Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

The "Today I did something to my car" thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,080 ✭✭✭✭Big Nasty

Where I work I can get a box of 100 blue ones for €4. There really is no reason for me not to use them!
    vectra wrote: »
    The blue ones are supposed to be the best ones. Would mind if I could get thos for €4 :eek:

What's this yiz are talking about? Viagra?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,157 ✭✭✭Compton

teehee

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,930 ✭✭✭✭challengemaster

Just picked up a CSL bootlid :D

Got it dirt cheap cos there's a few scratches/scrapes, most of which should come out easy enough :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,412 ✭✭✭andyseadog

Never get any meguiars wheel cleaner in your eye, you can fecking taste it for hours >.<

(goes for anything really, was mist spray back and a "be grand" attitude)

if i had a euro for every time... it does really burn sometimes :mad:

andyseadog wrote: »
    if i had a euro for every time... it does really burn sometimes :mad:

I'm genuinely convinced what I tasted was my eye dissolving....oh well :D

the worst i remember was cleaning the block on my mk1 corsa after i picked it up. the rocker cover had been weeping oil onto it for a lifetime, it was thick with oil.

a bowl of petrol and a 2" paint brush and i was dissolving that oil leaving a lovely fresh looking block, chuffed to bits :D caught the block the wrong way and my **** the pain of the splashback of oil and petrol in my eyes will never be forgotten.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,721 ✭✭✭E39MSport

Try gliptone, lots of lads recommend it. I haven't seen it forsale anywhere local though!

Liquid Leather. Great stuff. They do excellent leather air freshener yokes also. very realistic leather smell.

Here's the new addition :D

EF0FD5C4CAAF4444B67578AFB483B4B2-0000315821-0002905966-00800L-31C01055E1AD40E88221312561ECFA20.jpg

it looks so at home on the couch, just missing the remote and a bottle of beer :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,344 ✭✭✭gollywog

andyseadog wrote: »
    it looks so at home on the couch, just missing the remote and a bottle of beer :pac:

That's where the woman boot lid comes in handy! :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,165 ✭✭✭shanec1928

look at the smilie in the eu logo:pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,585 ✭✭✭✭vectra

@ CM.
    Nice,,

• Subscribers Posts: 6,408 ✭✭✭conzy

Looks the business CM, The scratch looks minor. I would try the DA on it before resorting to sandpaper or something more drastic

conzymaher wrote: »
    Looks the business CM, The scratch looks minor. I would try the DA on it before resorting to sandpaper or something more drastic

Looks minor there but it's a bit more extensive and it's gel coat not clear. One or two parts might need a bit more resin added before sanding it back even an I think then I'll clear coat it for protection

Should be a nice project in learning though!

It's worrying how much I'm posting in this thread lol

New handbrake / gear gaiters arrived today, black alcantara with Msport stitch... now all i need is the rest of the alcantara interior to match >_>

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,157 ✭✭✭✭Alanstrainor

It's worrying how much I'm posting in this thread lol

New handbrake / gear gaiters arrived today, black alcantara with Msport stitch... now all i need is the rest of the alcantara interior to match >_>

Where'd you get the gaiters, need some grey leather ones for mine!

Did your gaiters come with the plastic surrounds so you can simply pop out the old and pop in the new?

Ebay lad, topgaiters was the seller IIRC. Ordered 16th and they were dispatched the same day.

They just come as the gaiters, you can keep the old plastic surrounds as they're mostly just elastic at the bottom so you can just stretch them off/on. Here's a guide I found

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,694 ✭✭✭✭L-M

Ebay lad, topgaiters was the seller IIRC. Ordered 16th and they were dispatched the same day.

They just come as the gaiters, you can keep the old plastic surrounds as they're mostly just elastic at the bottom so you can just stretch them off/on. Here's a guide I found

Banned

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,854 ✭✭✭✭MetzgerMeister

You just reminded me that I need a new gaiter for my car. Rang Mazda to get a price expecting it to be about €130 but it's actually €40 including VAT :D

Right well after ~5 minutes of vigorous tugging..... (:pac:) There's no way in hell that gear knob is coming off to let me put on the new gaiter

It will come off, just don't punch yourself in the face in the process! I had mine off, took a tonne of force to free it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,575 ✭✭✭166man

It will come off, just don't punch yourself in the face in the process! I had mine off, took a tonne of force to free it.

You BMW lads with your vigorous tugging....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 814 ✭✭✭JerCotter7

166man wrote: »
    You BMW lads with your vigorous tugging....

