Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Vanilla are planning an update to the site on April 24th (next Wednesday). It is a major PHP8 update which is expected to boost performance across the site. The site will be down from 7pm and it is expected to take about an hour to complete. We appreciate your patience during the update.

GAA star's drink-driving charge is withdrawn

• Administrators Posts: 53,365 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭awec

Maybe Mickey Harte wrote him a letter?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,667 ✭✭✭Frynge

How in gods name (if she exists) can the actions of the DPP be reasonably described as a "Stain on the Guards". It is akin to saying that the actions of Larry Murphy are a stain on the GAA ffs!

Ah here, he wasn't that bad of a hurler.

Larry Murphy

• Registered Users Posts: 20,553 ✭✭✭✭Dempsey

The judge should have demanded the procedural issues to be explained

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,892 ✭✭✭spank_inferno

Dempsey wrote: »

was just about to type that!

Old "rent a reference" Harte was probably spaming the DPP with daily character references

• Closed Accounts Posts: 805 ✭✭✭SB2013

Dempsey wrote: »

The DPP wasn't there to explain it

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 862 ✭✭✭Grand Moff Tarkin

Why is anyone shocked with this as it happens all the time.

• Registered Users Posts: 43,024 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

You are either inside or outside the tent in this rotten Republic

• Registered Users Posts: 20,929 ✭✭✭✭Ash.J.Williams

there is a problem here...the judge had no idea why the DPP dropped the charges. We can also gather the judge wasn't happy with the charges being dropped.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,056 ✭✭✭darced

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,973 ✭✭✭RayM

Not anti GAA, anti gombeenism

From what I've noticed over the years, the two seem inextricably linked.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,014 ✭✭✭✭castletownman

darced wrote: »

Yeah because it's limited JUST to GAA players. It's not like a few politicians have never had the book thrown at them for similar offences, and walked without charge.

Now while I'm not condoning drink driving, it seems to be in the Irish psyche to get a "garda friend" to sort it out whenever a minor offence lands at their door.

• Registered Users Posts: 12,709 ✭✭✭✭JRant

Is it not highly unusual for a chief superintendant to appear in such a case?

"Well, yeah, you know, that's just, like, your opinion, man"

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,771 ✭✭✭michael999999

Darragh o se is being primed for years now to be the next Fianna Fail runner come the next general elections. There was no way they were going to let him be convicted of anything.

The corruption in this country is fu##ing disgraceful!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 595 ✭✭✭Steve O

Darragh o se is being primed for years now to be the next Fianna Fail runner come the next general elections. There was no way they were going to let him be convicted of anything.

The corruption in this country is fu##ing disgraceful!

Yup, especially because of the amount of idiots prepared to vote FF in the next election. "Shure twill beh grand".

• Closed Accounts Posts: 222 ✭✭Kinzig

Why is anyone shocked with this as it happens all the time.

I agree, its always been that way here. I know of lots of cases where businessmen and folks with some pull were caught DUI and had the charges dropped..nothing strange about it..the system here is worse than any bannana republic..

• Registered Users Posts: 20,929 ✭✭✭✭Ash.J.Williams

Any more updates on this? I really want to know why these charges were dropped.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 919 ✭✭✭wicklowstevo

realies wrote: »
    The garda can also contact the dpp to say the matter is resolved and its not worth the courts time in going ahead with the prosecution.

that's not true , the dpp can not be contacted directly by garda , only state solicitors can contact dpps office directly

• Registered Users Posts: 3,964 ✭✭✭lukin

• Registered Users Posts: 6,597 ✭✭✭Feisar

The days of "squaring" at Garda level are gone.

First they came for the socialists...

• Registered Users Posts: 8,277 ✭✭✭BrianD3

Jesus Christ, what a monumental arsehole. Gets away with drink driving, dangerous driving and driving without insurance in 2013 (as per the date of OP in this thread) but did he learn his lesson and quit while he was ahead? Obviously not given that he was then caught six times over the legal limit in 2020. I wonder how many other times he did this between 2013 and 2020 and wasn't caught.

Imagine if this GAA "hero" wipe out someone while six times over the legal limit having already gotten away with it previously, how would the cute hoor GAA gombeens cover that up.

• Registered Users Posts: 694 ✭✭✭QueensGael

• Registered Users Posts: 3,964 ✭✭✭lukin

From what I have heard about Dara this is no surprise really; he is an unbelievably arrogant individual that thinks having six All-Ireland medals gives him some sense of entitlement.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,335 ✭✭✭Archduke Franz Ferdinand

He then fought tooth and nail to get the charges dropped on a technicality. Arrogant in the extreme

• Registered Users Posts: 1,718 ✭✭✭Large bottle small glass

Drew a judge who probably had no idea who he was, had the ball hopped the other way could have got one who watched him play

• Registered Users Posts: 13,357 ✭✭✭✭cj maxx

I doubt if a custodial was in order. If similar cases i read of in local papers , especially if you’re from Europe a light fine is usual

Post edited by cj maxx on

• Registered Users Posts: 24,807 ✭✭✭✭Strumms

There is a certain growing distasteful arrogance amongst some of the GAA set… that you simply don’t see and is certainly not as prevalent among other sports people or in any other sectors of society..this is yet another example…

6 times over the legal limit ? That’s not a bit of bad judgment that’s seriously prickish behavior…. Anyone who has taken 6 pints is actually drunk and impaired.

he got off seriously fûckin lightly. I’d have no problem with someone that much over the limit receiving a small custodial sentence…

also the driving ban not coming into force until over 5 months after the ban is issued, so he can get his professional life in order ?

hmmmm that a pretty nice favour… not many countries will negotiate with convicted criminals as to when their punishment might suit them to start !

he’s got SFA to worry about…. 6 times over the limit and all the law has done is inconvenience him for 3 months really. Pathetic by him and the judiciary, that is certainly no service to the public….no deterrent and no enabler of road safety..

if you don’t jail the guy, you’d want to be banning him for 12 - 14 months plus a substantial fine in my view.

the ghoulish prevalence of influence the Catholic Church had over certain machinations of Irish life might be a thing of the past but the GAA still has its ghoulish death grip on the decision makers….

• Registered Users Posts: 1,080 ✭✭✭crusd

6 times the limit is far more than 6 pints. He was not just impaired he was polluted. If he had 6 pints over 3 hours for example his blood alcohol would probably have been just over twice the legal limit.

The drink driving limits are actually easier to pass than people imagine., if you drink moderately and over an extended time. If you were to have 3 pints over the course of a couple of hours and then wait an hour, it’s quite likely you would pass a breath test. Depending on factors such as body mass and metabolism

Post edited by crusd on

• Registered Users Posts: 30,185 ✭✭✭✭freshpopcorn

Not that it's an excuse but in experience people who get caught drink driving especially in situations like this generally have issues around alcohol.

• Registered Users Posts: 538 ✭✭✭BaywatchHQ

I think the police men in my country are mostly Protestants but apparently they aren't as bad as the police in the 1980s and 1990s. By the looks of it they spend half their time at pedophile stings organised by thugs from Belfast.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,663 ✭✭✭Wanderer2010