,084 ✭✭✭afatbollix

It shat itself. Oil all over the track. Will take a while to sort out.

Good that Porsche and Audi were all within a few seconds up front after an hour

afatbollix wrote: »
    It shat itself. Oil all over the track. Will take a while to sort out.

CHYtYmOWoAAm44g.png:large

Lotterer just done a 3:18 :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,084 ✭✭✭afatbollix

Audi #7 into the lead. Lets see how this goes. Only 2 pit stops in 2 hr 20!

afatbollix wrote: »
    Audi #7 into the lead. Lets see how this goes. Only 2 pit stops in 2 hr 20!

The restriction to 12 sets of tyres really has forced long tyre stints. Still exciting racing though.

Murphy Prototypes running P2 in LMP2.

Strange time for a pitstop for no 7 audi, having stopped three laps before

Puncture apparently.

_rebelkid wrote: »
    Murphy Prototypes running P2 in LMP2.

Back to 6th now after pit stops, the safety car has really spread out the LMP2 field.

Audi 8 crashed in traffic? big hit of the barrier

Better hitting the barrier than another car I guess, car looks pretty fast considering

Audi 8 crashed in traffic? big hit of the barrier

Better hitting the barrier than another car I guess, car looks pretty fast considering

One of the Aston's practically stopped. Duval had no where to go. Looks to be only bodywork damage.

CHZExqxWIAAn_Lg.jpg:large

Looks like the Aston cut out and caught everyone by surprise causing a massive traffic jam with nowhere for the Audi to go.

Those Audi mechanics must be magicians :)

EDIT: were the Aston and Corvette slowing for a slow zone at Indianapolis (the loose spoiler)?

_rebelkid wrote: »
    One of the Aston's practically stopped. Duval had no where to go. Looks to be only bodywork damage.

Amazing if they get away with just bodywork, wonder will there be some deeper damage that will appear in the next lap or two, tracking might be off a bit

and the #8 Audi is already back out

They already have the car back out. Lightning speed from Audi.