Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Things to do during an Irish Summer?

• 03-07-2012 10:47pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 163 ✭✭

So, as you know, the weather is not exactly good so far. I am just asking ye, what can a seventeen yer old and his friends do thats not the typical normal stuff one can do. If possible, not too expensive. Thanks in advance :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,456 ✭✭✭✭Mr Benevolent

Get very wet.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,418 ✭✭✭✭hondasam

Build a tree house and ye can shelter from the rain, play games have a party.

• Registered Users Posts: 12,396 ✭✭✭✭Mr.Crinklewood

Walk, take photographs in strange places, make a blog.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,330 ✭✭✭Gran Hermano

Get yourself a girlfriend and a bag of johnnies.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,806 ✭✭✭✭KeithM89_old

Get yourself a girlfriend and a bag of johnnies.

Then make balloon animals with them.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,421 ✭✭✭SafeSurfer

I often think how unimaginative we have been. Other countries have adapted and made their weather conditions a part of their culture. In Ireland we are still surprised when its pissing rain in June.

We should be used to it by now and be able to make the most of it.

Multo autem ad rem magis pertinet quallis tibi vide aris quam allis

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 35,943 Mod ✭✭✭✭dr.bollocko

KeithM89 wrote: »

Then give the balloon animals to your girlfriend and she might have unprotected sex with you.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,330 ✭✭✭Gran Hermano

KeithM89 wrote: »

Balloon animals? In my day we were happy making water bombs.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,480 ✭✭✭wexie

obsessively check yourself for webbed feet and gils

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,296 ✭✭✭EdenHazard

sure it be a great little country if only you could put a roof over it

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,635 ✭✭✭eth0

Install and test a rainwater harvesting system

• Registered Users Posts: 16,500 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

There's plenty of different festivals happening around the country each weekend. Pick one you'd like and head off for a couple of nights, you don't have to spend a tonne of money either, a lot of them are free.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,324 ✭✭✭BillyMitchel

Find another group of chicks and hang out of them. They'll be looking for the same thing.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,127 ✭✭✭✭Leeg17

Sit inside and watch the rain...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 769 ✭✭✭Diego Maradona

Bog snorkelling

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,199 ✭✭✭Shryke

Arson, theft, race motivated hate campaign, join Fight Club, fellatio, learn to play a musical instrument or make a boat out of swans and cable ties.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,041 ✭✭✭cocoshovel

Wallow in your own self pity until 5am every day. Then sleep until 2pm

• Registered Users Posts: 28,403 ✭✭✭✭vicwatson

Learn to Swim, and fast, if the forecast for this week is correct :eek:

• Registered Users Posts: 10,462 ✭✭✭✭WoollyRedHat

Get a few of your mates together and go camping.
    o
    If you have a bike get a few of yous and cycle to some different county make a proper trip of it. I did it when I was around Seventeen ( feels weird saying that, been a while), with two other lads, we cycled from Dublin to Wexford and it was loads of fun and real cheap, just need a bit of money for a hostel and food and stuff like that.

Loads of stuff to do, depending where you live as well and how far you're prepared to g

• Registered Users Posts: 1,867 ✭✭✭Tonyandthewhale

Get a few of your mates together and go camping.
    o
    If you have a bike get a few of yous and cycle to some different county make a proper trip of it. I did it when I was around Seventeen ( feels weird saying that, been a while), with two other lads, we cycled from Dublin to Wexford and it was loads of fun and real cheap, just need a bit of money for a hostel and food and stuff like that.

Loads of stuff to do, depending where you live as well and how far you're prepared to g

Yeah, do that. You don't even need to be spending money on hostels and the like. Buy a bundeswehr poncho in an army-navy shop and camp under that, that's what I do. Or get one of those cheap tesco tents, some of them are ok.

You could also consider going hitch-hiking. That's another fun adventure with the minor potential for rape and murder.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,167 ✭✭✭Fr_Dougal

Leeg17 wrote: »
    Sit inside and watch the rain...

Eat lots of doughnuts, get fat and set fire to the rain.

Then sing a song about it.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,152 ✭✭✭blackbox

eth0 wrote: »
    Install and test a rainwater harvesting system

...then sell the water. There's a big demand out there for rainwater.:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,635 ✭✭✭eth0

blackbox wrote: »
    ...then sell the water. There's a big demand out there for rainwater.:D

Not now but maybe if Big Phil gets his way with the 400e meter installation charge which will eventually be replaced with a meter ownership charge

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,739 ✭✭✭✭starbelgrade

Go on holidays.

• Registered Users Posts: 429 ✭✭steveLFC24

GTFO

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,033 ✭✭✭mauzo

Obvious answer....sit home and masturbate!!!!

Nothing can amuse you more.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,575 ✭✭✭monkeysnapper

Buy a new pair of kick ass cans and listen to music in your underpants

Update.... In my house

• Registered Users Posts: 1,017 ✭✭✭The_Thing

[1] Sell umbrellas on the black market.

[2] Pray for more rain.

[3] GOTO [1]

• Closed Accounts Posts: 163 ✭✭FooFighters

There's plenty of different festivals happening around the country each weekend. Pick one you'd like and head off for a couple of nights, you don't have to spend a tonne of money either, a lot of them are free.

Thanks, that sounds like a plan to me. At least your not like the other sarcastic fools.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,575 ✭✭✭monkeysnapper

Thanks, that sounds like a plan to me. At least your not like the other sarcastic fools.

Your the fool!!!! This is after hours not a glass of sherry in yout local village in bog county :D