It just takes a firm grasp and tug away.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,985 ✭✭✭✭dgt

If it's like my old E34, stand in the middle of the car, grasp with 2 hands and give it a good yank... Just don't hit your face/balls :pac:

2 cars cleaned today :D pics of just the van as I put the Lensos back on :)
    Image2130.jpg
    Image2131.jpg

Cleaned up the interior too :eek: then promptly put some dirt back in getting in :mad:
    Image2132.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,854 ✭✭✭✭MetzgerMeister

I'm heading to Clonmel tomorrow to pick up new spark plugs, air filter and intercooler grommets to finish off the service I was giving it a few weeks back :pac:

I've also been told that Maxol do indeed sell E5 which is 99 octane. The closest Maxol to me is in Clonmel and since I filled up yesterday and included octane boster, I'll look into seeing if they'll deliver 60 litres to me next time :D

Either that or I'll just drive in boost the whole way and empty the tank for the craic!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,694 ✭✭✭✭L-M

dgt wrote: »
    If it's like my old E34, stand in the middle of the car, grasp with 2 hands and give it a good yank... Just don't hit your face/balls :pac:

2 cars cleaned today :D pics of just the van as I put the Lensos back on :)
    http://www.fiatforum.com/gallery/data/500/medium/Image2130.jpg

You really need to keep those wheels on.

Van looks horrid without them!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,801 ✭✭✭✭Gary ITR

I had a big plan to do loads this weekend but I hurt my back this week and facing into a busy week in work so I might just leave it be, wanted to get the harness in and do some weight reduction for Friday trackday

Gary ITR wrote: »
    I had a big plan to do loads this weekend but I hurt my back this week and facing into a busy week in work so I might just leave it be, wanted to get the harness in and do some weight reduction for Friday trackday

Weight reduction? Like staying off the Eddie Rockets? :D

You really need to keep those wheels on.

Van looks horrid without them!

Cheers! They will be if I can help it :)

Strangely, it's much more comfortable with the low pros and coilys than the lowered springs and van tyres... Has me totally baffled as it was horrid with the low pros an springs on their own :confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,801 ✭✭✭✭Gary ITR

MCMLXXV wrote: »
    Weight reduction? Like staying off the Eddie Rockets? :D

Arsehole...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,186 ✭✭✭BUBBLE WRAP

Yesturday I sparyed the wipers matt black. No point in pictures as the wipers look the exact same as before I sprayed them. :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,382 ✭✭✭baldshin

Finally got round to doing a spruce up of my headlights, been bugging me since I bought the car. Still not perfect but a lot better!

BEFORE:

IMG_0230.jpg

IMG_0231.jpg

AFTER:

IMG_0239.jpg

IMG_0238.jpg

IMG_0240.jpg

.... black MG badge is nice :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,477 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

Today i drove my car like a saint. Got 32mpg from home to sligo

colm_mcm wrote: »

Ah sure that's no fun. I drove my car like a mental patient and I've no idea what mpg I got! I WIN!

colm_mcm wrote: »

...... mine did 30 mpg Dublin to Cork with cruise set to a tad over the 120kph for most of it.

Ah sure that's no fun. I drove my car like a mental patient and I've no idea what mpg I got! I WIN!

likewise, took my glanza up the local hills for a rip this evening, feels so good to be back in a petrol car! i'm not usually one for tearing but sure :pac:

think i've struck a deal on a set of second hand TRD adjustable shocks and springs too, to pick up tomorrow all going to (finantial) plan :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,477 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

It was only an experiment. Normal service will resume tomorrow

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,025 ✭✭✭✭-Corkie-

I changed my brake fluid and finally figured how to change the two pollen filters. D'oh it was in the cars manual...:o

• Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators Posts: 11,144 Mod ✭✭✭✭MarkR

Changed the cabin filter in my avensis. Guess which one is the new one? :eek:

I'm 99.9% sure it was white when I last changed it...

209983.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,720 ✭✭✭Hal1

-Corkie- wrote: »
    I changed my brake fluid and finally figured how to change the two pollen filters. D'oh it was in the cars manual...:o

Which car is that? :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,352 ✭✭✭Mar4ix

MarkR wrote: »
    Changed the cabin filter in my avensis. Guess which one is the new one? :eek:

I'm 99.9% sure it was white when I last changed it...

which you have ? if that mk1 , there suppose to be two filters.

• Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators Posts: 11,144 Mod ✭✭✭✭MarkR

Mar4ix wrote: »
    which you have ? if that mk1 , there suppose to be two filters.

MK2.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,387 ✭✭✭glynf

Washed it :)

efc5f00d.jpg

Traded my Escrote for....

Image2134.jpg
    Image2135.jpg

Peugeot 406 clutch :)

Now the fun part: fiting it... :mad:

Gary ITR wrote: »
    Arsehole...

Awww.

Forgive me?

XXX

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,025 ✭✭✭✭-Corkie-

Hal1 wrote: »
    Which car is that? :confused:

Mk1 Eventless..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,721 ✭✭✭E39MSport

Took a deposit on the M5.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,344 ✭✭✭gollywog

E39MSport wrote: »
    Took a deposit on the M5.

NOOOOOOOOOOO! only kidding man, say it must be tough saying goodbye though?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,817 ✭✭✭✭Dord

Got some gtechniq c4 for the black plastics on my car and set about testing it. Seems to do a great job. As you can see in the picture below, I didn't touch the plug in the bumper for the tow. The trim above has been done with one application.

duWVH.jpg

Gonna tackle the rest of the car later. :)

Errr.. it also needs a wash :o